We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!”
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Myself & my partner visited The George on Saturday evening it was a lovely evening. We have been there on a few other occasions and every time we have never been disappointed. The atmosphere is relaxing and the staff are friendly, welcoming, attentive and courteous. We had three delicious courses there was not one thing I could fault. I am already looking forward to my next visit. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Emma
Thank you for your great review and this is what we strive to acheive with every visit to The George! Really pleased you both enjoyed your evening with us and we look forward very much to hopefully seeing you both again very soon.
Take Care
Kind regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 212 of 260 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

We loved the fact that the food was so fresh and locally sourced. Great menu and nice to find wheat free fish and chips! A good balance between the traditional and more modern dishes. Thoroughly enjoyable enhanced by great service.

Thank nicola493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for your great comments and we have to admit, we love our Fish and Chips too! We pride ourselves by only using local suppliers and we really appreciate it when our customers enjoy what we strive to do too! We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.
Thank you once again and kind regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nice helpful service makes the difference, but in terms of everything else, it's just very average. Menu has the usual crowd pleasers on it, wine is ok, room is ok. The food did take a long time to arrive, but we weren't in a hurry so it was ok. There isn't much that's remarkable, but you could do worse.

Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are just sorry that you found your experience to be only "ok". We strive very hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy coming to The George, and our customers comments are very important to us. Therefore, if you are ever in the area again, please come in and see us as we would love to be able to discuss this with you face to face and improve on your previous visit.
Kind regards
Jane & John Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

wonderful evening meal. Food was excellent, fresh, plenty of choice,tasty. especially for our vegetarian which can be a rare thing in a pub restaurant. Staff were friendly, courteous and attentive and the atmosphere was informal and relaxed. We will definately be eating there again very soon. Would highly recommend the pumpkin and lemon rissotto, and the puddings are to die for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Valda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and thank you for your great comments, especially as we do try hard to look after everyone who comes to visit us. We have two very close friends who are vegetarians so we know only too well that sometimes the choice is not great when you go out, and it is something we have tried at The George to ensure that there are always at least 2 or 3 choices available. Plus if those don't suit, we have 2 chefs who are very accommodating and will always do something special if you prefer. Therefore, it is lovely to get a review that recognises what we strive to do so thank you very much for taking the time to write and post it for us.
We look forward very much to hopefully welcoming you again.
Kind regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We chose the George for my birthday meal for 4 of us, and we were really very pleased with every aspect of the evening. As we'd warned them that we'd have 2 dogs with us, they placed us in a quiet corner beneath the stairs and, although it was close to the toilet door, it was a pleasant, snug and very personal table.
The food was all excellent and the owner was proud to identify her local suppliers. My mushroom starter was full of flavour and the others enhoyed the thai fishcakes. The plates were almost licked clean after the main courses, with the dogs disappointed that not a sliver of the local sausages came their way. The pastry around my chicken parcel was cooked to perfection. The owner was attentive and the staff efficient and considerate. We thought the atmosphere was very warm, with the locals and staff chatting to us and the dogs. We'd certainly recommend it and plan to visit again soon. As it was my birthday treat, I didn't pay but my son, who did, said the cost was very reasonable and excellent value for food of that quality.

It's got an original feel - not cliched country pub, but real and enjoyed by locals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MaryMaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneAtTheGeorge, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

What a lovely review and I am over the moon that you enjoyed your first visit to us. I remember only too well how disappointed your two lovely doggies were and totally understand why a sausage didn't come their way so to speak! They are certainly very meaty sausages and I will make sure that Andy, our butcher gets your feedback too.
Thank you also for your positive comments about the evening overall and we look foward very much to welcoming you all back for a return visit hopefully in the near future.
Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review for us and please give your 2 woofies a cuddle from me.
Kind regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

Robertsbridge, East Sussex
Robertsbridge, East Sussex
 
Robertsbridge, East Sussex
 
Ticehurst, East Sussex
Sedlescombe, East Sussex
 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing