We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Coconut - the newest at Playa Potrero”
Review of El Coconut Beach Club - CLOSED

El Coconut Beach Club
Price range: $5 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: El Coconut Beach Club; is the need branch of El Coconut Fine Dining of Playa Tamarindo, now also located in Playa Potrero. Do expect the service to be top notch; Do expect the kitchen to accommodate all of your desires and Do expect the Ambiance to be casual and laid back :O) Do come and Join us for a day by the pool, a cool cocktail in your hand, some lunch or just lying on the beach- beds watching the sunset. Every week-end we offer the Biggest wood BBQ in the region. Your romantic dinner is assured under the stars accompanied by the music of the Pacific waves. - JUST ENJOYING LIFE- That is what we are all about
Lake Country, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“El Coconut - the newest at Playa Potrero”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Superb view of sunset over Flamingo, happy hour and the band on Sunday night was awesome. They have a great BBQ, try the meat combo. Ceviche is one of the best in Potrero, always a favorite. The new staff are extremely accommodating and helpful. We went back a second time for a quiet dinner near the beach, and will return again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaimito D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    35
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the sunset!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We arrived at Playa Potrero on our first night just in time for a beautiful sunset. We decided to take it all in while eating dinner and enjoying happy hour at El Coconut Beach Club. The happy hour drinks were great, and the seafood dinners we ordered were amazing (can't remember the names of them). But our favorite appetizer was the "improved ceviche". The coconut flavor with the fish was amazing! Enjoyed it so much we returned to El coconut on our last night in Potrero to enjoy our the last sunset of our trip and the 2 for 1 happy hour drinks!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_squared3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot on the Beach”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great view, 2 for 1 Happy Hour, band on Sunday night, food was average. I'd recommend the Avocado with Shrimp. It was top notch.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LadyHogRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Last Night”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We really enjoyed El Coconut, the happy hour (5-6 p.m.) 2-for-1 drink specials, the dorrado ceviche, and, most importantly, the laid back, beachfront atmosphere. Sunday night is music night and we saw the Three Amigos who did a fine acoustic covers show. Very relaxing. Check out the lounge chairs closer to the beach, or enjoy the pool and bacce court!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KevinRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlefield, Ohio
1 review
“Valentines 2013”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Truly the best ! Great Food, Great atmosphere, Beautiful beach location, and Beautiful Katarina the owner ! We had a wonderful dining experience. Thank You .
and you can do it all over again in Tamarindo too !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Coconut Beach Club also viewed

Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing