We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed there in the Safati Land Resorts in a fantastic tree house with our 3 kids. Amazing experience to stay in a tree house in the middle of the forest.
Be prepared to rather low tech bathrooms and a lot of animals around you. Food and staff are very godd and friendly.
You should not miss this experience!

1  Thank AMB692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 220 of 220 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2011

Towards the end of our three-day stay in Ooty during summer last year, my husband and I asked around for tree houses. Our driver suggested Safari Land resort in Mudumalai and that's how we found ourselves a tree house in the middle of the jungle.

The tree house we stayed in was quite safe and comfortable. It came with the basic amenities, like a bed (with a stylish mosquito net), dressing table, wooden cabinets with lock, tables and chairs, a swing, electric fan, and attached bathroom with hot/cold shower.

Food was good too. We were welcomed with a glass of chilled lemon juice. Meals were served buffet style in a very relaxing setting. There are options for both vegetarians and meat lovers. Alcohol is forbidden.

The itinerary consisted of an early afternoon of trek into the woods and nearby stream where elephants usually come to bathe, a drive up a hill to enjoy the spectacular view below, a late afternoon jungle safari, an early morning safari the next day (organized by the local forest dept), and finally a trip to an elephant sanctuary.

Back in the resort, we tried all the swings, took tons of photographs, played chess and table tennis, and had a small bonfire (attended only by the husband and myself, making it a private and romantic affair).

The staff were courteous and helpful. We asked for an additional fan and were given one right away. Also, towards the end of our trip we learned that the owner was around so thought we might meet and tell him that we'd enjoyed our stay. However, much to our surprise, we ended up meeting him and his lovely family. We sat and chatted with him for sometime and took pictures together.

We returned home smiling, relaxed and with new friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank nadia_dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We looked forward to spending a few days near the jungle and chose this resort because it included a couple of treks and a morning safari jeep ride in the park.

We were disappointed with our stay. The rooms were very minimal and the matresses so thin that it felt like we were sleeping on a board. The shower drain plugged and flooded the bathroom floor and there was no water to our bathroom on our final day.
The meals were ok and the chef did try to accommodate our vegetarian needs. However, we have been travelling in India for two months and received far superior accomodation and food for much less cost.

The staff tried to be accommodating and were pleasant enough, but required more supervision to make the place be of the standard which the charges would assume.

It turned out that the included safari actually only cost the resort 35 rupeesfor each of us. However, we had to pay for a taxi to take us to the park entry. For this 20 minute drive each way, they charged us 400 rupees. I would not mind if the money went directly to the driver, but I'm sure he only sees a fraction of that as the resort takes a cut from the charge..

They also said a trip to a stream was included, but it turned out that we had to pay for a taxi to that as well.

In summary, since we were the only guests at the time, perhaps Safari Land was not really set up for us. In that case, they should have closed for the season and not accepted guests. We know that our expectations are not unreasonable. If they had ony charged 2000 rupees for a night we have no complaints, but for 3500 we expected t a much higher level of accommodation, food and services.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank anghen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariLandFarm, Manager at Safari Land Farm & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

The resort has been operational for the last 4 years and has catered to both domestic and international guests. We are surprised at, and regret the discomfort your stay with us has caused you.

For the record, the cost of the safari and visit to the stream with other incidentals were indicated to you via email prior to your confirming your stay with us. Also private jeeps are prohibited from entering the Mudumalai Sanctuary hence such a commitment could not have been made, the email referred to above clearly indicate a van safari organized by the forest department.

With regard to costs of how much the taxi makes versus how much you were charged, it would be unwarranted to make assumptions without facts.
Minor and unforeseen inconveniences like a shower drain being plugged etc are sometimes part of the travel experiences guests have, irrespective of the type of hotel / resort they choose to stay in. No management wishes its guests to have an unpleasant stay at their property.

With regard to the affair of the mattresses, this is the first such feedback we have received w.r.t them causing discomfort in our four years of operation and frankly have no idea how to react to it, since post your stay in the standard room with us almost two months ago... we have had no similar complaints.

Please note that you were charged Rs 1800/- for the standard room with food being charged extra (breakfast, lunch & dinner) in lieu of the 3,500/- as indicated. The activities that came complimentary were:
Trek to the mountain peak, Campfire with soup & snacks, tickets for the van safari, guided trip to the stream. As indicated in our mail confirming the booking, all local travel costs have to be borne by the guest!
At the end of the day our intention is not to clarify or elaborate our stand on your holiday experience but to put forth our views as a response to those aired by you in order to help you see things in the other perspective as we have tried to see things in yours.

Looking forward to seeing you again and hopefully changing your perspective of Safari Land.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Baumhäuser für jeden, der einmal anders übernachten will. Die normalen Hütten sind zweckmässig einge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnettetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
2.7 mi away
Jungle Hut
Jungle Hut
#2 of 10 in Masinagudi
568 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Nest Inn
The Nest Inn
#7 of 10 in Masinagudi
117 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 4 in Bandipur
309 reviews
2.3 mi away
De Rock Jungle Living
De Rock Jungle Living
#8 of 10 in Masinagudi
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Land Farm & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Land Farm & Guest House

Address: Safari Land Safari Land Farm & Guest House 4/78k | Nilgiri District, Masinagudi 643223, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range: $43 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located in beautiful jungle surroundings at the foothills of the gorgeous Blue Mountains of Nilgiris near the famous hill station of Ooty, bordering a jungle stream-wherein fresh water flows down from the mountains. The resort is located within the beautiful Nilgiris Biosphere which is a tri-junction of Mudumalai wildlife sanctuary in Tamilnadu, Bandipur in Karnataka and Wynad wildlife sanctuary in Kerala making it one of the largest evergreen forest tracts in India at an altitude of 1000m above sea level. Normally, the climate is very pleasant with zero pollution in lush green and refreshing surroundings. Tree Top House- It’s truly rustic, thrilling and adventurous! The feel of staying on a Tree, more than 20 feet in the air with stunning view of the beautiful Blue Mountains of Nilgiris amidst sparkling streams, lush green forest, teeming wildlife and much more. It’s surely a promise of a most memorable and unforgettable holiday experience in the wild. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Safari Land Farm & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing