We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at its best. An exhilarating experience.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nature at its best. An exhilarating experience.....”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was one of my most memorable holiday.The staff was very courteous including the hosts Zed and Shahnaz:We had lip-smacking parsi food for 2 days-all thanks to Shahnaz.They estate tour in the gyspsy was great and we got to drive one as we were in a fairly large group.We had two 4*4 with us as well and we did fair amount of offroading in the estate as well.The Manager Rafi is a great guy and is always on his toes to make your stay comfortable.They have ATV's and you can use them with care.We had a great time in swimming pool and i can go on & on & on.This place is a must visit for nature lovers and you get to see deers at your door-We saw deers,wild boars,porcupine and an elephant during our numerous trip in their huge estate.They have emu, hens and ducks as pets and kids loved playing with them.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good, but stone house was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdulrcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    96
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
441
98
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is Mathews.
Its really a very nice place to stay. In all aspects the resort is worth the money you pay. The owner of the resorts Mr. Zerasp kothavala and the staffs hospitality was great. Moreover the german people accompained me feel really satisfied by service,food and the commitment of the staff.
Worth for money.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathews1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We were two families (mine and my brothers) with four children out of which two were toddlers. Two kids fell sick before we left Bangalore, and because of which we had to change the reservation multiple times (first cancel, then go, and then to shorten our stay). All these changes were very kindly accommodated without any penalty. You will realize why when you reach there. The reason is that is this is not a run-of-the-mill resort place.This is a special place run by a family with loyal staff. They really treat you like family, so they don't impose on you or restrict your decisions. You get to know most of the staff in a very short time. The owners Mr. Zerasp and his sister Ms. Shanaz really care about the seven cottages and their guests they have in the vast 42 acre property. Mr. Zerasp, although was in touch with us through email, was unfortunately not in town during our visit. Ms. Shanaz was a generous host, and the manager Rafiq and other workers in the property such as Pappu made us feel at home. The rooms we stayed (Jacarenda and Aracia(?)) were very spacious, clean, and very nicely maintained. Their food was fantastic (except for one meal, if I really have to nitpick - I don't know for some reason, it was too oily)! The owners (Ms. Shanaz) visited her guests quite often during meals time in the dining area. Mr. Rafiq visits each and every guests personally and takes care of their needs. We saw quite a bit of wild life within the property itself. There are many other places to stay nearby and I also stayed in many other places in India immediately after that during my trip (Kodaikanal, Madurai, etc.). But none could be compared to the uniqueness of Bamboo Banks and their hospitality. In spite of having sick children in our group, we carry pleasant memories. We will definitely be back to Bamboo Banks.

A few details: Wifi comes only in the dining area. Because of the spread of the property, it may not be available in each room. There is a very nice library, Table-tennis, carrom, swings, and hammocks. They have four or five Emus in the property. You don't get to see these birds in India. Their dog Bahadur is quite friendly. Although a part of our group asked the food to be delivered to the room because of sick children, I strongly recommend that you go to the dining area and eat. That is an experience by itself. Overall, it was such a wonderful stay! Wow! What a place!

Room Tip: Jacarenda was great. This had a wonderful view. If you go with two families, this is a good room bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gopi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is an amazing place to stay. The owner's personal touch is everywhere and it is obvious that this is much more than a profit generating enterprise for them, but is a place they love and cherish.
The rooms are well furnished, clean and spacious. As we sat in the verandah having our morning tea and looking at the clouds move across the Nilgiris, a herd of deer ran across! A breathtaking site we will never forget.
The property is like a mini-forest and is amazingly well maintained when factoring in its size (42 acres). The owner (Mr. Zerasp) took us in his gypsy to show us around. A great guy with a sharp sense of humor.
The food was amazing too. There is a Parsi touch to it and they take great care in feeding their guests well.
The service is great and the staff is polite, friendly and well trained. They just seem so happy to be working there!
I can go on and on about this place, but you need to experience it for yourself. This place is a labor of love and if you are visiting that part of the world, you definitely need to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in Acacia and it had amazing view of the mountains. But, I think other cottages have equal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZameerDelhve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2014

An excellent place for those who love to just laze around and enjoy nature at its best. The ambience was good & the food homely and tasty. Lots of activities for kids. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pushpa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We went there with friends and family, had a stay in Stone house. it was really nice experience. You feel a freshness in the room and in the atmosphere. The staff members are very nice and supportive. We have a property visit by their personal gypsy. There are also lot many other facilities like swimming pool, horse riding and all that for sure you are going to get indulge with them. I feel if going to Bandipur, Bamboo bank is a must stay at place.

Room Tip: go for stone house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ravi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

The Bamboo Banks - A mini wildlife reserve in itself!!! A MUST visit stay near Mudumalai. Although there are many other stay options available, you wont find a property like this !

A special mention for:
1. Mr. Zerasp who personally takes care of his guests. He took us around his 42 acre property on the very first day in his amazing open jeep.

2. They have a lot of activities within the resort...
1. Horse riding
2. ATV
3. Swimming pool
4. Hammocks
5. A library
6. TT table
7. Carrom
8. Badminton
9. A trampoline
10. Cycling around the property
All of them can be used without any extra charges subject to availability!

3. The property has an unique Tree Platform made of bamboos which can be accessed by a steel ladder. The tree platform has awesome views of the undiluted forest. We had a lovely time just relaxing on the tree platform.

4. They have Emus, hens, cocks, Turkeys, geese, ducks, cats ... all inside the property....giving a very rustic feel.

5. We were pleasantly surprised by few uninvited visitors from the forest...It was unbelievable to notice some 20 spotted deers right outside our cottage lawn at night....they actually spent the whole night sharing our premises!

6. We loved the ATV ride through the property & were lucky again to spot deers in bright day light!

7. The food served also exceeded our expectations.

All in all, an extremely pleasant, hospitable & wild stay at The Bamboo Banks.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VAhuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
1.9 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
296 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jungle Hut
Jungle Hut
#2 of 10 in Masinagudi
546 reviews
0.7 mi away
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 3 in Bandipur
291 reviews
6.6 mi away
Glyngarth Resorts
Glyngarth Resorts
#19 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
45 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jungle Retreat
Jungle Retreat
#1 of 31 in Masinagudi
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House

Property: Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
Address: Masinigudi Village | The Nilgiris, Masinagudi 643223, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Nilgiris besides the Avarahalla stream, with a magnificent view of the famous blue hills, lies Bamboo Banks farm & Guest house. Spread over 40 acres of undisturbed nature, with 4 detached cottages providing you with modern amenities, a swimming pool set in Scenic surroundings , and homemade food to suit your palette, Bamboo Banks is the ideal place for a weekend getaway. Bamboo Banks was started in 1974 making us pioneers in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing