We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice break from the city!”
Review of Glen View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen View Resort
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very nice break from the city!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

i stayed with my mother for three days in one of the huts. found the food excellent, the amenities good too, and really good value for money. also the staff arranged taxi rides to ooty and madurai very conveniently. a really nice property, nothing too flashy or touristy. natural in its own right, clean rooms and eating area. the only inconvenience (or a really nice convenience when looking for a break) that it is the last resort at the end of the dirt road. so the cars have a tough time getting there. but the waterfall is the nearest.

Room Tip: the tree house is best! for the views of course. but all the rooms are good enough because it gets p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShayontiSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    44
    9
    11
    19
See reviews for
41
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The place is very natural, not built. It is not your commercial places that we see all over. Its just a place filled with bamboo trees. There are conventional cottages with bricks, Mud as well as Bamboo and all are good. The thing that impressed us was the cleanliness of the rooms and the service of the staff..

Staff is eager to help in any way possible. I would prefer such a place any day than any of the so called luxury stays. Food was good without being fancy, gives more of a homely feeling than a regular resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SrinivasDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Place is quite decent as its deep into the wild with greenery all over. But the facilities and hospitality of staff is worst. Food was tasteless, horrible experience with the jamoon they had provided. Badly maintained rooms with insects and worst bathrooms i have ever experienced. They charge for everything part by part which is too expensive. No proper road to Resort and parking. We stayed for a day and were feeling like when we are going out of this place.
Not a good place for couples who would like to spend some time peacefully. There were some people boozing and occupying campfire which would not be comfortable for Families. I suggest to the resort management atleast avoid such kinda people when you have bookings for family or provide separate place for them. Really disappointing experience and never met our expectation as what we saw in trip advisor

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roopa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajeeshonly, Owner at Glen View Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for providing your review, sir.
1. We do not claim to provide any facility that is not mentioned in our website.
2. Apologize for the staff hospitality and food. I have taken this up with the management.
3. Our bathrooms are well kept, for a jungle hide out kind of place.
4. During booking, we always inform the guests about the place and accessibility. We provide alternate arrangements for parking cars at our friend resort - the tamarind tree, and jeep drive to glen view from there. The reason for bad roads is that the forest department strictly disallows any kind of construction in that area, as it has been notified as elephant corridoor.
5. Our prices are very reasonable. Going below this will render us non-profitable.
6. Guests are informed before hand about its suitability for a relaxed family outing. This is for guests who want to enjoy the rustic ambience and the adventure feel of it. We do not claim otherwise on our website.
7. We make sure not to allocate adjacent cottages for couples and bachelors. I have informed management staff to look into this with utmost seriousness. However, campfire area is common, and if you require a private campfire, it could be requested at additional charges.

Its unfortunate that you didn't enjoy the stay, and we regret that we couldn't meet up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Masinagudi hotels

Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We did not like this place. The approach road to resort is really bad, any Sedan will struggle.
After seeing the road I called up the manager he said they do not have any arrangement of parking at any nearby place. If they cannot fix the road they should arrange for parking somewhere nearby and pick up the guest from there.
We stayed in The Stone Hut, it is very cramped, not good for couple as well, bed size 4 feet. Moreover there is no place in the room where a tired person can sit. Passing through rocks you have to climb that 4 feet bed. This place is not recommended if you are traveling with kids.
Food was OK but it was always delayed. They said they will serve breakfast at 8:00 AM, we kept waiting but the breakfast was served after 9:00 AM.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shambhutrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajeeshonly, Owner at Glen View Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear sir, all of these facts are mentioned on our website. Agree that the stone hut is not meant for family and kids. We do not advertise so. This resort is for those who enjoy the rustic ambience and real jungle feel. It is not a luxury resort for vacation stay. The resort is well kept and clean.

I have taken up the late breakfast issue with the resort management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Visited Glen view in Dec 2010 for the weekend of Christmas and New years. This is a resort which is tucked away deep into Bokapuram and is definately for only those with an interest to stay in the wild. We stayed in the tree house for 2 days and 2 days in the log hut. Both of the experiences were very good, personally enjoyed the tree house the most since it was a Bamboo tree house and very well set with nature. The food was excellent and totally homely, definately quite filling. Support to take us to Gopalswamy Beta too was very good with an extremely patient driver. The hiking trips too were a lot of fun, especially the waterfall and the visit tot the old house with a perched view to see the slot bears eat the jamuns. Overall, a good experience except that the monkey's got my husband's watch which left him a touch disheartened.

Room Tip: If you are game for a big of fun, take the treehouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WiniPooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi, Kerala, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed in the Resort for 3 days. The food was extremely good but served late by atleast one hour making us stay a little hungry. The location is one of the best available in the locality in the reserve forest. But sorry to say that we could not enjoy peaceful evenings on 2 days since there was no restrictions to drinking and partying in the premises which made the place very noisy and unpleasant by a batch of youngsters. Eventhough there was presence of elephants on 2 nights and possibly a tiger on one night the sounds of these animals faded in the big noise made in the party. I request the management to make some rules to restrict these type of parties in such reserve forests which makes it very unpleasant to the guests who come there for observing and enjoying wildlife in their natural habitat.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Balaji M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed in dis place juz for a night.....
Pros:
Friendly staff; Very much flexible to our needs and requirement
Right inside the forest
Clean and different themed resort......
Taste of food is mouth watering
A very peaceful place.......
Approach roads are too bad; but thatz also a enjoyable ride due to the terrain amidst the forest
Cons:
Rooms are not that spacious
Resort doesnt have a full Service restarunt so choice of food is very less
For this tariff the resort can provide some entertainment activities lik few indoor and outer games.... Which r missing.....


Better go in a group to enjoy this place......

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Vignesh_Madhavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
0.7 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
2.7 mi away
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 2 in Bandipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jungle Retreat
Jungle Retreat
#1 of 31 in Masinagudi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Rock Jungle Living
De Rock Jungle Living
#9 of 10 in Masinagudi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen View Resort

Property: Glen View Resort
Address: Bokkapuram | Glen View Road, Masinagudi 643223, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen View Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot hills of the Nilgiris (also referred to as Blue Mountains) lies Bokkapuram, a picturesque village known for its immense beauty and serenity. Abode to the Goddess of the mudumalai jungle, it carries her temple which is celebrated just once a year.A short stretch into the woods should ideally lead into the silent jungle. But that is not the case, because hidden in the dark and silent canopy of bamboos and towering trees lies a resort which has merged itself into the beautiful landscape. Its inhabitants are enthralled by its distinguished wild visitors which includes the Gigantic Asian Elephants, the awesome bison’s, the majestic tigers, the skilled cheetah and the all so beautiful birds which hover around in different colours and sizes. Glen View Resort has earned itself the reputation of ‘THE’ ideal getaway for those who seek the best of the unblemished Wild.Glen View provides the opportunity of living in the lap of nature. The cottages, built out of contemporary mud and stone interiors provides you a luxurious blend of comfort and exotic natural ambience which makes your dream vacation a reality. So, comeon, take that vacation you have kept aside for so long and visit us. We promise the vacation of your life! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen View Resort Hotel Masinagudi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing