We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”

Maxwell's Cafe & Bar
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Playa Potrero
Price range: $1,500 - $6,500
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open garden restaurant with a lovely breeze blowing through the gardens most days. Our goal is to serve the highest quality breakfast, lunch and dinner to both locals and tourists. We serve a myriad of dishes and offer options regarding special dietary needs. Look us up on FB Maxwell's Cafe and Bar, for daily specials.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We went here for karaoke night.The food is ok same with the drinks.But the singing was mostly great,and everyone was having a good time.The service is good.If you go there,make sure its karaoke night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    25
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“We always go back”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have been coming to Maxwells for 2years now and always enjoy the atmosphere and people. The food is good basic and generous. The karaoke night is too mush fun.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martha111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Spot!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The owner's are nice people, Kelly ( I believe her name is ) is a very nice and she runs a nice place. Food here is good, atmosphere is good, and the locals are a very friendly bunch!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you feel like a home cooked meal and don't want to cook, this is the palce.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I LOVE this place! If you're looking for a friendly neighborhood place to eat, look no further. My husband and I have eaten many times at Maxwell's and not once have we been disappointed by the quality of the food and the friendly staff. My hands down favorite is the Chicken Sally Melt with one of Kelly's famous fresh salads. My husband gets his wing fix here. Meatloaf Mondays, Karaoke Tuesdays and Taco Fridays keep us coming back week after week, year after year. Stop in and try it. You'll be back and they'll remember your name. :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberta2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
680 reviews
517 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“great prices, very good fish and pork tacos but location is a problem”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We liked this place more than the Shack although we only ate here once in early December 2013. My wife had fish tacos and I had pork tacos and both were better than average and the prices were very reasonable both for the tacos and the drinks. The menu is fairly limited here in that there's not a lot of variety. The service was attentive, and drinks came out fast, but the actual meal delivery was fairly slow albeit no slower than most other establishments we visited in Costa Rica. However, a more significant "issue" with this place is its location. It is located about 3 blocks (around 930 feet) off highway 911 on an amazingly bad unpaved road with holes almost big enough to swallow a car. You really have to go slow to avoid damaging one's car to get here unless you have an SUV and then you still should go slow. Also, the neighborhood this place is in is definitely one where I would not feel comfortable walking to it at night all the way from Highway 911 so it means you pretty much have to have a car to get to it if you're going to go after dark. Back to comparisons with the Shack, just like with the Shack there were few patrons here at the time we went which was a Sunday evening. For Playa Potrero, this is a good choice food and drink-wise so long as one keeps in mind the difficulty in getting there. One more note--they have a cat which definitely makes its presence known, which we actually liked because we're cat people (as well as dog people). If, however, you don't like cats at all, the cat's presence could be off-putting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxwell's Cafe & Bar also viewed

Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Maxwell's Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing