We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great hang out, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Coconut Beach Club - CLOSED

El Coconut Beach Club
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: American, Latin, Seafood, Mediterranean, Barbecue, European, Spanish, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: El Coconut Beach Club; is the need branch of El Coconut Fine Dining of Playa Tamarindo, now also located in Playa Potrero. Do expect the service to be top notch; Do expect the kitchen to accommodate all of your desires and Do expect the Ambiance to be casual and laid back :O) Do come and Join us for a day by the pool, a cool cocktail in your hand, some lunch or just lying on the beach- beds watching the sunset. Every week-end we offer the Biggest wood BBQ in the region. Your romantic dinner is assured under the stars accompanied by the music of the Pacific waves. - JUST ENJOYING LIFE- That is what we are all about
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great hang out, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We rented a house in Playa Portrero and it was great to have this place to eat and hang out at. We went here at least 6 our of our 12 days in CR. Whether just to eat, or to eat, play in the ocean then lay around at, this was a wonderful home away from home away from home.

The shrimp and avocado was one of our favorite dishes. The whole grilled red snapper was amazing also!!! And have a banana smoothie - leche and no sugar. AMAZING!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    35
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

A bit expensive, but this is a great place to eat, or hang out for an afternoon. We had dinner here on our first night in the area, and it was an excellent choice. The service was friendly and prompt and the food was good - with one exception. We ordered a T-bone steak from the barbeque (b/c we were there on the weekend which is the only time you can get bbq). The steak was tough and lacking in seasoning. We had just come from 4 days in the rainforest area of Arenal - where steaks are abundant and delicious - so the comparison was stark, and El Coconut didn't win. The seafood, however, was absolutely delicious. We had a lobster, and grilled garlic shrimp - yummy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant on the beach !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

With a beautiful Pacific seafront beach setting, swimming pool with large lounge area, charcoal grill, topp class food and wine selections, very friendly service, a truly "must" for brunch, afternoon relaxation and evening dinners for families, small - and large parties.
During my many visits there last month, I especially enjoyed the wonderful steak & seafood/lobster selections from the grill !

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hosted our rehearsal dinner here - superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We held our rehearsal dinner party of 40+ at El Coconut Beach Club and everything from the food, the drinks, the ambiance, and the views was spectacular! My wedding coordinators at Four Winds Weddings & Events were excited to present us with this restaurant option and we couldn't have been happier with the choice. Katharina and her staff were fantastic and an absolute pleasure to work with. We started the night early with an hour of cocktails by the beach overlooking the sunset. Katharina was serving pitchers of passion fruit punch, piña coladas and margaritas while our guests snapped picture after picture. We hired local musician Avelino to entertain our guests for the evening, and he was superb - a perfect fit for this setting. For dinner, we offered 3 appetizers (highly recommend the avocado shrimp and the "improved ceviche") and 3 choices for main course (Mahi Mahi the Norwegian way, Tenderloin with Jalapeños sauce, and Grilled Chicken with Mango sauce), plus dessert (pineapple flambade - yum-o). Everything I ate was delicious, and everyone was impressed.

El Coconut Beach Club was the perfect blend of relaxed beach with a classy touch and fantastic food. We had the most memorable night thanks to Katharina and her staff!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annakini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location and delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent about a week in the Bahia del Sol hotel right next to this beach club restaurant but mostly came here for eating and enyoyed delicous grade A food, great cocktails and tasty wines during or after a spectacular sunset. Especially desireable are the barbecued steaks that are being offered from friday till sunday.
The staff was friendly, agile and always doing a great job of not letting anyone hanging without drink or food. All a good sign of good management by the proprietors.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis_the_Menace_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Coconut Beach Club also viewed

Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing