We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exciting jungle resort”
Review of Casa Deep Woods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Deep Woods
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Masinagudi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed in this place for 2 nights and 3 days. It's one of those serene jungle resorts in the Mudhumalai and Masinagudi areas. The resort is quite big and has all the necessary activities for couples, friends and children. The staff is extremely caring and cordial. We had 2 infants with us and they were extremely helpful in getting us milk at odd hours of the day and night. A perfect weekend getaway place from the busy cities of Bangalore and Mysore. The food is excellent but overpriced !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajan2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Casa Deep Woods, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our resort and enjoyed the various activities at the resort and our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, your points regarding the food prices at the resort have been duly noted and will be shared with the resort management on priority. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 318 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in Dec 2013 with a family group of 7 people, all ages. This beautiful place appealed to all of us. Lovely gardens, lovely site for the cabins, clean, quiet and the activities planned for the children were simple but very entertaining. We were fortunate to be there, when there was a regional theme each night. The staff dressed up in traditional costume, and cooked food from that particular region of India. It was absolutely splendid, particularly for me as I am Australian. There was music as well ! Those staff are multi skilled people ! The whole place epitomized the innovative India person ! The food was delicious. I was taken on a very speedy uphill walk, through the nearby village, to the top of a hill, that had such a beautiful view, it was one of the highlights of my trip to India. We also went, by jeep on a wildlife spotting trip that was also wonderful, no tigers though, but lots of deer,peacock,mongoose and the odd elephant. Thanks to all for a memorable adventure in such a lovely area of Tamil Nadu. We also loved the towel art that was on our bed, well done !

Room Tip: I think all the cabins are pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fromsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Casa Deep Woods, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Masinagudi resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Zest Masinagudi is a great Jungle Propery. Lot of activities you can do in and around hotel. Very near to Nagarhole Jungle safari camp. Peaceful neat and clean hotel. Food is really excellent . Good hotel staff

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jagdishjhanwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Casa Deep Woods, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi Jagdish,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Masinagudi. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked the food at the resort and enjoyed the various activities our resort offered. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this place for 3nights 4 days. We had nothing to complain. Staff were quite friendly.

This property is no more Zest but its club mahindra now.

We really liked how the rooms smelled of citronella.

The in house entertainment they tried to create for the guests was also good. Their hospitality manager put up a tabla+singing performance which was very entertaining.

I would give a 3 of 5 for food. But they were very accommodative.

Masinagudi village was very close if we needed anything.

We had a great stay over all. Our 3yr old daughter didn't want to go back home but wanted to continue staying in her room.

It's fun going with lot of people to this place.

Other places to go from here other than the animals-
1 hour to ooty
30 min to coonoor from ooty.
2 hrs to Pykara dam
Bandipur


  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NamrathaSastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Casa Deep Woods, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Hi Namratha,

Wonderful to know you holidayed at our resort and it was certainly our pleasure to have you and your family! Thanks for writing in and thanks so much for all your compliments. Your feedback helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our staff at the resort will be absolutely thrilled to know that you enjoyed the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had never been to Masinagudi before and so I had planned this holiday with my family a while back. The drive took about 6 hours (including 2 stops); once you reach Masinagudi, you have to drive towards Ooty but don't miss the right turn at sholur panchayat (if coming from Bangalore) or you might end up in Ooty. Club Mahindra should really put up a sign board at that right turn for first time travelers like us.
We reached the resort at around 12 but weren't too happy with the room given as it was far too inside the woods. As I was travelling with a child, we didn't want to be too far from the restaurant and so we switched to another room without any hassle. I was expecting the resort to be packed but fairly low occupancy throughout. But as a result, most of meals were thalis and not buffets. this was quite a disappointment for us as we prefer to eat buffet meals without being served. Even the food was not so tasty especially for veggies. But the staff were very polite and courteous to our needs throughout our stay. The rooms and the loos were neat and clean. Although we had this strange moist smell on the first day. I had to get the room cleaned for the smell to go away.
There was also a fun tabla show with the bonfire which was quite enjoyable. The activity room is quite limited compared to other Club M resorts that I have been to. Their book library section can certainly be improved. But we had quite a relaxing time with hammocks all over the resort and lots of greenery for the kids to play. the swimming pool looked unused during the winter.

There is also a jeep safari which is actually a ride through the village roads which goes through the reserve. If you are lucky, you will spot a few elephants grazing. Ask for driver Karuppuswamy as he is fairly experienced and quick to spot. Didn't try other activities like mountain trek, fishing and sightseeing.

Overall, a fun and relaxing holiday at the resort.

Room Tip: Try and get a room near the small water stream close to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JournoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Casa Deep Woods, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hi,

Thanks so much for writing in your feedback as it helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our staff at the resort will be absolutely delighted to receive your compliments. Also, please be rest assured that the points you have highlighted have been shared with our resort team and will be addressed on priority. In case you wish to provide us with any further feedback or information, please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab. Please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I had stayed in the same place before it was part of Zest, nothing much have changed with Zest, except for addition of new cottages (don’t remember so many being there). We stayed during the Diwali days and they had some activities as part of the festival. Another attraction was the Dosa festival for lunch with some mouthwatering dosas and chutneys. As mentioned in earlier reviews, Overall experience was really good and the place is recommendable. Few things I suggest you to keep away from is 1. Jeep Safari : I was surprised to see the no of jeeps with tourists crawling on the Moyar dam route (there were no sightings, but that is nobody’s fault ), it was like a crowded Bangalore route where jeeps were fighting for some space. They charge exorbitant rates for a very short drive that will be covered at snail’s pace. You can do the same trip in own vehicle or stick to the normal route where sighting chances are good (or better than Moyar route) 2. Swimming pool in resort, it’s not neat and is suitable only for monkeys 3. Morning walk to temple, general feedbacks on this is good, but we were unfortunate that the regular naturalist/activity person was substituted by another person who did not have a clue about what he is doing and was totally ignorant about the surrounding flora and fauna. Word of caution, the trip though not very tough, can be little exhaustive if you are not a regular walker. There is also an option of driving till the foothill and then doing the hike (didn’t hear this option from resort people, probable because they will lose revenue if this is done)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Casa Deep Woods, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Hi Bobby,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at our resort. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked the dining experience at our resort and our staff will be absolutely delighted to receive your compliments. Additionally, the points you have brought to our notice will be shared with the resort management on priority. Please continue to provide us such feedback and we look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information, please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

As Club Mahindra members we stayed at ZCDW Masinagudi in September this year. We were 7 of us including my mother who is a senior citizen.....she got a discount too.
The greenery is accentuated by the cottages painted green. The place is very peaceful and homely. We took long walks around the place, to the stream on the edge of the resort, saw mist hanging around the hills that surround the holiday resort and were totally relaxed. Would love to go there again with friends and family.... Food was good and cheaper compared to all other CM resorts. The spread was limited, but who wants to eat unwanted stuff and pay more!?
All in all a good place for a relaxing holiday.....and not to forget the birds....Oh! there are so many very chirpy and twittery ones :)

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed in were good...Presume all are good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RashmiVs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Casa Deep Woods, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Hi Rashmi,

Wonderful to know you holidayed at our resort and it was certainly our pleasure to have you and your family! Thanks for writing in and thanks so much for all your compliments. Our staff at the resort will be absolutely thrilled to know that you enjoyed the ambience our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you at our other resorts soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
0.4 mi away
Jungle Hut
Jungle Hut
#2 of 9 in Masinagudi
578 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
2.5 mi away
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 4 in Bandipur
313 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Nest Inn
The Nest Inn
#7 of 9 in Masinagudi
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Rock Jungle Living
De Rock Jungle Living
#8 of 9 in Masinagudi
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Deep Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Deep Woods

Address: Bokkapuram Village, Masinagudi 643223, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Masinagudi)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range: $74 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Deep Woods 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Masinagudi, Casa Deep Woods welcomes you to bask right under the shade of the Nilgiri Mountains. As the name promises, wilderness is home here. If you are looking for a back to nature break, you can often see elephants & deer snack on the bamboo shoots by your cottage space. Or open up to nature's playlist as 300 species of birds come calling, right here. We have a BIRD HIDE built specially for keen birders. If its serious jungle action you prefer, there's a jeep/van safari in Bandipur & Mudumalai Tiger Reserve nearby. You could try a well-designed wellness module in the land of refreshing deep breaths. Dr. Shiela Nambiar, the very well-known Fitness & Lifestyle Consultant & Yogadarshanam, Mysore's reputed Yoga Institute have come together here to make Casa Deep Woods an eco-spa. Tailored for the bone-tired in the city to take small steps or advanced leaps towards treasuring our own health, one especially for women. If you prefer to just unwind by the picturesque - choose a stream or our swimming pool, a picnic by a river, an amble along a nature trail or relaxing under an immense tree with a book. Or a game of badminton/wild film with your kids who are very welcome here. (By the way, have they ever got a chance to see an elephant being fed?). We can also throw in a bonfire by the stream and grill-a-chicken-on-coals. Wi-Fi in the lobby, with a sense of the secluded all around the vast open Casa Deep Woods. A balm for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Deep Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zest Casa Deep Woods Hotel Masinagudi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing