We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Uppermoor Farmhouse and Holiday Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$122
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodgkinson's Hotel(Matlock Bath)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
200
5
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach houselarge grouphigh standardhen weekendthe ownercakeson arrivalthe kitchenpeak districtcommunal areasget togetherfantastic weekendadults and childrenfamily reunionplenty of spacebirthday partystunning views
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 207 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were hoping for a wonderful weekend and that is exactly what we had. The details said it was luxury 5 star and we were not disappointed. From the first very minute we arrived we received a very warm welcome and made to feel to at home, tea, coffe, freshly made scones with butter, jam and fresh cream - what a start and just what you needed after a long journey. There were 20 of us ranging in age from 14 to 87 and the mix of accommodation was such that it suited everyones needs young and old. All aspects of the accomodation were finished to a high standard well maintained and clean. The design and layout of all the accommodatrion, sitting rooms, dinning areas, kitchens, utility area, bedrooms were such that you had plenty of space for everyone plus vistors. Unfortunately during our stay the weather was not ideal but thankfully the accommodation was such that it still allowed us to relax and enjoy ourselves whether it was general discussions, watching the TV, playing games, doing a jigsaw there was something to entertain everyone. We have over the years stayed in a number of properties and this without a shadow of a doubt has been the best.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisdair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Can't praise the owners enough for the warm welcome and little touches such as the Victoria Sandwich. We booked exclusively yours for my husbands 60th and couldn't fault both the location and accommodation. This was one of the nicest holiday places in this country we have stayed in, although there were 24 of us there is so much space that you never felt on top of each other, definitely a five star. Will be highly recommending this to all our friends

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed for a Long weekend in Uppermoor farmhouse and Horseshoe cottage to celebrate my dad's 80th birthday. From our first contact to the day of departure Jan was ever so helpful. As we were catering for 16, a Tesco grocery delivery was a must and Jan helpfully suggested the directions to give to them which meant the food and wine arrived without a hitch. She rang me a couple of days before our arrival to discuss how we would like the bedrooms set up. Little touches that made the stay all the more enjoyable. We were given a warm welcome on our arrival further enhanced by the delicious cakes. The houses were well heated and although the aga and the wood burner were interesting challenges we soon got the hang of them. The orangery and dining hall in the farmhouse proved to be a great backdrop for our murder mystery dinner with plenty of room for the 16 of us to sit together. Some of our party were a little disappointed over the lack of Sky Sports but we soon found a place in Ashbourne showing the football.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Teri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Uppermoor farm is every bit as good as the website would lead you to believe. The facilities are excellent and the the location is stunning.

Over the years we have stayed in a number of holiday cottages and this one was one of the best. The cottages are designed and finished to a very high standard and give you a great base to visit the rest of the Peak District.

The owners make you very welcome and provided us with some fantastic cakes as a welcoming present.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family and I (3 teenage children) spent one week in Horseshoe Cottage. The cottage was beautifully decorated, clean and well equipped, When we arrived there were some fresh home made cookies as well as provisions for making tea-very welcome after a long drive. We found Uppermoor Farm to be a great base , with Chatsworh House, cycle trails, and the lovely towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne- all within easy reach.We also found some excellent pubs and restaurants within a short drive. Our teenagers enjoyed a day at Alton Towers- approximately 30-35 minutes from the cottage. Just a watch out for families with older children- due to the rural location of Uppermoor ,a car is needed to go anywhere-our teenagers missed being able to walk to a local town/village. But overall we would strongly recommend Uppermoor Farm as a great location for a family reunion/holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheShenfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews