We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute relaxation”
Review of Jungle Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jungle Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute relaxation”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I spent a couple of days at Jungle Retreat at the end of my trip to India and what a perfect way to unwind before a long flight home. The owners and staff were all very gracious and really friendly with a strong commitment to preserving the environment.The food was superb and my food issues were catered for without any fuss and loss of flavour. Everything is done to make guests feel safe and relaxed as the jungle is right next door to the retreat and it really is the jungle. We just made one safari trip and were rewarded by sightings of wild elephants including a couple of very pregnant ladies and a three months old baby. A lovely experience. If you are going to be in South India I would say that staying at Jungle Retreat could be one of the highlights of your holiday.Maureen Dec 2012

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    81
    20
    5
    12
See reviews for
125
85
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crans Montana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Overall we enjoyed our stay here. It was part of a South India Tour (Booked through The Travel Planners, highly recommended for your South India Holidays) and we wanted some variety in places to visit and accommodation.
Plus points: the staff and owners very helpful just ask them if you need anything. The lodges / accommodation is good. Remember you are in the jungle so its not quiet. The food is good for all meals. It is a very relaxing place with no TV, limited phone signal and wi fi near the office.
Minus points: The Mudumali wildlife park has been closed for several months. They can only offer a Jeep safari along the main roads (buses, lorries, cars, horns, fumes, etc) and a birdwatching walk to a temple on a hill. If you wish they try to book you on a safari in the next door park (that is still open) but this does not really work. The evening we went there was 100's of adults / children all climbing into a few jeeps but mainly open window buses. I can not imagine many animals staying near the tracks when this amount of traffic and people come through. For the opportunity to spot a few elephants, monkeys and deer you are charged over 2250 rupees per person!! The staff at Jungle Retreat said "They might be able to offer a wildlife walk in the morning subject to being allowed to by local government (or something like that)". This would have been good but not one trek went on the 3 mornings we were there. I would not be surprised if they never have them but please correct me if you went on a wildlife trek (not birdwatching). It is all very good showing guests pictures of the odd bear or leopard wandering into the camp but you really need to see the wildlife yourself.
So to sum up if you want to have a relaxing weekend or stay in the country choose JR. If you want to see animals and wildlife there might be better places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garyt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Jungle Retreat so much and were only sorry that we could only stay for 2 nights. The staff who greeted us were friendly but totally genuinely - there didn't feel to be any false graces put on for the sake of the clients at all. All the staff seemed to be genuinely enjoying being part of Jungle Retreat, passionate about protecting the ecological environment which they were inhabiting. Just chatting with the staff and reading the notices around the lobby area offers a detailed glimpse into the role the retreat plays in the ecological sustainability of their region of the Indian jungle. Their understated approach to running Jungle Retreat meant that the simplicity gave way to the beauty of the location, rooms, service and food. The standard of everything was excellent. We particularly enjoyed every meal we had there (mmmm), especially the desserts and the Upma for breakfast with the tomato chutney was to die for. All the staff were young, gorgeous and trendy and were at once all clearly very cool people but also very laid back and unaffected. They were all very sweet with our little boy and took him for walks so we could have our breakfast in peace and also very vigilant in making sure that he was safe with the dogs and in the grounds of the Retreat. We also enjoyed the swimming pool from which a leopard had been drinking at 2am the night before we arrived! It was great that they had captured this on video and were very excited to show it to us upon our arrival. Thanks Jungle Retreat! You're doing a wonderful job. We'll be back we hope! xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Thinking of a taking a break with no mails to check and with feeble cell phone connections and only abundant nature for company, you have come to the right place. Jungle Retreat, in Masinagudi sandwiched between Ooty and Mudumalai can be described nothing short of paradise. Unbelievable but, true. Simple and elegant cottages, courteous staff [who are not present all over yet, visible enough] and awesome food, makes it a memorable experience. Must visit for every family, couples etc.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain at the far end offer more "connection" with nautre
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Don't go to Jungle Retreat expecting five-star luxury, and you will still be pleasantly surprised. They are exactly what they state to be, a retreat from the hustle and bustle of crazy city life, where you can enjoy the splendor of nature and the simple things of life.

Whether you're coming to just relax in their inviting reception/bar/dining section with a book in hand and a wonderful view of the nilgiris hills or in need of a trek with the ever-smiling Danny, there's something for everyone. Being greeted in the morning by the sight of a family of deer grazing outside your room or hearing the cicada's chirrupping after dark, makes you understand and appreciate why Jungle Retreat is designed the way it is.

The staff are wonderful, very helpful and always ready with a story or two. All meals are served buffet style, with plenty of options. The pancakes at breakfast are a definite highlight.

Having stayed in the dorms, standard rooms and most recently the deluxe rooms, you certainly get your money's worth. Decor is very tasteful, beds are comfortable, bathrooms are clean, and sit-outs are perfect to enjoy an early morning coffee.

This is an eco-friendly resort, so everything is functional and designed to fit into the surroundings without endangering or encroaching. The lovely pool also serves as a watering hole for animals (note: as per a recent law that has been passed, there are no longer any fences around the property).

A wonderfully relaxed and relaxing place, where time literally stands still, I would highly recommend Jungle Retreat to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomadazoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooty, Tamil Nadu
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Jungle retreat really is a retreat from the busyness of life. Three of us stayed in a standard bungalow for two nights and had a great time! The rooms are spacious and clean and the views from the verandas are superb - watching spotted deer and monkeys in the mornings was a real treat. The sounds of nature are soothing - I slept so well here! Also, the food was just delicious and there was so much choice. I loved the herb pasta and broccoli bake, the bacon for breakfast and the yummy apple crumble. The swimming pool is great - it is lovely to watch the goats and cows coming down to the water and the views of the mountains are breathtaking. Everyone is so helpful and the information session on local wildlife was really interesting. Thank you for the rest!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebeccat247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I just spent a fantastic week at Jungle Retreat! I don't know where to start!
In no particular order: the place (scenery and comfort), the calm (I live in Bangalore, so that was definitely a plus!), the staff, the walks, the chat with the staff and other guests, the food: all great! To a point I wonder how some of the reviews can be so negative! I mean, I read all the reviews before going, and this morning again... I don't get it! Rats? nowhere! (can't take snacks in the room to avoid that!) Rude staff? how? they were the best hosts I ever met, and I traveled a lot.
I strongly recommend the place to anyone who wants to have a great time, either walking or lazying up around the pool!

Room Tip: If you take a standard room, ask for n° 7 or 8, they face the mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathadhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
0.8 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
7.4 mi away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 2 in Bandipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
1.9 mi away
Jungle Trailz
Jungle Trailz
#2 of 17 in Masinagudi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
19.6 mi away
Wild Planet Jungle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Retreat

Property: Jungle Retreat
Address: Bokkapuram Village | Nilgiris District, Masinagudi 643223, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Masinagudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Retreat is a family-run resort, that offers a range of country-style cottages, that suit different budgets, while catering to a similar mindset. Insulated within 35 Acres of carefully cultivated and nurtured biodiversity, Jungle Retreat is a haven for wildlife and has come a long way since its beginnings in 1996 when it was barren farmland. Being family-run, service is personalised, informal yet professional. Jungle Retreat does not take Corporate bookings or all male groups, so you can be assured of an ambiance that does not remind you of work and appeals even to the single female traveller. Food is laid out in buffet-style. Menus are set twice a day after taking into consideration guest preferences and allergies. Activities like safaris and walks may be customised with the in-house activities in-charge and are organised within the parameters stipulated by the Forest Department and government agencies. Activities are subject to availability and weather conditions. Jungle Retreat has house pets (cats and dogs) that have always been with the family. Having encouraged wildlife on the campus, house-rules are to be adhered to for the safety of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Jungle Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing