We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paquera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Paquera B&B and Inns
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We spent two nights at the Bahia Rica in between Manuel Antonio and Monteverde/Arenal, both pretty touristy areas. Can't say enough good things about this place. It was such a welcome change and easily the highlight of our trip! Vigdis and Thomas were excellent hosts and we really enjoyed the personal atmosphere of staying at a smaller place. We also loved the menagerie of animals that came to visit us at mealtimes--birds, monkeys, and most excitingly, a pygmy skunk!

The lodge was up on a hill, with beautiful wood construction. Perfect level of rustic, clean and well-maintained with good mattresses and pillows. The bathroom is open to the forest--taking a shower while watching howler monkeys crawl through the trees was quite the experience! The food was homemade and delicious (especially Norwegian bread at breakfast!) and they were very accommodating of vegetarian diets. Great activities as well; they worked around our schedule to design things that would work for us. Prices were all reasonable, too. We only wish we could have stayed longer!! Will definitely be back here next time we make it to Costa Rica. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icedros, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Friends,
thank you for your kind words. We are happy to know you had a great time with us and enjoy the Bahia Rica experience. Its all about relaxing, watching the nature and animals around and having a great time on the water with kayaking, fishing or just a boat tour !!. We hope to see back soon. Best regards.
post@bahiarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
47
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicoya, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The lodge was perfect for my wife, myself, and the couple we were vacationing with. The other couple had never been to Costa Rica. We'd just spent two nights in the Monteverde area and spent two nights here before continuing on to Samara. Thomas and Vicki were perfect hosts, making sure there were plans A & B for our adventures in the area depending on the weather and time of day. It was about 250 steps down (and up) from our rooms to the beachfront where we would access water transportation and their outdoor "porch" which was the dining, cooking, and visiting area so make sure you are in reasonable shape and bring a flashlight. The rooms we had were two on an upper floor that also had a large porch with seats, hammock, candles, lights, and reading material. In the morning we were visited by howler monkeys and at night a few bats. Breakfast and dinner were excellent for both the food and the conversation as Thomas and Vicki speak fluent English and Spanish - as well as their native tongue.

Room Tip: There is one room on the ground floor of the lodge with a community kitchen across from it. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Icedros, Owner at Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Miss Kahn!
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of Bahia Rica. We are really happy you enjoyed your time here. As we say; if you want a different experience in Costa Rica come to Bahia Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Lodge runned by Vigdis and Thomas is very special and is situated in a place that makes you feel you are not caught in any "tourist-trap". It's fantastic to live in the wildlife and wake up every morning with monkeys dancing in the trees just outside your beedroom. Thomas and Vigdis make freshly homemade food every day. All the food that was served I will give topnotch score. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The service...? I don't even know how to start describing it. It was more than great! They make you feel so welcome and special. It's so "down-to-earth" atmosphere in this Lodge. And they give you excellent advice on how to make your holiday and your stay become more than you ever expected. I will definitly go back again many times. This is the best way to experience Costa Rica!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Staying at Viv and Thomas' small lodgde is just like visiting some good old friends in their private home. This sporty Norwegian couple have found their paradise on Earth, and with great hospitality welcom visitors. We had three fantastic days with them, kayaking, fishing, snorkling, sunbathing, watching lots of birds and monkeys just around the houses. Actually, we saw more wildlife from their veranda than on several of our hikes in the Costa Rican reservas! The simple but spacious and clean rooms are in a pittoresque wooden house up the hill behind the main building. With a view between the palms over the calm waters of the Golfo Dolce, we had all meals on the open veranda. Nice home cooked food at very reasonable prices. We slept and ate well, however, the things to remember are the great activites they arranged for us, and the biggest fish I ever caught... Something different from any other lodge we've seen in Costa Rica. We will come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank berghanselgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My fiance and I were traveling with some friends of ours to a remote beach in the area. We needed a place to stay for the night on our way and even though we called the same day we needed a room they were able to accommodate us with rooms and a wonderful home cooked personalized menu for dinner and breakfast. Besides the hospitality of the owners one of the highlights for us was the outdoor bathroom with a view. We look forward to staying with them the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Second story has the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeenanAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

My girlfriend and I wanted to take two weeks of Spanish lessons in Costa Rica in two different locations to allow us to see more of the country, while enjoying fun activities. So after spending a great week in Playa Samura, we ventured near Paqueras at Bahia Rica for an amazing week of personalized Spanish lessons and kayaking. Little did we know that we were going to live in the jungle amongst the howling monkeys and other fantastic local creatures. Nested in the trees, our accommodation was very comfortable, yet basis, with open air hot shower and panoramic view of Golf. Our Norwegian hosts, Vigdis and Thomas, were wonderful and fed us fantastic breakfasts. Our Spanish lessons with Vigdis and her local assistant teacher, Marjorie, were well structure, challenging, but yet, entertaining. Between our daily sessions of Spanish, our Tico guide, Danny, took us kayaking around the various islands were we had a chance to see various species of birds, crabs, fish, sea turtles and monkeys. One of our most cherished memories is our visit to an island where we were able to feed the monkeys. Our journey at Bahia Rica was definitely a unique and amazing way of experiencing the beauty and hospitality of Costa Rica. We would recommend it wholeheartedly. Thank you Vigdis, Thomas, Marjorie and Danny for the unforgettable vacation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mtngirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

We are a norwegian family of 5 who stayed @ Bahia Rica during the first two weeks of Feb 2011. Our kids are 12, 8 and 6 years old.

First: The Bahia Rica team is just fantastic. They arranged the whole tour from the airport and everything worked as a charm. We gave them a challenge: Please arrange a 2 weeks spanish course for the whole family. Not as separate lessons but as one happy family :) We got fantastic inspiring half-day spanish classes spiced with kayaking, sportsfishing, snorkling, visiting fantastic beaches, practical language training in the village and GREAT FOOD made by a FANTASTIC STAFF. Don't leave without tasting the bread tthey make - and the pancaces - and the quesidillas - and the cold beer on your way back from sportsfishing!

We had 2 rooms with a common bathroom on the second floor in the "jungle-house" called Alto. The location gave us a fantastic feeling of living in the treetops. The mornings and the afternoon on the terrace was increadible. Howler monkeys - 10-20 of them were sitting 10 m from us, birds, ...... we could go on for a long time. It was a great experience for all of us and the terrace was a fantastic escape from the high mid-day temperatures. The beds were very good and the rooms were tidy, clean and nice.
When we left after two weeks it was like leaving friends. Fantastic place and fantastic people. What can we say - just go!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hexedans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paquera
0.7 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
13.0 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
11.4 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
16.5 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa de Manito
La Casa de Manito
#2 of 2 in Paquera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge

Property: Bahia Rica Kayak and Fishing Lodge
Address: Punta Cuchillo, Paquera 60105, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Paquera
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Paquera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bahia Rica you will be staying in big comfortable rooms in a real jungle setting. The place is perfect for relaxing in a hammock and enjoying the jungle sounds, or you can get some exercise by taking a kayak tour or walking up along the jungle paths. A relaxed atmosphere is surrounding Bahia Rica, with common areas for eating and socializing. Bahia Rica is at Punta Cuchillo on Costa Rica’s west coast. The place is perfect for people who enjoy a calm atmosphere away from the main tourist trails. We offer sport fishing, kayak and boat tours to several beautiful destinations in the Nicoya gulf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bahia Rica Kayak And Fishing Lodge Costa Rica/Paquera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing