We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A charming cottage and relaxing stay in the Peak...”
other travelers have booked this property
Situated on a quite lane yet 2 minutes walk to Village centre, shop and Pub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Situated on a quite lane yet 2 minutes walk to Village centre, shop and Pub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Situated on a quite lane yet 2 minutes walk to Village centre, shop and Pub
Cycling on the Tissington Trail
The Sycamore Inn
Just 80 Yards North of Farm View Cottage
Storms on the Tissington Trail looking towards Parwich
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Parwich, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Rhonda B
Wollongong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A charming cottage and relaxing stay in the Peak District”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent 5 days at the end of August in this delightful area of England - relaxing, walking and generally exploring. This cosy cottage was an excellent base for our activities and was great to come home to each night. The kitchen was very well equipped, clean and had all the atmosphere of a country farmhouse - we found it hard to move away from the table. The upstairs lounge room was very comfortable with a good collection of books and maps relating to the area - or to just enjoy in front of the fire. For a cottage of this vintage the bathroom was amazing - separate shower, bath and underfloor heating. We enjoyed our walks around the village and surrounding area, meeting the friendly locals and also the Sycamore Hotel for meals. A bonus for us was being welcomed by Peter and Lesley who gave us a good introduction to the house and possible activities. Thanks very much - a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin J
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was possibly the best four days walking and cycling that we have had in such a short time .farm view cottage is an absolute delight, cosy and quirky and the dogs loved curling up in front of the open fire after a long days walking .The village folk are so friendly and meals in the sycamore Inn were lovely (pheasant & venison stew ). The weather was a big bonus for us , every day sunny and warm .I would definitely come again ...I love this cottage and the village ...didn't want to come home .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie8528
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing and homely... Perfect.”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for 3 nights and felt right at home. My husband loved the idea of using the open fire in the lounge to relax in the evenings after our cycling outings during the day. The nearby Tissington trail was just outside the village as well as the nearby High Peak trail. The cottage is nicely furnished over 3 floors and everything was very clean and tidy. I was sad to leave but glad we had stayed for our relaxing break. Many thanks and keep up the good work.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fires
Liked least: Being an ex firefighter, look into re-siting and replacing smoke detectors
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2015
Julie
Thanks for your nice review and very pleased that you enjoyed Parwich. Your comment about the fire alarms is timely as we were in Parwich this week and installed some new alarms.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at the cottage for 4 nights and had a lovely time away with the dog. Lots of walking and lovely nights in front of the fire. Cottage is very cosy and the bathroom is done to a very high spec. The only negatives we found were the cottage was described as having a private garden and parking, the garden is a very small area with gravel and a table behind the shed, we would of liked a bigger area to let the dog into. The parking is on the road outside the cottage which blocked the neighbours door.
Would recommend Parwich and the cottage to people looking for peace and quiet and long scenic walks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2015
Thanks for the review and pleased that you had a good time. Sorry about the garden it is small and private but not enclosed. Parking is not normally a problem as the lane is very quite. We do have off road parking but this is presently storing the excess logs that are not presently in the log store.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckabill...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Picture perfect introduction to the Peak District”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Parwich is a beautiful little village in the Peak District perfectly located for exploring the surrounding district, and Farm View Cottage is the perfect cottage to have as your base. It oozes charm and atmosphere, but is also extremely well kitted out with everything you could possibly need. The bathroom is wonderful; the underfloor heating a welcome surprise on those cool mornings! The owners Peter and Leslie could not have been more helpful, and there was a great supply of reading material and information about the district, it's history and local attractions which we found very useful. Thank you Peter and Leslie for making this such a wonderful stay. We will be back!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikTM84
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet cottage”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2014

We had a fantastic stay here last summer when we used it as a base for a relaxed walking holiday in the Peak District.
It is such a lovely traditional cottage with what must have been a brand new modern bathroom with walk in power shower. The cottage was very clean and split over three levels; the bathroom and kitchen on the ground, a cosy lounge on the first floor and a reasonably large bedroom at the top.
Lots of walk books & maps provided which greatly helped us explore the beautiful area and nearby towns which were just a short drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanb101
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely Cottage wasn't expecting it to be as nice as it was. Didn't realise it was three floors with the bathroom on the ground floor. The bathroom was brilliant with its walk in power shower and underfloor heating, the kitchen had everything you needed very easy to use. The cottage is in a ideal place for cyclists/walkers I rode out to Matlock twice,straight the way coming out of the village onto a 10% climb was great. The only bad point was the low beam going up the stairs. (That did hurt :)) lol.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bathroom
Liked least: Park at the front of the house was abit tight
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing