We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Vacation House”
Exterior Living Room Next to Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior Living Room Next to Pool
Guest Room/ Beach Side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Exterior Living Room Next to Pool
Guest Room/ Beach Side
Upstairs Master Suite/ Beach Side
Pool Bar
Entry Way/ Stairwell
Kitchen
View of Kitchen from Entry
Pool w/ Jacuzzi
Main Indoor Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
smcandrew...
Grass Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Vacation House”
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Beautiful location on quiet Playa Potrero Beach. The pool was lovely and a nice alternative to the beach. We enjoyed both immensely. The area is a natural bay, so the current wasn't too strong for swimming, and although not huge, the waves were fun for both boogie boarding and paddle boarding. The area is perfect for sailing as well.
The house is great for couples or families with older children. Not recommended for children under 7 because of the open spiral case which leads to a very narrow hallway. Also the pool is adjacent to sliding glass doors. Our grandsons are 10 & 12, so no problem. I do not recommend the house for anyone who has trouble with stairs...three of the four bedrooms are up serious stairs. Each room has it's own bath with showers, hair dryers and lighted vanity/make-up mirrors; and there is plenty of closet space. Each room also has a safe, although one was not working. The master bedroom and bath (up the spiral staircase) is lovely and huge with a comfortable king size bed. It looks out onto the yard and ocean. The other upstairs bedroom with the same view is is very nice and also has a comfortable king size bed. It is accessed directly from an outdoor staircase in the courtyard or by going through the master bedroom. The third upstairs bedroom could be a separate unit. It too has its own stairwell accessed from the courtyard or by the spiral staircase. It has twin beds and a separate kitchen and bar. The balcony patio is nice, but is on the back side of the house. No view. A word of caution. Someone must have miss-measured for the spiral staircase...watch the last step when descending because it is steep. The one downstairs bedroom is a mirror image of the one above but has twin beds and looks out to the pool and ocean. Overall the house is lovely with a few signs of ware. The dishes and wine glasses are nice. Silverware, kitchen knives and regular glasses could use some upgrading. Pots & pans are well used, but we didn't do much cooking. We always felt safe and enjoyed a few of the well stocked movie selections. We also enjoyed listening to music by the pool.
The jacuzzi does not have a heater, but the jets work.

We rented the villa through Kenneth Flores at Costa Rica Vacation Houses who also arranged for our transport from Liberia airport. Our transporter, Wilmar treated us to the scenic route on our way to the villa. Kenneth also set up one of our tours. He was very helpful to me "the cruise director". I trust his judgement.

We had a wonderful and memorable 9 days in the comfortable villa in Guanacaste region of Costa Rica. Our stay was enhanced by the private chef, Roy who treated us to a gourmet dinner on our first night and a sumptuous brunch on Christmas day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewed April 17, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JackieV32
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not perfect but very nice”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

House is wonderful and great location. Could use some upgrades. Yes, Viking appliances but very old. Frig leaks and you have to keep towel in front to absorb water. Minor issue but still should be fixed. Jacuzzi is available, but only at pool temps. I think you could get the same effect from farting in you own cold bath water. Beach area is very nice. Not as busy as the Flamingo beach areas. We definitely liked that. We were very disappointed with the introduction to the house by Special Places staff when we arrived. The house has a great sound and tv system, but the Gregory, Special places staff, made no effort to show us how to use the system. Since arrived on Saturday, and maid and Gardner did not come on Sunday we did not have access to these survives the first days of our stay. When they did show up on Monday we discovered they knew very little about the system either! We determined the speaker out side pool area was not working so a tech was called to service the system. Of course the next day was Christmas.... So we waited another 2 days to get the system fixed. Ultimately we went from Saturday to Weds before we got the issues resolved. At $9,000 paid for 7 days this really was not acceptable. house had two staff members, Mercedes the maid, and David, the Gardner. David was wonderful and very helpful. Mercedes was useless. Sorry to be so blunt, but every day she was there from 6 AM to 1PM and I could not tell what she did. We always had to remove a load from the dryer and the washer before we could use the units for our own personal items. She would gather all the towels and place mats each day and wash them. We had to gather them from the dryer to use them the next day. Forget and you would step out of the shower only to discover there were no towels to dry off with. After first day I learned that lesson first hand. :-(. Since we preferred privacy over useless maid services we asked that she come between 6AM and 9AM. The next day (our last day there) she came at 8:30 and stayed until 10:30. Even when I told here we did not need any service that day. She ignored me and left when she was done doing her thing. Which again, I am not sure what that was. Anyway, it put a damper on our last day there.

To summarize, poor maid service at the expense of privacy, poor service from the staff from Special Services, old and failing kitchen appliances and sound system, and a pool that was cold and with no real jacuzzi could have caused a disappointing trip, but there were enough good things about the house I would say the trip was an overall success. Wonderful beds, wonderful views and great location to the beach, and a terrific restaurant close by (el coconut bar and restaurant) left us with feelings of contentment despite the negatives I mentioned previously.

Only other comment worth mentioning is our bad experience with the car rental. We were too inexperienced to know that when you reserve a car rental make sure you make it clear you want an automatic. We did not mention that specific requirement and going through Special Places to reserve the car, they also failed to mention this important fact. They also did not mention that renting anything other then an SUV would render your travel useless. The roads are so poor that our little Hundai Accent was worthless. A waste of $500. We could not travel on most of the roads in the area.

Would I rent this house again. Yes, but with a few rules up front for the staff. Would I go through Special Places to secure my next rental? Absolutely NOT!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to the beach
Liked least: Maid services were poor and gave guest lack of privacy for much of the day
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori C
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fun in the Sun...Step Away From the Resorts”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Hello travelers,
I was the planner for myself and six girlfriends. We are all 40ish professionals and live in various places around the country. Most of us met in college. We usually plan a big annual girlfriend getaway. We have traveled previously to Jamaica several times, Antigua, Dominican Republic, the Bahamas, Cancun, and various other carribbean locations. This was our first Central American trip. As the planner, I was quite nervous. There is always a certain fear of the unknown when renting a villa. We usually stay in all-inclusive resorts. We decided to rent a villa to try something different and to keep the costs down. The villa looks just like the pics on all the rental websites. Something I noticed along the way....a single villa can be listed by several management/rental companies. This villa was posted by Escape Villas, Villasofcostarica.com, VRBO, and a few others I think. They all seemed to post the same rate so I don't know if it really matters which you choose. Escape (Tripp S.) was very professional, answered all my questions, and connected me with a concierge (Jennifer D.) who was actually a short distance from the villa and came to the villa to make our excursion arrangements. One minor difference between the rental companies is the credit cards that they accept. Some only accept Visa. My Visa (Bank of Am) charged a huge 6% fee for this and all other CR charges so this is something to consider if your ccard company has the same fee. I have a gazillion suggestions, but I'll try to keep the list relatively short.

1. You'll need to rent a vehicle. We used Avis since I think they're American. Make sure you reserve an automatic (with GPS) if you can't drive stick. Driving was easy. They drive on the right side of the road like we do. The main roads are all paved and in excellent condition (but no shoulders). The street signs are understandable. The residential areas are mostly gravel roads...bumpy but fine. You'll need 4 wheel drive just in case. If you're a punk, you'll take cabs everywhere.
2. Tell your concierge your interests and let her pick out the excursions. Jennifer hooked us up with Alex's Tours. He is a native and speaks near perfect English. We went to Palo Verde which Jen recommended and Buena Vista. Palo Verde was SUPER AWESOME. It helped having a large group because Jen arranged for us to have our own boat and guides. THIS made an enourmous difference. The other boats had about 30 or so cramped looking ppl. We also did a sunset cruise. Again, we had the boat to ourselves, per Jen's arrangements. It started to storm, and we all fit comfortably under the shelter. The other boats were packed and the men had to sit out in the rain while it thundered and lighteninged (spell check:).
3. Pack lots of snacks. We brought pancake mix, microwave bacon, pringles, mic. popcorn, cookies, grits, cereal, PBJ, and even a soy milk. Be sure to pack it in your checked bagged. There are several restaurants in walking distance too...both casual and a small fancy hotel rest..
4. Bring lots of small bill so you can buy things with exact US$. All the retailers and restaurants take US but usually give change in CR$. Remember, you will be charged huge fees by CCard companies so you have to weigh the risks of having large amounts of cash or paying fees. The house does have several safes. We all used cash for nearly everything. We felt safe everywhere we went.
5. The house comes with a maid, Mercedes, who is there from 6am to 1pm-ish. She is FANTASTIC. She cleans up and even washes your clothes. The house also has a maintanance/pool man, David, who is also there all morning. The two will help you with any needs. There is a night guardsman for the culdesac. He is outside from 6pm-6am. It was great having so many nice and helpful ppl.
5 1/2. Be nosey. We didn't snoop in any of the drawers or cabinets out of respect for the homeowners. We finally looked in one of the drawers and found hundreds of DVDs, books, magazines, batteries for one of the remotes that needed them etc...The house is well equipped, so looked around and you'll find everything you need...It has: nice beach towels, pool toys, cooking utensils, basic spices, basically everything you have in your kitchen, large screen TV, TVs and cable in every bedroom, soap,...
6. Brush up on your middle school Spanish. Most retailers speak a little English...but this ain't Cancun...Very few ppl seemed to speak fluent English.

7. Relax, it will be great. It was our best trip to date....Stop spending so much time reading all these reviews and stop agonizing over planning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were nearly immersed in the CR culture.
Liked least: House layout strange by US standards but typical Costa Rican.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Reviewed April 28, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TX
Reviewed October 22, 2009 for a stay in August 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Privacy and Views
Liked least: Ocational Power Outage
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing