We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat hotel, not exactly a resort”
Review of The Nest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Nest Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Masinagudi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2011

One of my friends recommended this place and I went to this place with some expectations.
Masinagudi: This is a decent place where you could go for safari, but you could see animals if you are lucky. This place is like a village, calm and close to Ooty(32kms).
Hotel location: This is very close to Masinagudi bus stop.
Room: Room is very clean. Towels are not clean, they didnt give shampoo. Hot water is not hot. We paid 1500/day and I felt it was OK.
Hotel facilities: Not a resort, no pool, no spa, nothing. It was a mere hotel
Staff: Good behaviour. As other people mentioned, you wouldn't know who is manager or boy from dress as no dress code exists.
Food: Food was OK, but language is a problem as most of the boys speak only Tamil. Dont expect great food. They had buffet on Xmas eve, but charged 350Rs with limited menu and I felt it is very expensive.
Travel arrangements: it is expensive, best thing is just walk to the bus stop and you would find the same thing at cheaper price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fonz1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 119 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

Had a great trip with my friends. Of the hotel, It is right in the heart of Masnagudi, which makes it an easy access, the food (buffet) tastes so good and the ambience is good. The staffs there responded well and made sure we felt it as home. The rooms were clean and were big enough, the rest rooms were well maintained. The trekking, safaris were good, we were lucky though to see the animals.

We had a wonderful time spent in Nest Inn, a special thanks to the staffs, owner for making it a good experience with so much relaxed stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Saffick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I had the best exp ever. Will ensure to choose this place again and also recommend it for other. The Stay and the Food was really nice.

It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this small family-run hotel. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home. In the afternoon, the staff would bring out snacks and coffee for guests who had opted to spend the day in the shade of the palm trees in the little garden. At no charge.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mohan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We booked a room in this resort/hotel over phone ([--]). We had transferred Rs. 500 by NEFT to confirm our booking. We boarded a KSRTC Volvo bus from Bangalore to Ooty on Friday night 11 PM, and got down at Theppakadu the next morning at 6:30 AM. Hired a jeap to travel from there to the resort (Rs. 150). (We could watch a lot of wildlife during that trip -elephants, bison, deer, peafowls etc.). The resort was very near to Masinagudi town, but still it was a calm area. The surroundings was amazing, but our room was at the far corner and from there there was not much of a view. The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean. The tap water was a little muddy, which they said was due to the rains. The restaurant food was fine, we took only breakfast from there (we were outside most of the time). The resort offered a riverside swimming/fishing expedition (Rs. 450/head) and jeep safari (Rs. 900), both of which we did not take. No specific reason, we were just not interested. Instead, we walked around the place, and traveled to surrounding villages in shared jeeps, which was the most popular mode of transport there. The next day morning, there was a 1.5 hour forest walk organised by the resort, which began at 6:30 AM. This was a good experience, even though the charge (400 per head) was a bit expensive. Overall, I found the resort to be a good one, the staff helpful and knowledgeable and the stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sankoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

The way the resort is interior is very good. As we went in a team they arranged the buffet food which was so delicious, they will also prepare the menu you want . . . The best thing is the Resort management took care of the outing as well as the camp fire as well.

Over all the experience is mind blowing, If you are staying the don't forget to keep our windows open so that you can have a great view of the river near by and the wonderful view of mountain surrounded it.

Situated in the heart of Masinagudi in the Nilgiris, which is 35kms from Ooty. The Nest Inn is an easily accessible hotel readily identifiable for the tourists. The name would be says has NEST, its looks like same only. Rooms are well furnished with kurudi erected walls and teak wood flooring. Toilets are well maintained. Lawn area/garden is also excellent. Only complaint we had was with the little food servicing, but not up to the mark. For us it was funny and we were assuming that from now on whatever we'll order will be delivered/got from outside.
Room size was big and we could play games. Else greenery and view from the hotel room is spectacular. Forgot to mention the play area for kids, which was good for to play all and more over it’s meant for children.

With Warm Regards
NAGARAJU S

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nagraju_ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We were horrified when we first arrived at this hotel. There was renovation in full swing. We missed the hotel as it looked like a construction site. We had to cross through scaffolding and piles of cement to get to the reception area which was hidden on the second floor. But, we were tired and decided to take a look at the room. We knew we were staying as soon as we walked in. The room was well lit, had two ultra comfortable beds, a flat screen tv, and a spotless bathroom. Everything looked brand new and spotless. Cleanest room in India. Yes, there was construction, but it didn't enter our room at all. Also, there was hot water in the shower which was wonderful. However, the service lacked a bit. We ordered a wake up call and they woke us up a half hour early. We also ordered a taxi to the airport and it was very expensive. There was a mosquito in our room that kept us up all night as well. But, all in all, it was the 2nd best hotel we have stayed at in our 5 week trip in India.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Hi all,
I am Raghu(logged in as Bobby) from Bangalore .
After a visit to Masinagudi -The Nest Inn resort ,with the experience what I had I gave thought to write this review .I hope this review would be a great help for many.
As a place, Masinagudi is a very pleasant place to visit. It has the nature, it has the wild life and as a neighborhood, it has the queen of hill stations, OOTY
The Nest in resort, the resort where I stayed when I made a trip to Masinagudi on 8/1/2011. it’s definitely the Worst resort to stay in Masinagudi. Don’t even think of this resort.
The worst part of the stay at this Nest Inn resort was the resort itself.
I don’t want to comment on the night Safari, as it all depends on the luck.
Also I don’t want to comment on the Food as we just ordered normal Dal and Roti kinda stuff.
Worst part was that the resort is situated right at the Town limits.
The hassle and bustle of the SH road traffic outside, a dirt pool inside and one stupid Playing Park for Kids.
All that you can see is that the Mountains at very far of distance and the Misty atmosphere around during dusk and dawn, which we could experience even in Bangalore during this times.
All this disappointing things were added with along with Manager’s unruly behavior and made the situation even more worse.
I could only see very few guys so called staffs out there may be 2 or 3.No proper dress code, no discipline. One can’t say a difference as who is a call boy or a manager everyone looked the same.
I strongly recommend all you guys out there not even to think of planning to stay at this filthy resort.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobby_2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
0.4 mi away
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
2.4 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 9 in Masinagudi
326 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jungle Hut
Jungle Hut
#2 of 9 in Masinagudi
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
5 mi away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 4 in Bandipur
318 reviews
2.3 mi away
De Rock Jungle Living
De Rock Jungle Living
#8 of 9 in Masinagudi
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nest Inn

Address: Singara Road, Masinagudi 643223, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range: $33 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Nest Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Nest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing