We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Mexico”
Review of Casa Melray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Potrero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Melray
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Highly recommended. My wife and I went in February for a couple of weeks and had a great time. Beautiful place, great sunsets and great people. The hosts Mel and Ray went out of their way to ensure you were always looked after. Everything was top notch, it was like paradise. Rooms were clean, spacious and very comfortable. If your looking for a place to go and relax and take your mind off the hectic pace of everyday life this is the place to go. We will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2011

Costa Rica offers many great quiet beaches in close vicinity. You often have the beach to your self and no one will be trying to sell you necklaces or pottery.
The climate is perfect with little chance of any rain from December until May.
Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 108 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I had the wonderful opportunity to spend two weeks in August/Sept in beautiful Playa Potrero, Costa Rica and stayed at the “5+ Star” accommodations of Casa Melray. We have to start off by saying that the owners, Mel and Ray, are two of the most gracious and fantastic hosts and definitely made our trip that much more memorable. The air-conditioned room we stayed in was Ocean Front and had a very comfortable king-size bed and great bathroom. The pool was excellent and was always at a perfect temperature—both day and night. We definitely enjoyed watching the sun set over the Ocean every night with a glass of wine in hand. The outdoor movie theatre was also a nice touch—what a great idea! The town of Potrero where Casa Melray is was beautiful and had wonderful restaurants/bars and is also where we met tons of great people from all over. The beaches in Potrero are stunning and there are also many great activities/tours to do as well. We absolutely recommend staying at Casa Melray if you are planning a trip to Costa Rica because you will definitely have a relaxing and unforgettable experience! Thank you so much Mel and Ray for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

When we pulled up to Casa Melray, my jaw literally dropped! This place has everything you ever wanted in a dream vacation and more! The pool is the perfect temperature, and the outdoor theatre and kitchen is amazing. Our room was five star for sure. Extremely comfortable bed, coolest bathroom, and the in room bar fridge was a nice touch. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean every night was such a huge bonus. The beach front made for night after night of amazing sunsets! We body surfed at some local beaches and had a blast. Every restaurant we went too had amazing food at great prices! There are so many actitvies to do and everyone was so friendly and helpful. The hosts, Mel and Ray went over and above to make sure our experience was the best ever. If you have never been to Costa Rica, this is the best place to stay and experience the culture and diverse regions! If your familiar with Costa Rica and haven't checked out Casa Melray, your missing out! Going back for sure and would highly recommend thier place!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

Looking forward to seeing you back again. The next time you come we will have Hobie Cat Ocean Pedal Kayaks for you to try out. Great fishing or just tour along the coast to many great Beaches. Many of the beaches are so secluded you are sure to have them to your selves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Had the opportunity to spend two weeks in Costa Rica @ Casa Melray last Feb. It was awsome! Beautiful beach front view, amazing sunsets, and a wonderful layout between the pool area, tropical plants and birds, the outdoor kitchen area and big screen TV. The suites are gorgeous, clean and sooo comfortable.Absolutely beautiful inside and out.
Ray and Mel are awsome hosts, soo much fun and the nicest people on the planet! Thank-you it was amazing!!!
The place is very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

We know you had a great time at Casa Melray and all the local hangouts. Our friends are all waiting for you to come back. Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

we went for a nice getaway from the cold world of Alberta We stayed in a home called Casa Melray right on the ocean and beach front . this was much more then we could have dreamed of .....wow rooms , incrediblely clean and new , up to date , air conditioned, pool, nice relaxing decks , and just the best trip ever. your close to some of the best food and local people . The food is excellent in town and so much to see and do . Great shopping if you enjoy the little markets and local pubs. The house is very welcoming and the hosts are by far the nicest people around . There knowledgeable and alot of fun and are extremely helpful to help you find the perfect beach , and or things to do and see. This by far was one of best trips ever and we travel around the world ......this is definately a 5+ ...star place to stay .

H & R wutzke , Edmonton Alberta Canada

Room Tip: Its in a very safe and quiet place and its easy to find , and its just a wonderful experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidiutzke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed at the Casa Melray in February. The room was very spacious, independent air conditioning, bathroom, LCD TV, Wi-Fi a 5+ star rating. It also offered us a wonderful view of the ocean where we often sat on the patio and watched the sunset, while having a cool drink. The hosts Ray and Mel are great people, very knowledgeable of all the local sites as well as some of the other lessen known areas of interest. The location is perfect; the pool was a great place to jump into after swimming in the warm ocean. The weather never varied sunny and hot. You can't ask for anything more in a tropical getaway, we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Thanks for the amazing review. We really appreciate the small town atmosphere of Potrero. We never feel like we are in a Tourist Town. Enjoy the fine local restaurants or participate in the local tours or activities. Casa Melray now also offers Kayak tours to adjacent beaches and Kayak fishing tours right in front of our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Mel and Ray always make you feel like family, they are both very helpful in all areas, where to eat ,attractions and the best places to have fun.
Must say our visit with them was the best sleep I have had in months. The rooms are Beautiful. Thank you so much Mel and Ray ,we will never forget our visit with you.
I highly recommend Casa Melray to every one I know.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Appreciate your generous review. We hope all our guests will have a great experience. We really think Potrero is a special community where you can meet many interesting locals and visitors. We truly enjoy meeting guest from throughout the world to share experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
1.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bahia Esmeralda
Bahia Esmeralda
#4 of 5 in Playa Potrero
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isolina Beach
Hotel Isolina Beach
#3 of 5 in Playa Potrero
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villaggio Flor de Pacifico
Villaggio Flor de Pacifico
#3 of 5 in Playa Potrero
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Melray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melray

Address: 1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Potrero
Price Range: $100 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to paradise at Casa Melray, a sensational beach front accommodation only steps to Potrero Beach, Costa Rica. Located in the stunning province of Guanacaste, Canadian operated Casa Melray has every amenity you can think of. Enjoy our contemporary boutique guest house or take a dip in our sparkling pool. Feeling adventurous? Try some kayaking, surfing, or nearby fishing. Hungry? You have to try the mind blowing restaurants in the area. Wander down the marina or hop in the car. You're only a five minute drive from the breathtaking tourist destination, Flamingo Beach. You're not dreaming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Melray Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing