We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glen View Resort
Nearby Hotels
Casa Deep Woods(Masinagudi)
$128
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
De Rock Jungle Living(Masinagudi)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Safari Land Farm & Guest House(Masinagudi)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bear Mountain Jungle Resort(Masinagudi)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Jungle Paradise(Masinagudi)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nest Inn(Masinagudi)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
InnTheWild(Masinagudi)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jungle Hut(Masinagudi)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
42
46
8
12
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
46
8
12
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr ramoff roadingwildlife loversboth veg and non vegown vehiclewonderful experiencejeep safarihutresortforestplaceelephantsbouldersteamleopard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 127 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We went to Glenview with great expectations since we saw some decent reviews on trip advisor and some great photos on their websites. The experience was no where near the presentation.

The place is quite far from the main road and is surrounded by not lush but dense forest. The rooms were very basic, just enough for two people. The beds and bed sheets were not clean and the chairs given in the room kept us on the edge by threatening to break at any point of time. Expect no frills at the toilets. No soap, no towel, we were lucky that we carried it since we reached the place late evening and the near by shop is at least 5 kms away (If not more).

The bath rooms were also very basic and was about to break down if handled with some force. Not to mention the crawlies and insects which infested the place. Can't blame the owners for this but insects kept disturbing us through out the night.

The one highlight of the place was the food. It was not very expensive but it was yummy. The preparation is mainly south Indian and there are no other choices available. But everything right from the morning coffee to dinner has a touch of great cook.

Though we were turned off by the ambience, lack of cleanness, nice rooms and bath rooms, the staff were very friendly and helpful. They were quick to provide the service, though there was no telephone connection between the rooms and we had to go to the office room to make orders.

There was a nice place for camp fire and barbecue which we enjoyed.

To sum it up all, there was nothing to write home about the resort. We were quite disappointed since all of us have been to jungle resorts before. The entire ambience was dark and little sad. This place is ideal for a bachelor party or for an all boys trip. Do not come here to relax and have nice get away. Also not recommended if you are traveling with family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Niktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed at Glen view for one day-night and it was a day well spent.

Tucked away at the foothills, almost towards the end of Masinagudi, away from the noise and din of city life, it was a peaceful place to stay amidst bamboo trees. Sprawled in a large area with adequate distance/privacy between cottages, Glen View is themed of bamboo, with rooms lined (on the inside and outside) with bamboo, a beautiful rustic restaurant with wood and bamboo decor, and neatly paved walkways.

The food was awesome and service prompt and courteous. A night safari was arranged for us, the manager even talked to two other couples staying in the resort and persuaded them so that we could share the bill. Though we could barely see any animals in the safari, if you count a herd of deer and a couple of buffaloes as animals, the drive into the forest was fun.

We stayed at the only Bamboo Tree House which was perched atop a bunch of bamboo trees with a neat and clean bathroom. The size of the room was a bit small, but one cannot ask for more at that height. The interiors were very well done with bamboo and the bed was comfortable. The only minus was that we ran out of water in the bathroom twice. The caretakers promptly refilled the overhead tanks and explained that being on a height, and the supply arranged so that water runs out in the tree house if the overhead tank's level falls below a certain depth. However, this little nuance did not bother us.

One thing they should perhaps look into is the sign boards providing directions to Glen View. We saw a direction board on the Ooty road showcasing at least half a dozen resorts but Glen View did not find a mention there. We ignored it believing we'd find another board further. Sadly, we didn't for the next 10 kilometers and had to finally return back, follow directions to other resorts, and ask them for Glen view.

Overall, a very peaceful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank s_ashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Thanks to Tripadvisor, I came to know of this place. Wonderfully designed place.. the look and feel of the stone hut was so new. The place is surrounded by bamboo forest, apt for a session of ghost stories in the sit-out just outside the huts.. not recommended for the weak-hearted.
They arrange for safaris. We stayed there for only one night and had a tight schedule, so only opted for the night safari. The journey through the forest in a jeep was nice, we could see the moon rise and the night forest was mesmerizing. But we had terrible luck spotting animals. We could only see a few deers and a rabbit :(
The only drawback I would say was the food. .. not worth the money at all (300 bucks for dinner, 150 bucks for Bfast) It was a very basic buffet, home made style, too spicy for my taste.
I would definitely recommend this place and go back myself.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank EternalBohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Wonderful place to relax and do nothing, since its a small plot there is limited activities. I was there during new years so service was just ok, apart from the small problem of water heaters not working properly.
Over all, wonderful get away for 2-3 days.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bipinramesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

The Glen View resort is one of the last ones more deep into the jungle. All resorts please make note are on the same road allotted by the state government however much they claim on internet to be different. The only one away from all this in the Masinagudi area is the Forest Department Guest houses which are about 5 kms away in Bokkapuram.
The place has a very rustic touch with tree houses , mud huts etc and definitely a place ideally suited for people who are open for a proper roughing it out holiday with comforts thrown in considered as a luxury . It is advisable for persons going there to head to Bokkapuram for the Safari rather than spend money on the resorts own safari as I learnt from other guests during interaction that access to jungle areas was limited by their groups .
The resort is managed by a resident manager who also takes you for treks into the jungle and a small spring which is not clean so I would suggest to avoid. The price for the package stay on the whole works out quite reasonable but the break up for stay and food makes you look cheated as you definitely do not want to pay Rs 300 for a Buffet dinner with a few basic items and the food from a flavor and variety perspective was below average .You have no option as you are forced to eat in the premises as going out to nearby town is a not so safe an option.
The place has a very rustic touch with tree houses , mud huts etc and definitely a place ideally suited for people who are open for a proper roughing it out holiday with comforts thrown in as a luxury . It is advisable for persons going there to head to Bokkapuram for the Safari rather than spend money on the resorts own safari as I learnt from other guests during interaction that access to jungle areas was by this team was limited area i.e. not worth the money spent.
The Resort arranges campfires and we did have a good time joining a group who had organized this with the resort. Overall a pleasant stay with more of forest, rustic touches to it than all the ones I had seen on my drive to reach this place. However as Glen View is located in the last part of the road among other resorts you will have to keep an eye open for locating it .
The visit of mine was poorly planned I suppose as it was in late February and it was quite warm and vegetation was not all green. Animals I could spot along the drive and later in the State run safari was just Deer, Peacock, Langurs ....not even an elephant. I did spot a group of bison though, that was well before I reached Masinagudi or Bokkapuram.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SUREJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews