We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy stay in the jungle”
Review of Casa Deep Woods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Deep Woods
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Masinagudi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at this property during a weekend. Found the resort has adequate facilities. Spacious rooms with a small living area. Huge bathrooms.

The staff were very helpful and courteous. They arranged a camp fire and all of enjoyed the small session there.

The food was good and they had a decent spread.

Would go back with friends and for longer duration.

Room Tip: Rooms by the stream gives a feeling of being in the jungle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRISVACATION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 326 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in Zest Mahindra for 3 days in February 2013. I would rate the resort's facilities as adequate.
The rooms were adequately spaced. If you want peace and quietness do ask for a room at the farther end. We had little kids next door and could hear them very well in our room.It was quite and away from the city hustle. Was very peaceful to spend 2-3 days away from all the city buzz.
The rooms do not have TV which we really didn't find to be an issue.
Resort had some space to walk around, hammocks to chill.
The pool is small which is used by the monkeys as a water hole during mid day. So did not venture out to the pool. The resort has its own peacock and a cat. They kept my toddler entertained. Occasional visits by the monkeys to the restaurant thrilled my son.
The restaurant food was good. Though the timing of buffet breakfast or dinner started late than that of my toddlers eating time, the hotel was quite accomodative in preparing something for my little one.
They also arrange guided tour into the forest. We did take a one hour jeep ride. Didnt spot big fives but did have a thrilling ride.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The property is good, the rooms are spacious except mosquitoes in the room. There was no water in the stream though. The food was excellent and the staff were courteous and willing to help, especially the restaurant staff. It is strange one has to walk through the restaurant to the rooms.

Please know there is no newspaper and Television but one in the common room.

We stayed for three days in Masinagudi and found nothing much to do there and felt it was boring and drove to Ooty, Mudumalai and Bandipur Forest areas.

There was not much greenery in the resort due to failure of rains.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padmanaban R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Recently spent 2 nights at Casa Deep Woods. The place is remote which is wonderful - for folks like me who want to get FAR away from the city! The staff were quite welcoming and friendly and the a la carte menu and buffet were quite good.

We stayed here for 2 nights and spent the day exploring the wildlife reserves of Mudumalai (Tamilnadu) and Bandipur (Karnataka). We also encountered an elephant just outside our rooms. As casa deep woods is nestled in a bamboo grove, Elephants forage here.

We came here midweek which was quite good - as there were hardly any guests !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gopal-Venkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The location is gr8 as it gives you the complete feel of the forest. The nights are really scary and you wont dare to come out. WE were with another couple and played cards at their room so had to come from their room to our adjacent room at 11:30 PM and it was soooooooooo scary..

The night we stayed , they had music program with Tabla. It was fun. They should have more such activities.

Food is OK and very expensive.. as u do not have any other choice.

GAmes facilities are fabulous.. u speak it and they have it from cards, carrom, table tennis, badminton and volley ball.. total fun for children..

I also enjoyed their swings and the hammock just in front of the room...

If u are a TV freak and just cant do without it, they have one in common room.

Overall a good experience but I feel the price is way too on higher side.

Room Tip: Choose rooms near to the stream
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shruti_Sant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I went with my family and had a nice time there. There is lot of activities in the resort, the staff made extra effort to make us comfortable. The Room No 101 is a big Room and next to the stream ask for the room if you have two children with you. The room 501 & 401 is close to the water tank, if you are lucky you can see elephants coming in the night, spotted deer is spotted often from this room. Nights are very scary and after 10 pm you are advised not to come out of the room. food is good, but very costly, if you have a vehicle drive to Masinagudi, which is 7 kms away and try Popeye Restaurant on the main road, they are good and cheap. The owner of the Restaurant is a great fan of Hindi film actor Rajesh Khanna and you can listen to lots of old Hindi songs. Driving after 7 pm is risky & nothing to see in Masinagudi. No TV's in the rooms & you can spend lots of time with the family. Has open air showers, in most of the rooms. The swimming pool is small and not worth it.staying more than 3 days there is boring.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RajapalayamRaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were a group of 10 friends plus a baby. We shared 4 rooms, all by the stream. The management at the restaurant is excellent. I would strongly recommend Zest to groups and couples travelling with children. The activities offered by the resort is not up to the mark considering the amount they charge. What they lack in this aspect they make it up with their excellent service at the restaurant although their room service is pretty bad.

Beautiful & huge property. The activity room has fun stuff like table tennis, carrom-board and few other indoor game which is pretty cool. Would definitely end up staying here once more if I make a trip back to masinagudi.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_bubblez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
0.4 mi away
Jungle Hut
Jungle Hut
#2 of 9 in Masinagudi
595 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
6.9 mi away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 4 in Bandipur
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
4.8 mi away
Glyngarth Resorts
Glyngarth Resorts
#21 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
61 reviews
8.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Deep Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Deep Woods

Address: Bokkapuram Village, Masinagudi 643223, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Masinagudi)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range: $77 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Deep Woods 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Masinagudi, Casa Deep Woods welcomes you to bask right under the shade of the Nilgiri Mountains. As the name promises, wilderness is home here. If you are looking for a back to nature break, you can often see elephants & deer snack on the bamboo shoots by your cottage space. Or open up to nature's playlist as 300 species of birds come calling, right here. We have a BIRD HIDE built specially for keen birders. If its serious jungle action you prefer, there's a jeep/van safari in Bandipur & Mudumalai Tiger Reserve nearby. You could try a well-designed wellness module in the land of refreshing deep breaths. Dr. Shiela Nambiar, the very well-known Fitness & Lifestyle Consultant & Yogadarshanam, Mysore's reputed Yoga Institute have come together here to make Casa Deep Woods an eco-spa. Tailored for the bone-tired in the city to take small steps or advanced leaps towards treasuring our own health, one especially for women. If you prefer to just unwind by the picturesque - choose a stream or our swimming pool, a picnic by a river, an amble along a nature trail or relaxing under an immense tree with a book. Or a game of badminton/wild film with your kids who are very welcome here. (By the way, have they ever got a chance to see an elephant being fed?). We can also throw in a bonfire by the stream and grill-a-chicken-on-coals. Wi-Fi in the lobby, with a sense of the secluded all around the vast open Casa Deep Woods. A balm for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Deep Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zest Casa Deep Woods Hotel Masinagudi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing