We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Parwich, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mjbrand14
SOUTHAMPTON
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

A beautiful cottage set in the very quiet village of Parwich about 7 miles from Ashbourne. The cottage is very well appointed with two good size double bedrooms one with en suite and two further bedrooms. The cottage says it sleeps 9, and there are 9 beds but personally i think this would be a bit of a tight squeeze. Kitchen is lovely with a new Oven and Microwave and a lovely big kitchen table that seats 6.
There is also two lounges and a downstairs toilet which is always handy.
Cottage is only a ten minute drive to the main Ashbourne to Buxton road so location is excellent, the village is very quiet with a church and more importantly a village pub, the pub itself is pretty basic with a limited food menu but ideal for a few pints. There is also a village shop located in the pub for those that have forgotten something !
The only negatives on the cottage, were that you are only supplied with one towel each by the owner, and when the weather is wet all week there is nowhere to dry your towel unless you want to put the heating on so it might be an idea to bring a spare! there is a BBQ at the property but it is in the boot shed around the side of the house, we werent told this on arrival and didnt find it until the last day, not that it mattered as it rained all week. The only other negative is that there is no wi-fi or internet access at the property and no phone signal in the village therefore if you are planning to keep up to date with emails or work etc then you might have a problem.
Over all a lovely cottage ideal for a week getting away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fay993
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very comfortable cottage to suit all ages within easy access of good walks and popular places to visit.”
Reviewed May 26, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

I arranged a suprise weekend away at Orchard View for my husbands 60th Birthday with our children and our grandson. All of the rooms are very spacious and comfortable, with good parking . Our 17 month old grandson slept very well at the cottage and he really loved the Wendy House in the back garden. The owner was very helpful, giving me information about Orchard View, Parwich and also nearby surrounding areas. We visited the local Church and the Pub which serves food and has a shop within walking distance of Orchard View. There is a childrens playground opposite the pub.The people we met at Parwich were very friendly. A very successful 60th Birthday weekend. Everyone including Flo the dog thoroughly enjoyed their stay at Orchard View. Perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evesham
Reviewed May 2, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hampshire...
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect family break in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed December 13, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

We stayed here after finding the cottage on Sykes Cottages. My main criteria was somewhere peaceful, dog friendly, baby friendly...and most of all, local to a good pub!

The village is hidden in Derbyshire..and driving through you get the feeling that you are isolated from the world. We found the cottage, and dived inside to escape the rain. Xmas decorations were up, and cake was waiting for us. The wood fire was stocked ready to light (a lovely touch), and it felt like home from home straight away.

All the bedrooms are lovely, my parents had the master room which was beautiful with exposed beams and fireplace. We had the 4 poster room, which gave plenty of room for our travel cot. The family & single rooms were also very comfortable and pretty.

Off we trundled to the pub to await the rest of our party. A proper old local boozer, with friendly folk and a roaring fire. The atmosphere was highlighted by chaps from another village bursting into the pub to entertain us with a "panto" about George and the Dragon, and the beer guzzling horse. At least I think thats what it was....blame Mr. j. Daniels....

Phyliss the owner of the cottage called into the pub to greet us..a lovely touch, and I doubt there is anything that would be too much trouble for her to make your stay pleasurable.

Dog walks a plenty, muddy boots a necessity. All in all..a wonderful memorable cottage for my Dads 60th birthday surprise get together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplaces & vicinity to the local pub
Liked least: The awkward lock on the back door....may have been user error...
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham and Stockport
Reviewed October 22, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockport
Reviewed August 18, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Great size for family with 3 children
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 17, 2009 for a stay in November 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Size & Cosiness!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$97
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing