We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad experience!”
Review of Glen View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen View Resort
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were a group of friends who wanted to experience a jungle resort and chose Glen View based on their website. We were extremely disappointed on reaching the place since it looked no where close to the pictures on the website. The least we expect in any resort is to get good food and clean rooms and both these were absent here. The food was bland and the rooms unclean and infested with insects with no provision to get rid of them! The people serving were polite and doing the best they could but the management has to look into the place and give it a overhaul.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank sonsa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajeeshonly, Owner at Glen View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback, and we took your feedback seriously. Here are the changes that were taken up recently after your visit.

1. Overal cleanliness have been strictly monitored and enforced.
2. All worn out doors have been replaced
3. Damaged ceilings have been replaced
4. The restaurant roof has been completely re-done with leak-proof material
5. Pest management has been regularised, on a higher frequency of application

I am sure you will see the difference on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 126 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

As mentioned in most of the reviews,the place whr the resort is made is very nice.....very close to nature, relaxing......bt the rooms need to b improved a lot.we stayed in the log huts,bt it isn't made of logs...toilets need to b cleaner. Food needs improvement, staff were kind n co-operative......nw the best part...all ws well on Saturday,bt on sunday the taps went dry in our room toilet and the reason given ws tat elephants hav ruptured the water pipes, whereas the whole resort had water....nevertheless we were given other vacant rooms to freshen up, bt it gets tough if something like this happens if u r wit family. Other than the water problem,we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chethan_rajaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Dont ever even try to think of going here.. the accommodation is very bad.. the place is littered every where... lot of snakes around.. the approach road is the worst part.. you might to send your car to service centre if you go there.. the food was terrible and expensive.. people are harsh..
so overall its not worth to be called as resort.. its a second grade lodge..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Poorna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajeeshonly, Owner at Glen View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback. After enquiring at the resort, I realised that you had not stayed at the resort, and did not avail restaurant or any other services. You had asked for a refund and left the place without checking in. So coming to your points -

1. Snakes - There has not been a single report so far about sighting snakes in the property. If you had found one, you could have reported it to the staff. Even though it is a deep jungle resort, we have kept snakes away all throughout.

2. Littering - I have taken this up with the management. During my last inspection, the place was indeed clean. However we do not remove the fallen leaves etc, just to retain the rustic ambience of the property. From your feedback, it certainly reveals that you do not appreciate such an ambience.

3. Approach road - This has been discussed several times in this forum, and I have mentioned that we are not allowed to pave the roads due to strict instructions from the forest officials. We do plan to fix the roads, when this ban is lifted. We do provide alternate arrangements for pickup in our own vehicle for Guests who arrive in low ground clearance vehicles.

4. Food - Upon checking sales bills, I found that you have not had food from the property. Hence I believe this is a false comment.

5. Staff behaviour - We have not had much bad comments about staff behaviour. However I have given clear instructions to management to keep well mannered staff at the property.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our stay @ Glenview Resorts, Masinagudi (June 2013) was fantastic. Our family with people of all ages (from 4 to 70 years) had great fun and a different experience as expected. The vital aspect of what I liked as a person (who browsed the net, got information from the Club Kabini Eco-Tourism executive through email and phone, booked the resort and coordinated the whole package from this end) who took charge in planning and executing our trip was - there wasn't any hidden cost in the whole package. I always am skeptical about such resorts of the fact that we don't have alternative in such remote locations and with my previous experiences, we always will be left with no option than to spend what is proposed. However, to my surprise, the ones promised were the ones available (in terms of rooms, food & service, transportation, other activities, etc.) - nothing much and nothing less.. Food was tasty (homely). This is something very important for planning. I appreciate the service and we as a family are satisfied with the stay @ Glenview. This is our personal experience without any prejudice.
I take this opportunity to thank Sumi in the initial coordination and Prem & team (@ the resort) for the wonderful assistance in making our trip a memorable one. Thanks!!

Room Tip: Log hut - preferred for room space, elevated view & comfort. Will hold more people (four to five...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Sarathy_RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

it was very pleasant location to staying for lovers. nice log hut house and bamboo tree house.
the last 0.5 km road way is difficult to reach but after reaching resort u will enjoy the atmosphere.
food is good and room service is very nice.

Room Tip: log hut for 4 members and bamboo tree house for couple only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank rajesh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This resort is deep in the forest. The place is very silent and during the night you hear just the forest sound and nothing else. A nice getaway place for Couples or smal family.

I had a plesent stay, You can spot deer right from your room balcony. It can get scary at night to go out sometime :)

Recommended

Room Tip: Few rooms like the Tree house and the cave room was not good. The one with the balcony and thee b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jegan4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This review is not only about Glen View resort but also about the attractions and activities provided by them.
Our objectives of the trip were to spot animals in the forest and enjoy being away from hectic city life.
The most important thing while planning this trip is choosing the right season to enjoy Mudhumalai Forest. There are two popular theories and beliefs (found in the Internet) in selecting the season in order to spot maximum animals in the forest. They are
1) In the rainy season (i.e. May- Oct) there will be lot of animals but forest also comes alive so there could be difficulty in spotting them as forest becomes denser and greener.
2) The forest is dry during the non-rainy season and animals tend to come towards water sources where they can be spotted easily.
We went to Masinagudi in 1st week of March 2013, the forest was dry and locals suggested that it is not the right time to visit Masinagudi as animals wander away deep inside the forest. So I suggest you people to visit this place during the monsoon time i.e. June – Oct.
About the Resort
1) Resort – It is few KMs off Masinagudi Town and the resort is pretty much inside the forest. You have to use their Jeep Services if you want to go to Masinagudi Town. In the town you have a Supermarket (Dream Land) which has lot to offer and also accepts major Credit/Debit cards.
2) Rooms – Spacious, Toilets were clean, Sheets were clean and Geyser was present.
3) Food – Food was good but it is always better to order those food items which have least probability of preparing it bad like Chappati and Dal, idly and Dosa, Curd Rice etc.
4) Service/Attitude – All the resort employees were hospitable.

Attractions around the Resort:
1) Bandipore/Mudhumalai Govt. run Safari – We went all the way to Bandipore Govt. Safari from Masinagudi even though Mudhumalai Govt. Safari is closer to Masinagudi hoping that we may catch a glimpse of Tiger in Bandipore. The Karnataka Govt. offers you two options 1) Van Safari, where 20 odd people sit in a Van and they take us through the forest. They charge 300 Per Person and they also accept credit cards but they charge 1.9% service charge. For 4 of us through Credit Card they should ideally be charging 1200+1200*1.9/100 but mathematically challenged Forest Rangers told that we got to pay 1440.With the language barrier and inability to convince those people that their calculation is wrong we decided to pay Rs 1200 in cash. For non-Indians they charge Rs 1000 which simply cannot be understood. 2) Hiring a Jeep, 2000K for the Jeep and 200 for each Person. So mathematical equation - Amt= 2000+200*x where x is the number of people maxed at 6.
We saw Spotted Deer, Sambar Deer, Elephants, Peacock and Bison in the safari. When all of us were dejected that we could not spot any cats(tigers or leopards) a Bull Elephant gave us some thrilling experience. A Bull elephant was standing right infront of us and as we went closer to the elephant it moved away from the path and it was standing right next to our van probably 5-10 yards away. That moment it trumpeted and charged towards the side of the van, realizing the gravity of the situation van driver quickly accelerated away from it. The Bull started chasing us madly for 75 - 100 meters before giving up. Rate - Masinagudi to Bandipore Jeep/Cab Rs 1000.
2) Trekking – Trekking around Masinagudi is probably the best way to spot animals in their own natural surroundings. In the Morning we trekked for about 2.5 hrs and we were able to spot Bison, Nilgiri Langur, White-tailed Tropicbird and Elephants. Our guide thought that he had spotted a Bison and asked us to come closer and have a look but it turned out to be a couple of Bull elephants which gave us a scare. Initially one of the two with huge tusks charged towards us but once it saw 4-5 people it ran away in the opposite direction. Face to Face confrontation with a Bull Elephant within 20 feet was indeed scary and we all started running with the guide leading us from the front. If you have decided to go for trekking buy a good pair of shoes and also make sure that you are fit enough to run in short bursts and walk for say 20km in a day. Evening Trekking lasted for 2.5 to 3 hrs and we saw birds and Bison. March is a very bad time to visit so we couldn’t spot lot of animals which are easier to spot in the rainy season like pack of wild dogs, mountain python, Bears and wild cats. Rate – 300 per person per session.
3) Swimming and Fishing in small canal/creek/rivulet near Masinagudi Town.
4) Avoid Night Safari – They take you around the Main Road and they charge Rs1200. I really doubt if you could see any animals in the night because they don’t have flash lights and other advanced equipments.
5) Inquire well before you take Jeep Safari organized by Pvt. People. They Charge 3500 and from what I heard they don’t take you deep into the jungle.

Conclusion:
1) Pick the right season i.e. June – Oct
2) Masinagudi is at the edge of Mudhumalai tiger Reserves so if you could find out more commercialized village/town in terms of resorts, trekking and safari activities in the middle of the forest I believe you have better chances of encountering wild animals. Saying that I am not taking anything away from Masinagudi and Glen View. Right next to Glen view you have falls, creeks and rivulets. If you were an avid NGC, Animal planet or Discovery channel viewer you would know how important a plain land with ponds in it are to the forest and the animals. There are many such places in Masinagudi but unfortunately all of them were dry when we visited the place.
3) If you want to trek you got to be fit and agile. Invest in good pair of shoes if don’t have one. Binoculars and good 20-30X optical zoom camera may come handy.
4) Instead of wasting time on Night Safari and Safari on a jeep organised by the Pvt. People trek for 2 or 3 days (ideally 4-6 sessions Morning and evening in 6 different routes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Sriram1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Masinagudi hotels
0.2 mi away
Jungle Hut
Jungle Hut
#2 of 10 in Masinagudi
568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
317 reviews
2.7 mi away
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
2.7 mi away
The Nest Inn
The Nest Inn
#7 of 10 in Masinagudi
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jungle Retreat
Jungle Retreat
#1 of 33 in Masinagudi
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen View Resort

Address: Bokkapuram | Glen View Road, Masinagudi 643223, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range: $32 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen View Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot hills of the Nilgiris (also referred to as Blue Mountains) lies Bokkapuram, a picturesque village known for its immense beauty and serenity. Abode to the Goddess of the mudumalai jungle, it carries her temple which is celebrated just once a year.A short stretch into the woods should ideally lead into the silent jungle. But that is not the case, because hidden in the dark and silent canopy of bamboos and towering trees lies a resort which has merged itself into the beautiful landscape. Its inhabitants are enthralled by its distinguished wild visitors which includes the Gigantic Asian Elephants, the awesome bison’s, the majestic tigers, the skilled cheetah and the all so beautiful birds which hover around in different colours and sizes. Glen View Resort has earned itself the reputation of ‘THE’ ideal getaway for those who seek the best of the unblemished Wild.Glen View provides the opportunity of living in the lap of nature. The cottages, built out of contemporary mud and stone interiors provides you a luxurious blend of comfort and exotic natural ambience which makes your dream vacation a reality. So, comeon, take that vacation you have kept aside for so long and visit us. We promise the vacation of your life! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen View Resort Hotel Masinagudi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing