We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah, the fresh air!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ah, the fresh air!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a really lovely stay in Douglas's Barn. Such a warm welcome by the owners and the cottage was perfect, with lots of information on what to do locally whatever the weather throws at you. If you're looking for a romantic, cosy bolt-hole to get away from the world, this is your answer.

Room Tip: You definitely need a car/bikes to get there and about as I didn't see that many buses/local tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
111
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have just come back from a wonderful week at Tom's Barn. It is located in a very pretty village with welcoming pub only 5 minute walk. Not only was it one of the best equipped cottages we have ever stayed in (we could not think of one thing that was missing), the Bakewell Tart, home made Marmalade and the beautiful flowers were very much appreciated and enjoyed. It has been a pleasure to come back each day to Tom's Barn and it is not hard to see that John and Marion have worked very hard to ensure that they are giving you 5* facilities with "home from home" comfort. We took our Cocker Spaniel Molly with us and found many walks straight from the doorstep. We would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is our 6th visit to toms barn,.I cant speak more highley about toms barn,if you are thinking about visiting the peak district then this is the number one choice of a place to stay.Set in a quiet pretty village,with excellent pubs,and good towns in a short driving distance,good base for visting surrounding areas.Marions homemade cake,marmalade,fresh flowers,always a lovely welcome,from either marion or janet
the barn is warm,cosy,and so comfortable in the winter with log burner,summer time, bright,cool and comfortable, it really has everything you could possibly need! from a fully equiped kitchen,books,radio.tv,sky package,fluffy towels,the most comforatble bed ive ever sleeped in! beautiful bed linen (dog bowl,towels,toys) i could go on and on!
Its spotless,cleaner than clean..we always feel like we are the first people to stay there,so all you dog owners that want a lovely CLEAN place to stay that is so dog friendly this is the place...one word of advise..book early..we do always.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abrahamHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Tom's Barn is a lovely cottage owned by really nice people and set in a small pretty village. Marion's cakes and marmalade that await you on arrival are wonderful. It's in a good area for touring the Peak district and Ashbourne is only about 15 minutes away when you need to stock up with groceries. Before we travelled I had checked out a lot of places in the local area where we could eat but because the cottage was so cosy and well equipped we only ate out twice. We would have tried the village pub as it is only a few minutes walk away but unfortunately dogs are not welcome inside.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveytNewcastleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priest Hutton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Perfect hosts , John and Marion have kept the specification of the delightful barns to a five star plus standard, and are well deserving of all the comments made. All the lovely welcoming addition, flowers, home made cakes etc were very appreciated and made us feel very welcome. The location is perfect, plenty of walks, villages and places of interest and of course quite handy pubs, when you can bear to leave the barns. Well done to our hosts. Lyn & Ray , Lancs

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynPriestHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

That is what it was from the moment we arrived. Our third visit to Orchard Farm staying in both barns . This time Tom's Barn was our choice for our short break. The snow came and made the countryside even more magical but inside all warm and cosy by the logburning stove. Marion and John were the perfect hosts and even took us under their wing when Derbyshire was without electricity. A memorable evening was had by candlelight in a cosy farmhouse kitchen, with a delicious meal cooked by Marion aided by John. Many happy memories, we will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxboothby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have just returned from a week's holiday at Orchard Farm.

From the vases (yes, I do vases) of fresh flowers to the welcome tray of of freshly baked cakes to go with your aprés arrival tea or coffee, to the home-made marmalade for your breakfast toast (and the loaf is also provided) to the fabulously comfortable bed and the jacuzzi bath - there is even boot dryers for when you get back from a walk in the pouring rain and your walking boots are sodden! Douglas's Barn and its companion Tom's Barn deserve their 5* rating.

We have stayed in many so-called 5* self catering cottages but Douglas's and Tom's Barn at Orchard Farm are the best bar none.

The setting is idyllic - to sit outside and hear nothing but bird song, the laughter of children and maybe the odd tractor, is heaven when you live in busy, noisy London. The whole area though is beautiful; from iconic Dovedale to the Manifold Valley - the scenery is breathtaking. Walking is easy, with waymarks everywhere - and there is no need to get lost as Douglas's Barn has a whole shelf of walking guides. But beware! The local form of stile often incorporates a 'squeeze' - two upright stones with the narrowest of gaps to get through - tricky after a good meal at one of the good gastro pubs in the area.

Your hosts and owners, Marion and John live on site and always have time for a chat - otherwise, they leave you to enjoy their little piece of paradise. Nothing is too much trouble for them - if you have a problem with anything in your barn, tell them and it gets sorted out quickly.

So good and comfortable is the accommodation that we decided to stay 'home' and enjoy the surroundings on a few days.

Our week in Douglas's Barn flew by - and we really didn't want to leave. The good thing is we can book to go again. Yippeee!

Room Tip: A wonderful romantic retreat - just bring the Champagne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverWomanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parwich
3.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
8.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
14.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn

Property: Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn
Address: Orchard Farm | Parwich, Parwich, Peak District National Park DE6 1QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Parwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Parwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Tom's Barn and Douglas's Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tom's and Douglas's Barns are two romantic cottages for two in the beautiful Peak District. Both Tom's Barn - which welcomes dogs - and Douglas's Barn are luxury 5 Star & Gold Award self-catering cottages, ideal for solo travellers or couples. You'll enjoy 21st century comfort and warmth in 18th century ancient limestone cowsheds, attached to the owners’ home in the peaceful White Peak village of Parwich. Next to open countryside – with walks in every direction – the generously equipped cottages are secluded and peaceful, yet only a shortish stroll from the village pub and shop. There is much to see and do nearby: the countryside is stunning, Chatsworth is nearby and also Dovedale, the famous beauty spot. There are plenty of good local pubs and restaurants to enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing