We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Getaway”
Review of Casa Deep Woods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Deep Woods
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

A perfect jungle getaway. Quiet serene atmosphere giving the real feel of forest life. We were there for two nights and both nights (and during the day as well) we had special guests visiting our cottage. Dotted deer, wild turkey, peacock, peahen, elephants and then on the second night, a raging tusker who threw his weight all around (literally :)) jumping into the swimming pool, breaking the chairs, pulling down the volleyball net, pulling down the bamboos etc. It was real fun and a bit scary too (naturally, you live in a forest right?). They have these beautiful hammocks all around the place there is no other way to unwind in this tranquil setting listening to music, reading a book or just having a cozy nap listening to the breeze. A very family friendly place. BTW I am not a Club Mahindra Member - booked through a tour company.

Room Tip: Select cottages near the jungle brook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arungopalmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Casa Deep Woods, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hi Arungopal,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. It is wonderful to have read about the wildlife sightings you have mentioned about and our resort staff will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the ambience but also your overall stay. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 318 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

The resort is well located in the forest and a great view from most of the villas. We loved our time of bird watching from the balcony. The open shower is also a bit of a charm. What we did not like is the food; - too spicy for us! Not much choice also as you have to take a buffet meal package on arrival. The staff in the restaurant were great, though.
The place is kept clean and child friendly; with a pool and play area etc. The bed is very good. But, we did not find the house keeping doing a good job; - lot of things were not in place or not working in the room.
Overall, good; but could be lot better!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sayantan_Ghati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Casa Deep Woods, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hi Sayantan,

We are really glad to have received your feedback, as it helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you enjoyed the dining experience. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at a Club Mahindra resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I am not a club Mahindra member, however I went with my friend. It is a very average resort, rooms are okay types, small facility, a big no was their small swimming pool.

Positives are the activities (activity guy was terrific) and food. Initially, food was not good but we complained and rest of the days food was fantastic.

Not much to do in their, only go if you want to go for trekking, safaris and all.

Room Tip: Choose luxury villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monu_Gaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Casa Deep Woods, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hi Gaurav,

We are really glad to have received your feedback, as it helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you enjoyed the activities and the dining experience. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at a Club Mahindra resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hello, as my family is Club Mahindra-Zest member we had an opportunity to visit this resort and its one of the finest in largely grown surrounded bamboo tree houses and a good surrounding places like Bandipur National Park, Nilgiris, Ooty, Gopalswamy Beta and more. Secondly, the resort is good with facilities like restaurants, bar, indoor games, outdoor games, swimming pool, etcetera.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank My123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Casa Deep Woods, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Masinagudi. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort and our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Very peaceful resort. I was here with few of my friends for a weekend, and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of food, staff and hospitality. Food is quite good, and the staff is very pleasant and attended to all our needs very timely.

Room Tip: Stay towards back of the resort, which borders the jungle. rooms 400s
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nycnls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Casa Deep Woods, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Masinagudi. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked the food at the resort and hope you enjoyed the various activities our resort offered. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I am not a club mahindra member, but went with a friend who is a member. To sum up the experience, it was a good relaxing trip, everything taken care of well, but nothing more. It's seems like the resort is confused between being a jungle lodge and just another resort, or is it something else?, not sure, it's average!

Well, firstly it is not deep woods as the name says, there are so many resorts on that one stretch of road and its so close to masinagudi town that it hardly feels exclusive and having been to another resort in Masinagudi before, this didn't feel any better, travelers with adventure/wildlife on mind or those looking for different type of holiday can easily give this a miss!.
But there's a flip side to it, for someone looking for a kid friendly, family friendly, easily accessible, all comforts included trip, this one is good, but right now, that's not me, so let me continue with it.

Everything is chargeable, and I just hope club mahindra doesn't send a bill for writing this review :) ! But seriously, food is expensive, and any activity is chargeable, short trek chargeable, fishing with an improvised gear in a stream where forest officials don't allow fishing is chargeable, jeep ride on the same road where your car can go is chargeable, coffee is more expensive than coffee day!, coffee tastes different in the morning and in the afternoon.

The service and hospitality is good, but nothing else. There are activities conducted in the evenings to engage the kids and families, which some people like and some want to left alone.
Overall, the trip was relaxing, I would have preferred it to be relaxing and exciting! Check my jungle lodges review to know what I mean.

One more observation, there were a couple of honeymooners who came, but there are no single isolated rooms, every building has two room with a shared wall, and they were not comfortable given the squeaking metal framed cots :-D and pin drop silence of the jungle (can't stop laughing...!!)!

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of their property that are facing the stream is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somesh-navya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Casa Deep Woods, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Hi Somesh,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are glad you liked the evening activities at our resort. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a nice property, probably among the top tier of Club Mahindra resorts nationwide. Well laid out in the Mudumalai wildlife sanctuary's Masinagudi area (which, despite appearances now, is for all practical purposes in the middle of the jungle, something most folks are apt to forget when wandering around), this resort is a good place for a quiet short break. The rooms in the cottages are good, clean and spacious. Service is good and staff efficient and friendly. Food may be a tad overpriced but the spread's good and dishes well made, unless, of course, you're uncomfortable with a few dishes being a little too spicy for your palate. But the staff did tone it down on request, so full marks for that. Best way to make the most of the resort in my opinion is on one of the many hammocks put up around the place. The activity centre -- as with most such resorts -- is adequately equipped. You could avoid taking up the resort on their inflated rates for various activities outside the resort though. Look around Bokkapuram for options. But it's a great base for exploring the larger Mudumalai and Bandipur parks/reserves and also if one would like to go up to Ooty and get back in a day. Visitors should be careful about wandering around though, especially in the early mornings and evenings, as a fair bit of wildlife would be on the move and unlikely to take kindly to human presence. The last time we were there a large, rowdy and rather curious tusker landed up at night in the resort's parking lot and scared the bejesus out of our driver, who has since sworn never to return to these parts.

Room Tip: The newer rooms might be better than the older cottages but the latter face a creek where you can sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musafir69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Casa Deep Woods, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our staff at the resort will be delighted to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience at the resort. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Furthermore, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
0.4 mi away
Jungle Hut
Jungle Hut
#2 of 10 in Masinagudi
578 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
2.5 mi away
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 4 in Bandipur
313 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Nest Inn
The Nest Inn
#7 of 10 in Masinagudi
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Rock Jungle Living
De Rock Jungle Living
#8 of 10 in Masinagudi
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Deep Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Deep Woods

Address: Bokkapuram Village, Masinagudi 643223, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Masinagudi)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range: $75 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Deep Woods 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Masinagudi, Casa Deep Woods welcomes you to bask right under the shade of the Nilgiri Mountains. As the name promises, wilderness is home here. If you are looking for a back to nature break, you can often see elephants & deer snack on the bamboo shoots by your cottage space. Or open up to nature's playlist as 300 species of birds come calling, right here. We have a BIRD HIDE built specially for keen birders. If its serious jungle action you prefer, there's a jeep/van safari in Bandipur & Mudumalai Tiger Reserve nearby. You could try a well-designed wellness module in the land of refreshing deep breaths. Dr. Shiela Nambiar, the very well-known Fitness & Lifestyle Consultant & Yogadarshanam, Mysore's reputed Yoga Institute have come together here to make Casa Deep Woods an eco-spa. Tailored for the bone-tired in the city to take small steps or advanced leaps towards treasuring our own health, one especially for women. If you prefer to just unwind by the picturesque - choose a stream or our swimming pool, a picnic by a river, an amble along a nature trail or relaxing under an immense tree with a book. Or a game of badminton/wild film with your kids who are very welcome here. (By the way, have they ever got a chance to see an elephant being fed?). We can also throw in a bonfire by the stream and grill-a-chicken-on-coals. Wi-Fi in the lobby, with a sense of the secluded all around the vast open Casa Deep Woods. A balm for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Deep Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zest Casa Deep Woods Hotel Masinagudi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing