We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Majestic Five Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
35
45
23
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
45
23
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness tripindian foodthe main roadan oasisfamily staypool areahospitality industrya nice place to staycomfortable roomsenjoyed my stayattending a conferenceclosest thinglovely poolbar and restaurantreception staffen routebotswana
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 113 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Palapye is mid point from SA border point on the way to Francistown and about 270 km from Gaborone, 260 km from Orapa. Certainly the Majestic 5 makes a good stop point for most tourists coming from Maun heading out somewhere.
The hotel needs to make few improvements, like having a back up power, water reserve in case of emergency and so on.
Otherwise the rooms are quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruzemvya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Rate this hotel as good as any in Botswana and the fact that it is now conveniently located in Palapye is a big win. Previously it was a better choice to press on to Gabs or Francistown.

The bar is cosy and not a rip off which is the norm for hotels in Botswana, the food is fantastic looked upon by the eagle eye head chef, George and the rooms are well appointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

From the outside this is an elegantly built hotel. The reception area is beautiful and spacious. It is tastefully decorated. The reception staff service is ok nothing to write home about. The floors look brand new as is expected of a new hotel.

I was attending a conference at the hotel. I went the dining area first. The chairs seem to be made of cheap material most likely imported from china. They are already losing shiny in places. The food they prepared was excellent, fresh and well thought. Well done to the chef.

We finished the conference around 1700 and lo and behold there was a power cut. We were plunged in total darkness. The hotel has no generator so we had to use phone torch lights to navigate the corridors. We resorted to sitting by the outside bar to chart away the darkness. The annoying thing is the staff knew about the power cuts. " The power is cut every Friday between 1700 and the power will be switched on at 2100." Surely if the management knew about this they should have invested in a good generator to mitigate this. Imagine we had a company cocktail at 1900. Need I say we had candle and phone light lit dinner in the darkness of the restaurant, with stir fried curry choking us. BIG DISAPPOINTMENT.

The power was switched on at 2100 as expected and I went to my room 073. It was big, very very spacious and clean. It was well laid out . At here was everything you would expect in a modern hotel. Free WiFi, satellite tv. I really loved this part of the hotel.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank impudzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our family stayed here for a stopover on our way to Maun, for which this hotel is well located. While having an African concept externally as the name depicts, the interiors are cheap Chinese and lacking any style. There was some confusion on check in as we were initially shown to a suite and then ten minutes later asked to move to a standard room once the error was discovered. Our biggest concern was the extremely stringent chemical smell in all the rooms. It took us some time to locate the source of the smell and once we had removed the 8 chemical deo blocks stuffed behind the toilet in each room we were better able to tolerate staying in the rooms. The stir fry we had for dinner was good but the breakfast buffet was very limited with only apples as fruit. We left a feedback form and the hotel phoned and followed up on this. I hope they respond positively to guest feedback as that will help them improve their product offering.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Yes, ours was an overnight stop straight after New Year when the hotel was understandably empty seeing that it is geared up for the conference centre next door.
The reception was good and as the hotel was empty we were offered a very good rate which is something other hotels on our short journey did not do.
The room was lovely and the pool and its relevant service was great.
The menu was a disaster due to the "holidays" but my 300g of very fine Botswana Fillet medium rare was superb.The noise from the staff chattering to each other at 90 decibels, the noise from the adjoining bar TV and finally the piped in Pavarotti from the passage ways was a bit much to content with.
This hotel is situated very conveintly for South African travellers heading north or returning home from areas north. I have done this trip many times and have always wondered why there was nothing in the area. After a leisurely breakfast, we lunced at Modimole and were in Johannesburg by 2.30pm.
I hope this new hotel gets the success it deserves. It has a way to go but we will be back.
Loved the horse in the foyer with a lamp shade on its head and a wire protruding from its rear end.

Room Tip: Any will do.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews