We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glen View Resort
Nearby Hotels
Bear Mountain Jungle Resort(Masinagudi)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Casa Deep Woods(Masinagudi)
$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House(Masinagudi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jungle Hut(Masinagudi)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
InnTheWild(Masinagudi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Nest Inn(Masinagudi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Jungle Paradise(Masinagudi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
42
46
8
12
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
46
8
12
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr ramoff roadingwildlife loversboth veg and non vegown vehiclewonderful experiencejeep safarihutresortforestplaceelephantsbouldersteamleopard
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 127 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Glen View Resort in Masinagudi is one of my favorite resort in this place, It is located in the best place.

Regarding rooms/cottages, It has a verity of rooms and one can choose as per there needs and the rooms are good, neat and clean, Dont expect the luxury rooms and these are not luxury but a good ones.

Food is tasty and has a good buffet for BF,Lunch n dinner, few indoor/outdoor activities can keep you engaged during the stay or one can opt for a trekking.

Overall, a nice place to stay with a nature..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PraveenByrappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The location of this place is great. the Idea behind having 7 different types of huts/rooms is also very nice and its a nice place to relax and if one has more time trekking around the area could also be fun.
However, the resort needs better maintainance. There is no excuse for not having the rooms clean and free of insects.
The staff is polite (sometimes a little lost). The guy managing the show (Thilak) does a very good job and is very accomodative.
I liked the food, especially the country style chicken curry which was amazing, though my vegetarian friends dint really enjoy it.

As travellers we must understand that this resort is in a jungle. The local cooking style is much different from what we would find in the cities we come from. We should go there expecting to taste something new and different.. it will definitely not be what we find regular restaurants.
And the management should understand that true travellers are not too many. More than half your customers who come there to only relax need things as what they are used to. So do have good options for them as well. After all they are the ones who give you more business.

Price wise this place is about okay. Though the food seemed a little expensive.

Room Tip: Carry your own liquor. nothing good around the place.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ram_K777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were a group of friends who wanted to experience a jungle resort and chose Glen View based on their website. We were extremely disappointed on reaching the place since it looked no where close to the pictures on the website. The least we expect in any resort is to get good food and clean rooms and both these were absent here. The food was bland and the rooms unclean and infested with insects with no provision to get rid of them! The people serving were polite and doing the best they could but the management has to look into the place and give it a overhaul.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank sonsa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajeeshonly, Owner at Glen View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback, and we took your feedback seriously. Here are the changes that were taken up recently after your visit.

1. Overal cleanliness have been strictly monitored and enforced.
2. All worn out doors have been replaced
3. Damaged ceilings have been replaced
4. The restaurant roof has been completely re-done with leak-proof material
5. Pest management has been regularised, on a higher frequency of application

I am sure you will see the difference on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

As mentioned in most of the reviews,the place whr the resort is made is very nice.....very close to nature, relaxing......bt the rooms need to b improved a lot.we stayed in the log huts,bt it isn't made of logs...toilets need to b cleaner. Food needs improvement, staff were kind n co-operative......nw the best part...all ws well on Saturday,bt on sunday the taps went dry in our room toilet and the reason given ws tat elephants hav ruptured the water pipes, whereas the whole resort had water....nevertheless we were given other vacant rooms to freshen up, bt it gets tough if something like this happens if u r wit family. Other than the water problem,we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chethan_rajaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Dont ever even try to think of going here.. the accommodation is very bad.. the place is littered every where... lot of snakes around.. the approach road is the worst part.. you might to send your car to service centre if you go there.. the food was terrible and expensive.. people are harsh..
so overall its not worth to be called as resort.. its a second grade lodge..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Poorna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajeeshonly, Owner at Glen View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback. After enquiring at the resort, I realised that you had not stayed at the resort, and did not avail restaurant or any other services. You had asked for a refund and left the place without checking in. So coming to your points -

1. Snakes - There has not been a single report so far about sighting snakes in the property. If you had found one, you could have reported it to the staff. Even though it is a deep jungle resort, we have kept snakes away all throughout.

2. Littering - I have taken this up with the management. During my last inspection, the place was indeed clean. However we do not remove the fallen leaves etc, just to retain the rustic ambience of the property. From your feedback, it certainly reveals that you do not appreciate such an ambience.

3. Approach road - This has been discussed several times in this forum, and I have mentioned that we are not allowed to pave the roads due to strict instructions from the forest officials. We do plan to fix the roads, when this ban is lifted. We do provide alternate arrangements for pickup in our own vehicle for Guests who arrive in low ground clearance vehicles.

4. Food - Upon checking sales bills, I found that you have not had food from the property. Hence I believe this is a false comment.

5. Staff behaviour - We have not had much bad comments about staff behaviour. However I have given clear instructions to management to keep well mannered staff at the property.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews