We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And the dog came too”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A four day break at Tom's Barn is just not long enough. A truly wonderful place to stay, with absolutely every luxury provided. But this cottage deserves more than a five star rating, as it has little touches of thoughtfulness impossible to find elsewhere - the woodburner was lit on arrival; a tray (complete with starched traycloth) was set with teapot (and tea cosy of course), cups, and a fresh homemade date and walnut loaf; the scent of fresh lillies filled the sitting room; and by the bed a small vase of snowdrops. We half expected thick towels, dressing gowns, and a welcome pack of essentials but we certainly did not expect such attention to detail. But, the best thing for us was that we could bring along our labrador to share the holiday with us. Thank you Marion, thank you John - I hope you realise just how much pleasure you give to those who stay with you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julietaylor288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 129 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were not able to arrange annual leave for the more usual Mon - Fri stay but as we were to find out, Marion & John will go out of their way to do whatever they can to please. We arrived to a warm welcome that made you feel instantly at home. We stayed in Douglas's barn and it was immaculate. The attention to detail was outstanding & we couldn't have wanted for anything. The heating was on, the lights were on, fresh flowers were in the lounge & bedroom and a tea tray awaited us with freshly baked lemon cake on it. We have never stayed somewhere where our first food shopping trip has been so easy. We didn't need eggs, butter, bread, milk, oil, sugar, tea, coffee, toilet rolls etc as these had already been thought of by Marion & John. The entire stay was wonderful and our only complaint was that we had to leave! To sum this place up...........perfect in every way!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lornajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our second visit to Tom's Barn. Just as last time it was fantastic. The weather was wet but inside we were as snug as a bug in front of the log fire. This was part two of our honeymoon, and we was just as happy here as we were in The Canaries. John and Marion are wonderful people and can not do enough for you. The ironing board was broke (which they didn't realise) as soon as we told them a new one was quickly bought and replaced. Marion puts extra touches to your stay, providing the basics for you, bread, butter,milk, eggs, Marmalade and a yummy Bakewell tart to go with your cup of tea.
After staying in Toms twice, we are going to try Douglas next.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huney2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A wonderful slice of heaven in the Peak District national park.

Our stay was magical even in the wettest of weather.

They have thought if everything you could possibly need.

Hope we will go back again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have just returned from our second visit, but first to Tom's Barn and again we have had a wonderful break in these gorgeous barns. It is very difficult to choose between Tom's or Douglas's Barns, so I would recommend you try both. We loved the fact that during the time we stayed it was very cold and we could benefit from the wood burner in Tom's Barn - in fact it was too tempting to stay inside the whole time we were there instead of enjoying the glorious Peak District.

It is all the extra touches which makes staying in Tom's Barn so special - the yummy Bakewell Tart, which gets devoured almost instantly, eggs, bread, marmalade, local papers, Radio Times, plenty of reading materal and a very well stocked kitchen. Marion, John and Janet put a lot of thought, care and attention to detail into making your stay special and this really comes across from your greeting on arrival to the spotless accommodation.

I would really recommend reading Marion's blog before you arrive as it is full of so much useful information - from where to eat, events taking place and what to do whilst your are staying. Upon her recommendation we ordered a curry from Paul and Evie at The Cottage on the Green in Parwich - all we had to do was walk down the road to collect it and reheat it - it was delicious (we had the King Prawn Balti) and would definitely recommend it. We had another lovely meal at Rowley's in Baslow, well worth the 30 minute drive. You must also walk over the fields to the lovely village of Tissington - the butchers is fantastic and as is the delightful shop Edward & Vintage.

Tom's Barn is in the perfect location as there is so much to do within a short distance - plenty of walking, charming villages (of which Parwich is one and very peaceful too) and lovely pubs. Yet it is so tranquil and peaceful, perfect if you are looking for an escape from everyday life. There is nothing we would change about either barn and we just can't decide which one we will stay in next time, as there definitely will be a next time!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelloGupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had a fantastic stay in Douglas Barn. It's got fantastic amenities, everything you could wish for in the kitchen, probably the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in, great local pubs within easy distance and interesting places to visit. It's not just that the place has character, that we got that sense of tranquility and relaxation we were looking for.
What really sets this place apart are the little touches that John and Marion put in there. When we arrived the cottage was lit, the heating was on, and music was playing. Definitely an inviting start to our stay. There was a tray with fresh, really nice home made cake on it, they'd left us milk, eggs, butter, bread and even marmalade to get us started. There were fresh flowers, which were really great and one really nice and unexpected thing. I'd mentioned I was booking the place as it was my partners 30th birthday and they'd left her a bottle of bubbly in the fridge along with a little card. We'll be going back and I encourage anyone who's thinking about a romantic getaway in that part of the country to try this place. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Perfectly peaceful, spotlessly clean, always unobtrusive but readily available hosts and a lovely welcome (including home made cake), what more could you ask for? We chose to holiday in our own county and were delighted to find this gem. We cannot recommend it highly enough. Karen and Rod H.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parwich
3.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.9 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
422 reviews
5.3 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
498 reviews
8.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn

Address: Orchard Farm | Parwich, Parwich, Peak District National Park DE6 1QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Parwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Parwich
Price Range: $93 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tom's and Douglas's Barns are two romantic cottages for two in the beautiful Peak District. Both Tom's Barn - which welcomes dogs - and Douglas's Barn are luxury 5 Star & Gold Award self-catering cottages, ideal for solo travellers or couples. You'll enjoy 21st century comfort and warmth in 18th century ancient limestone cowsheds, attached to the owners’ home in the peaceful White Peak village of Parwich. Next to open countryside – with walks in every direction – the generously equipped cottages are secluded and peaceful, yet only a shortish stroll from the village pub and shop. There is much to see and do nearby: the countryside is stunning, Chatsworth is nearby and also Dovedale, the famous beauty spot. There are plenty of good local pubs and restaurants to enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing