We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food an d location...”
Review of El Coconut Beach Club - CLOSED

El Coconut Beach Club
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: American, Latin, Seafood, Mediterranean, Barbecue, European, Spanish, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: El Coconut Beach Club; is the need branch of El Coconut Fine Dining of Playa Tamarindo, now also located in Playa Potrero. Do expect the service to be top notch; Do expect the kitchen to accommodate all of your desires and Do expect the Ambiance to be casual and laid back :O) Do come and Join us for a day by the pool, a cool cocktail in your hand, some lunch or just lying on the beach- beds watching the sunset. Every week-end we offer the Biggest wood BBQ in the region. Your romantic dinner is assured under the stars accompanied by the music of the Pacific waves. - JUST ENJOYING LIFE- That is what we are all about
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food an d location...”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just across from our hotel was El Coconut , what a great find. Location is on the beach we had drinks and was there for jazz night... Saxophone player was not bad. Next visit we were there for food, I ordered the Seafood soup yummy .....steak was great, salads were great, so glad we came. Staff is very friendly place is well kept. Get the lobster too...excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adgomez78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    35
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummo”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Food was awesome, the avocado shrimp salad was heavenly. It's too bad we didn't stay to use the amenities.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mpcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I went here for our anniversary dinner and had a great time! The owner Katharina was an amazing host and really takes care of her clients. We shared the avocado filled with shrimp and the chicken skewers with peanut sauce...both delicious! We each had filet mignon with dinner....and even though mine was undercooked- the kitchen was happy to fix it. I appreciate a restaurant in Costa Rica who takes the time to make their guests happy...not easy to find here. I definitely recommend this place if you're around the Potrero area. Its great! Although I did read they are closed until May 27 for vacation...so just an fyi.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamieson V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beachfront Experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice place on the beach, good food, bbq on Sundays with live music. Very nice place to watch the gorgeous sunsets. Drink prices are very high unless you hit happy hour 5-7.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasFilly811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great location, food was just okay”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We did not stay here, but were allowed to eat, drink and use their pool, etc. They are located right on the beach and restaurant/grounds were very clean. Nice lawn area with lounge chairs to relax and easy access to the beach. We ordered a Greek salad to start- which was different than what I'm used to. It was good, but very oily. It was chopped tomatoes, olives, feta cheese, onion, fresh herbs, etc.... no lettuce. I liked it, but after a few bites, it was too much.
I ordered this chicken dish with curry/peach sauce. It took a VERY long time to get our food with only a handful of patrons in the restaurant. When the food did finally arrive, the chicken was dry and the sauce really did not have much flavor. They did apologize and the staff was friendly...I just was not that impressed with the food. The Pepsi Light with a squeeze of lime was refreshing though :)
I would give them another try, it just was not one of my favorite places to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DD1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Coconut Beach Club also viewed

Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing