We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity only 5 hours from Bangalore”
Review of Jungle Hut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jungle Hut
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Serenity only 5 hours from Bangalore”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

9 of us hopped into two (large) cars and headed to Masinagudi's Jungle Hut; last weekend.
There were other cheaper place around but we're a slightly older lot of friends; in our 50's & 60's; so we're quite fussy about our creature comforts.
Not de riguer but pretty much so.
Pass Bandipur Game Reserve on the way and were horrified by the devastation left by the recent fires. And the early morning Safari into the Reserve revealed no Tigers!
Anyway, onwards to JH.
Delightful sprawling property.
Basic to look at, Huts with pretty Bouganvillea on the outsides; but well appointed facilities inside. Solar powered for the most part.
Airconditioned rooms - if you want them - with comfortable double beds. CLEAN. and with large old style bathrooms (Western Style potties - thank God!) All the facilities you'd require, but room service for food and beverages is not a regular feature.
Initially you're peeved but, then you realise it's such a short distance to all the eating and drinking areas that a lil bit of walking to and fro is good for you!
Lovely common area and a well stocked Bar! And the Beers were COLD Always!
Vikram Mathias who owns the place was away but his wife Anu and Vivek Varma (young Manager) who run the place did an exemplary job.
GOOD FOOD! And plenty of it!
The Deer in the area are obliging! They come into the compound and Pose for photographs!!!
We were also visited by Sloth Bear, plenty of wonderful Birds and Squirrels!
They have resident Sheep which helps with the non-veg fare and, a decent vegetable garden.
Activities: Nothing much so take your own cards and Scrabble if you like.
They have a small very Blue clean swimming Pool.
But, it's such a lovely place that you can take long walks and/or drives around.
The three adjectives I would use to describe Jungle Hut, Masinagudi are:
Serenity, Peace and Relaxation.
Just what the Doctor ordered - for me especially!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    148
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
296
121
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kiryat Tivon, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We arrive to "jungle Hut" resort late afternoon. The Special atmosphere and cozy felt already at the gate.
A peaceful place, monkeys, deer, beautiful birds… and beautiful people - Vikram, Anushree their sweet daughter Ila and Vivek make our stay very warm and unforgettable.
The food is awesome buffet stile, availability of tea & coffee – make it yourself at any time.
Rooms - we took the deluxe room, it was big comfortable and very special.
As a family who travel a lot, we love to recommend the place and wish to be back there one day.

Room Tip: If you already reached that beautiful place, allow yourself to take the deluxe room, make the most o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oferha11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Even before we reach I feel this calming yet excited feeling, and we are not disappointed. Jungle hut is the perfect place to just be. The mountains change colour through the day. The air is sweet and cool. The food is awesome. Vikram, anushree and Vivek make it happen just right. It is our favorite place to go.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank evelynkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coonoor, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

An AMAZING experince for my family. A home away from home. Spend two nights and three days. everything was unique. Rooms are clean , pleasant and welcomming. you can sit in the verandah of the room and watch the lazy deer grazing a few meters away. Food is too much to be true and will definatly find a palate for every tongue. The bar is spirited and neat. very very comfy and perfect to have a couple of beers in the afternoon and scotch in the evenings. The pool is located out of this world... a true jungle pool clean and cold water to beat the afternoon heat.saving the best for last now, its the hosts and their team Vivek and anushri go out of their way to make you comfortable and see that you enjoy every moment. absolutely no fuss with anything. Jungle hut rocks ... it has wifi, jeeps guides and yes a lovely audio visual room too.
THIS PLACE IS A MUST SEE MUST DO for anyone going to masinagudi / OOTY / bandipur / mudhumalai / wayanad. costs for a standard room 6000/- tax and food inclusive. worth every penny. and yes the memories are PRICELESS

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and have their own pros and cons. Bottom line "ASK VIVEK"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank webstervaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here with my wife & a couple friend.
It's a long drive from Ooty & the 36 hairpins (hill curves) can make you a bit dizzy. It's far far away, feel like no mans land. It was the 1st resort to come up in this area.
Secluded, clean, spacious & quiet. Just the place we needed. Can get quite warm & I would award the summers (if your not a foreigner looking out for the sun :-))
Rooms are big, food a buffet & quality food. The best part was the availability of tea & coffee (make your own at any time).
They provide you a paid guide for a road safari, bird sighting.
Madumalai forest is closer however rumors are it isn't managed well by the government, rather visit Bandipur.
Over a good experience over 2 days for a couple is what I would suggest. At 12K worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saji_inasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Jungle Hut is an experience - and a very pleasant experience for city dwellers like me.
Located in the edge of the forest and at the foot of a hill, the resort has a soothing and rejuvenating effect after a hard week's work
A wide variety of birds lives/ regularly visit the property, deer roam around in flocks inside the perimeter, langurs hop around the trees and the smells and sounds of the wild makes it a perfect jungle getaway . Larger animals like elephants, gaurs, bears or even the elusive big cats can be spotted very close to the property if you are really lucky. Personally I've spotted a female elephant with a baby just outside the gate on my last visit.

The rooms are very tastefully done and provided, although there are no extra frills. The food is very homely and delicious. The small pool is perfectly located just below the hill.

Th property is well maintained - surprisingly less insects and spiders which makes it safe for kids.
All in all, a property which you would want to keep coming back to, once you have the experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saikat_DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our group of 5 people stayed here and enjoyed the experience and excitement. Especially being awakened by the trumpet of a nearby elephant in the middle of the night followed by gunshots to warn it from coming too close. The rooms were large and very basic. I had ants and other crawling insects in my bathroom and saw the hole in the wall they were coming through, told the front desk, and hopefully that will be fixed. My friends were "upgraded" to the deluxe suite which was really a screened tent, closer to the edge of the forest but also cooler at night and more insects. It did have double sinks and separate toilet and bathing area.

Our private safari in the morning was a bust -- we left at 5 am thinking we would see more animals but it was too dark and the tribal village we were supposed to stop and visit was still asleep. Better to leave at 6 am. The tribal village stops are very interesting.

The food was absolutely fabulous -- breakfast, lunch and dinner. Some of the best vegetarian food I had in my 3 week trip. The front desk service and guest help was superb and memorable and the wifi in the lounge and office worked well.

But beware if you are coming down from Ooty -- there is the "fast" straight down 1 hour trip and then there is the 3.5 hour long trip we took as we were in a Tempo Traveller and not allowed to take the faster route.

Room Tip: All the rooms look the same although their locations are a bit different. The upgraded suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
2.1 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
0.4 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
300 reviews
9.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jungle Retreat
Jungle Retreat
#1 of 31 in Masinagudi
329 reviews
8.7 mi away
Deep Jungle Home
Deep Jungle Home
#1 of 3 in Mudumalai
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Hut

Property: Jungle Hut
Address: Bokkapuram | Masinagudi, P.O, Masinagudi 643223, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jungle Hut 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After working for 25 years on tea plantations Joe and Hermie Mathias chose to retire close to nature away from the buzzing city life. They started Jungle Hut in 1986 sharing the warmth of their home and providing the unique getaway for the adventurous traveller. Through word of mouth people from far and wide visited Jungle Hut and many of them continue to patronise us.My wife and I follow in their footsteps and open our home to you.Welcome to Jungle Hut.At 3000 feet above sea level and a range of climatic conditions, our holiday estate is surrounded by a wealth of plant and animal life that thrives amidst sparkling streams and virgin jungle. Here you can trek meandering forest paths, enjoy peace and quiet under starry skies, or be bold and explore your wild side with a jungle safari.At the end of the day treat yourself to a hot shower in our cozy rooms and then relax for a while on verandahs that offer breathtaking views while ensuring your privacy. When you're hungry, come on up to our dining area, we cater buffet meals with a home cooked feel.Through all our travels we have not come across a hideaway offering such serenity. Our guests the world over have echoed this same feeling. Don't forget to bring your camera as this is one holiday you will want to remember for a long, long time. So come, stay a while, enjoy our hospitality and nature at its best.- Anushri and Vikram Mathias. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jungle Hut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing