We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly maintained,badly managed hotel property in a scenic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Monarch Safari Park
Ranked #10 of 22 Masinagudi B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The title of my review summarises our experience of 3 days(15 Aug-17 Aug,2013) at this location, of 3 families who drove to this place from Bangalore.

Would sincerely request Mithun Chakraborty...the famous filmstar who owns this place to take notice

The staff is simply lazy, have to be called up 'several times' for basic things like ordering tea, cleaning up room...they don't believe in any kind of service yet conveniently have a service charge in their bill!!

The buffet(only option to eat as this is a village property) is simply trashy...the food is stale, the so called 'restaurant' is not hygienic...Please be careful if you are going with small kids.

The only positive thing about our trip was the view from the location....which is obviously no credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alokeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 70 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went to this hotel to stay for 2 nights with my 3 year old daughter and hubby. The location is superb. We visited other resorts as well but this is located in the best place. The property is huge but there is some litigation going on between the resorts in this place and the forest authority which is why no investments are being made. So if you are looking for features without much care to quality then this is good enough. The place is understaffed hence room service, food ordering is not very easy. The theppekady elephant camp and mudumalai forest reserve is just half an hour drive. There are pony rides and a small park for kids but this place is good to see some wild flowers thanks to lack of mowing of lawns. The area is fenced so there are no chances of sighting animals although the security tells tories of elephants roaming nearby. There are lot of power cuts but since we went at a time when the weather was cold, we did not mind. The price is pretty high for the service you get but these being specialty lodging the service is no better in other places too.

Room Tip: Choose the bunglow for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The moment you enter the resort you can feel you are into heaven. It is actually located inside the jungle with a magnificent view of mountains in front , vast open spaces , road for romantic walks and cozy stay. The staff is good. Being a jungle area expect a 30 minutes time for any service. A very calm and nice place. One can go for jungle safari in the morning and evening with various options. Do not expect loud music, shouting etc. I would personally recommend - if you want a 2-3 day break with complete silence. Go to Masinagudi at Monarch Safari Park.

Room Tip: Only Vodafone & Airtel works there. Rest all networks are dead. Try and take the independent bun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManishAquarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Quite frankly I chanced upon 'Howard Johnson, The Monarch Safari Park in Masinagudi recently. I stayed there for 3 good days. The property is, to be honest, nothing to write home about.

While the place is excellent, there is a serious dearth of any organised outdoor activity. The resort should take the initiative and should plan a few flexible itineraries for the benefit of the guests.

The jungle trek / jeep ride (into Mudumalai Wildlife Sanctuary, which is about 10 kms away) doesn't take one more than a maximum of 3 hours. And that’s in the mornings. So after that ride is done, what else ? Nothing. In a lovely place like that, Monarch Safari Park can do a lot ... really a lot ! But they have chosen to do absolutely nothing to keep their guests occupied.

Also the Resort can do much more to improve their service standards. The service is very basic. Food is also basic. But the room that I stayed in was very spacious and clean. However the tap in the bathroom was dripping right through my stay (which was extremely annoying).

Monarch Safari Park is set in wonderful surroundings. That's about it !! They still have a very long way to go, to become a resort of choice among seasoned travelers like me.

The good point about this property is its proximity to Mudumalai Wildlife Sanctuary, which was by far the greatest highlight of our trip ! Also the forests around the resort, the mountains, the salubrious climate are all excellent incentives for me to go there again some day ! I hope and trust that in the meantime, the resort management does something worthwhile to increase the appeal of the place by taking some much needed steps.

Forgot to mention, the Food here is basic and hence a let-down. Service too was bordering on inefficiency. While the environs by itself is really very good, the allied services are the opposite.

Room Tip: This resort somehow give you the feeling that they do not want guests and any guest is seen as an un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sumitran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed on 31st Dec 2012, very good location and big property, but low on maintenance and needs refurbishment.

Firstly we had opted for Machans which are decent and interconnected.

Cottages are also decent, but the location of Bungalows are very good and away from cottages and machans, peaceful place to stay they have facilities for outdoor games like cricket, vollyball, badminton etc. they have a good ground for cricket but very poor quality sporting equipment's like cricket bat, wickets etc. Badminton court is separate but no good bats or cock's. Table tennis is another joke broken bats. They have a small gym but not maintained and is dangerous for kids is used.

Need a lot of improvement on facilities available.

Restaurant needs refurbishment buffet is served and decent but place needs refurbishment.

Lot of open space and even the pathways and roads are maintained.

overall a nice place to relax with the family and kids.

Few things like rope nets and tree houses and kids play area needs to be implemented so that kids are left freely and they can enjoy.

The tariff is on higher side for the facilities available.

Room Tip: Bungalows are good options as well as Machans
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hgumballi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Given the fact that this is being run by MIthun Chakravarty, I think the maintanence is average and more can be done to really make this an ideal place to stay. The location of the resort is good, but the road that leads to it is a spoiler.We had to ask thrice to locate it.The area of the resort is quite large and cottages,rooms etc are spread.The dining area/restaurant is in the center and is easily accessible.We took the standard room which costed us approx INR 3K/night, but it was not worth it. Though the standard rooms are big and spacious, they are very poorly done. Fortunately the bed was decent enough and we were able to catch a good night sleep.We had ordered for a cake to be delivered to celebrate the anniversary of my sis n Bro-in-law, but it was a huge dissapointment.I have never ever seen such a pathetic 'chocolate' cake in my life!So never ever order cake there! The Bfast was decent with combination of bread/butter/jam, idli-chutney-sambar, two varities of Juices,tea/coffee/milk etc. The dinner was good,specially the malabar fish curry(wch we ordered twice!), but as there was a big group staying thr at the same time, their food arrangements were done in the restaurant and we(along with other smaller families) were accomodated on tree top kinda eating place(which was not bad). However once the first round of food was served and we wnated to re-order, we couldnt find the waiter as he was off serving the big party in the restuarant. After a lot of waiting we finally had to go down and call him back to take our order(all our food was served in casseroles, assuming that it was a subset of the food that was cooked for the larger crowd).Overall experience was ok, the only thing is that the charge could have been much lesser keeping in mind the maintanence and other things.

Room Tip: if you really wnat to spend more, you may try the cottages etc. However the standard room(wch i thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissKingKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have spent one day at Monarch Masinagudi and it was a nice stay if you like to be away from busy rush city life for while.There is a good cricket ground,walking paths.Facilities for children are less ,eventhough its Ok for the price they are offering.The rooms are not maintained much,there was even a leakage of taps in the wash room.Sleep quality is good.Morning breakfast also not much elaborated but it was good and tasty.

Staffs are friendly and ready to help.My friend who was with me in the trip ,is an owner of a Group employing more than 2000 people booked the hotel for their Employee leisure trip for two days.

This place is good for Honeymoon ( Low cost -silent place),family with Kids (Play grounds etc,safe with not much water bodies etc),family get together,business get together,Employee leisure trip.

Dont expect more than what you pay.Visit Mayar which is 10 Km away from Masinagudi,a beutiful place.You had better to travel there in the early morning,like 7 am.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shihabmecheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Masinagudi hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jungle Hut
Jungle Hut
#2 of 10 in Masinagudi
577 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
0.4 mi away
De Rock Jungle Living
De Rock Jungle Living
#8 of 10 in Masinagudi
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jungle Retreat
Jungle Retreat
#1 of 33 in Masinagudi
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monarch Safari Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monarch Safari Park

Address: Bokkapuram | The Nilgiris, nr Mudhumalai Wildlife Sanctuary, Masinagudi 643223, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Masinagudi
Price Range: $36 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Monarch Safari Park 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Monarch Safari Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Monarch Safari Park Hotel Masinigudi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing