We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast!”

The Shack Restaurant and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Central American, American, Bar, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nos alegra ofrecer comida típico de Costa Rica y los Estados Unidos, cafe caliente, cerveza fría, música en vivo cada jueves, y espacio afuera para disfrutar a la naturaleza. Estamos un restaurante de la comunidad! Vengan para compartir comida rica y relajen un rato con sus amigos aquí. Nos avisa que la hora de cerrar (9:30pm) es solamente para la cocina... El bar queda abierto hasta ustedes no quieren mas guaro! * * * * * * * * * We're happy to offer typical Costa Rican and American dishes, hot coffee, cold beer, live music every Thursday, and an outdoor space to enjoy the natural environment. We're a community restaurant! Come to share a great meal and relax for a while with your friends. Please note that the closing hour listed (9:30pm) is for the kitchen only... The bar is open until you don't want any more guaro!
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Best breakfast!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Banana pancakes are yummy! We ate there several days and all our meals were delicious. Cheap and cheerful!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Willow A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    123
    34
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The name says it all. You can stop in for a cold one but you'll want to move on. The owner Harry is nice enough but really does not go out of his way. Plain Ole Ordinary.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasFilly811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went to the Shack for breakfast. Our server was a very nice lady who spoke great English. My husband had the best omelet he's ever had in his life, with delicious peppers. I had the famous macadamia banana pancakes - that were absolutely amazing. Caution that you should bring cash as they need to charge more if you use a credit card. Atmosphere is open-air, no walls, ground floor. Delicious food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Satisfied at the Shack”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Shack was recommended by the owners of the condo we were staying at. It was close and reasonably priced. Not a whole lot of selection, but the food was VERY good. Harry the owner was very polite and personable.

I would recommend this place for there are not too many choices back in this particular area of Potrero.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DD1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just back from Costa Rica. Went to the shack twice for dinner. First meal was chicken chimichanga, truly delicious. Second time round they got my order wrong so had a long wait and then the burger was rare so had to be recooked. Ended eating on my own! They did knock 50 per cent of my meal though. Sadly didn't get to met Harry. Menu is small but it's no problem. Recommend the lime cheesecake.

Average price 8-10 dollars for a meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hulagirlSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to The Shack Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing