We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stopover !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Mountain Jungle Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Reviewed September 10, 2013

On our drive to Bangalore this time, I decided to take a different route. From Cochin we drove to Nilambur and decided to take the forest root via Mudumalai- Bandipur. Having driven to Bangalore umpteen number of times through almost all the roads possible in the past 2-3 years, I must admit this was my Best Trip to Bangalore, so far !

This was so, especially because of the stop over place we choose at Masinagudi, through trip advisor. We drove into the Mudumali Forest area at around 5 PM was greeted with lot of wildlife (a bear, Bisons, Elephants, Peacocks, Mongoose, wild Boars, spotted dears, random birds) - all in plenty.

We were so thrilled by the wildlife spotting, that we reached a bit late to masinagudi town. We rang up Mr. David and confirmed our arrival by around 8 PM. He guided us correctly to his property. As we checked in we found that, he had instructed his manager to give us the Best rooms - Deluxe rooms, even though we had asked only for a simple and cheap cottage. The day we visited, luckily for us the resort had a big group which checked out and was awaiting another big group. Bottom line, there were not many other occupants that night whom we had to share the common space.

We were escorted to the common party area, where the bearers are prompt to fix a drink for people who need it. Soft music from personal gadgets are allowed as long as you dont disturb the other guests. Even for just 3 of us, they were ready to start a Bon-fire, which we politely refused as we were comfortable otherwise. The Dinner buffet was good too and we enjoyed it.

We slept by around 12, as we had to get up early and continue our drive to Bangalore. The rooms were very comfortable and warm with attached bathrooms and hot water facility. Furnished adequately and clean. As we woke up in the morning by around 6 am, we had some surprise visitors. A herd of 'spotted deer' right outside our cottage, grazing. We spend some time clicking photos and had a walk around the resort. We could appreciate the care and effort the owner and the staff had put in to maintain this place. We had to check out by around 7 am, as we had to reach Bangalore for a lunch meeting that day. As we were not staying for breakfast and lunch, the staff promptly reduced the charges for the same from our total bill, which otherwise in all inclusive.

As we were leaving Bear Mountain Jungle Resort, all 3 of us agreed on one thing; that we have to come back and stay at this place for a longer time.

Nevertheless, I recommend this place as a good night stop over, for groups (family/friends) travelling to Bangalore from Kerala side. You can convert an otherwise boring business trip into a pleasant and memorable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinoblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 126 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Masinagudi is the best place to be if your nature lover and best time to visit the place is monsoon. We were lucky to stay was in the tent rooms. We enjoyed the trekking and saw a waterfall inside the jungle. The food good, a nice buffet for veg and non veg lovers. The place is very close to the jungle. We had were able to see a Cheat during the drive inside the jungle. We even spotted wild dogs, when went for a morning trek nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archana500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Bear Mountain Jungle Resorts is right at the end of the forest and offers breathtaking view of the Nilgiris range. Right in the lap of nature and wilderness, the resort is value for money. The staff is courteous and polite and they make a genuine effort to cater to your needs. The food is buffet spread and is awesome. The rooms are clean and so are the bathrooms with availability of hot water round the clock. The bathrooms are huge. It might be a bit slippery. So be careful.The resort is spread across lush green terrain, dotted with cottages and campsites. Enjoy the bonfire with a drink after dusk. It is a safe place but good to watch out for animals that can come inside. We were quite thrilled with stories of elephants, bears, and even leopards paying a visit to the resort. Unfortunately or fortunately we did not come across any. However, you can spot lot of deer grazing inside the compound or adjoining areas. There are no televisions in the room and that's good actually. No room service and so you need to walk up to the kitchen if you need anything. It's not a hotel in an urban setting. So when in a jungle, step out and walk two steps. The manager is a nice person and has a plethora of experience to narrate. Although we were told that rooms would be available only after one in the afternoon, the manager was able to provide it by morning nine o' clock since some guests had checked out. I have read few reviews of people complaining about the dogs in the campus. The dogs are absolutely harmless and are there for a reason. If you are allergic to dogs, please book your stay somewhere else. If you need anything that's not available in the resort, go to nearby Masinagudi town where there are shops. Do this before evening. Almost all the cottages have hammocks outside. Some of these are too close to the rocks. Be careful and don't hurt yourself by hitting the rocks. For those who want some activity, there's table tennis, carrom, and badminton courts. I guess you might have to carry your own badminton rackets. Not too sure if they have badminton rackets. There is no pool to take a dip but there's a nearby creek where you can step inside. It's about 5 mins. walk from the resort. Overall, a great place to unwind and relax right in the woods. For bookings, contact the owner, Mr. David - 9884050575. Although he wasn't around, he made sure we had a good time.

Room Tip: I guess, taking the mountain facing rooms would be a great idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranadwip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is the perfect place to unwind your soul and very good food served for breakfast, lunch and dinner not a place to stay like a hotel or something so please dont expect much hospitality, staff are helpful when needed otherwise its a very good place to explore the jungle with friends & family and the bathrooms and rooms were very neatly maintained.... best part of the trip was the trekking up the hill it was very challenging and a beautiful view from the hilltop.... :)

Room Tip: Get a cottage by the end of the resort to spot animals easily its a beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ershad94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

For a few days for peace and quiet away from the city we decided to drive 6+ hours to Bear Mountain Jungle Resort. We printed out the map/directions from the Resort website which had no mileage and was not to scale. So it had us quite confused and there werent proper sign boards from Masinagudi to the resort. For the next traveller it would be helpful to know that Mysore to Masinagudi is 100km and then from Masinagudi to Bear Mountain Jungle Resort it is a mere 5km.
The first thought as one maneuvers through the slushy driveway is ‘was the long drive worth it’? But walking through the fairly large premises one realises it is a jungle resort, eco friendly with a lot of effort been put in by the owner, David. The 10 cottages, 5 deluxe cottages and 6 camp sites have been laid out with forethought and planning. The garden has an abundant variety of flowers, shrubs, creepers and trees. Apparently it is not an easy task to grow hybrid flora with elephants, deer and cows strolling into the property as if it were part of the jungle. It is plain to see that David has given a great deal of thought to the layout and landscaping of the resort picking up plants every time he goes out to Ooty, Bangalore, Mysore or Chennai. There is a deep well dug out in one corner which filled up in front of us within 3 days. The water from this well, is utilized for showers, wash basins, toilets and plants. A new 63kva generator provided us a supply of uninterrupted electricity. There are indoor and outdoor (floodlit) games to keep the children occupied. Safaris and treks can be organised at an additional cost. Groceries for the resort are procured locally from Masinagudi, Ooty and Mysore, and 50% of the staff are local while the other half are from other states, chiefly Bengal.
The cottages were average. Large rooms and bathrooms, but rather decadent. Honestly this is not a criticism, since as I said before, it is after all a jungle resort and not one bit easy to maintain. The mattresses and pillows were hard, and the bedcovers made the rooms look dingy and dark. But the bathrooms were clean and there was always a plentiful supply of hot water which made all the difference.
It was plain to see that the resort has a lot of time and attention given to it by the owner, whose pride and joy it is. We would see David and his son all over the place, sometimes assisting the labour in constructing thatch roofs, driving out to get groceries or even preparing the meals. The chief cook was on his annual vacation so David would not hesitate to go into the kitchen and muster up all our meals. He is a good cook and regaled us with interesting stories at mealtime. There was always fresh fruit and different desserts after every meal.
The only disappointment which we found out later, was that our driver was given just rice and sambar for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Not even a cup of tea. Considering we were paying Rs 300 per day for his meals (and there is no village close by where he could go to eat) they could have done better. However, since we were the only guests during the week ,we did ask if he could shack in with the other staff instead of sleeping in the only car in the parking lot in the middle of the jungle, he was given permission.
All in all we had a good break at Bear Mountain Jungle Resort, and I would recommend it for a quiet holiday in the jungle with rooms facing the hills, mist playing hide and seek, deer strolling into the premises and a profusion of flowers and lush green foliage.

Room Tip: a room that faces the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimmie1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I went to stay with my family to the resort based on the feedback on this website. The property is very vast, cottages are good, view of the hill and there are decent amenities. What was missing was the soul. There was hardly a sense of hospitality. You do not feel you are needed there...as if you are a commodity tourist. Not sure if the full occupancy was the result of this.
Directions to this place is really poor from the main road. The contact numbers are not picked and nobody bothers if you have actually reached. Food is very repetitive and especially if you are a veggie, choices get even more narrowed.
I found the nearby resorts of Safari Land, Bamboo Banks and Blue valley were better landscaped and looked more professionally managed. There were no stray dogs there which were in dozens at Bear Mountain and kids were really scared of them.
The experience was not bad but could have been better

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suresh_Kumar_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very peaceful resot, too far from Madumalai.
Food is too expensive without any quality.
Best thing about this resort is it is very peaceful and you can enjoy your stay while playing verious games.
You can spot jungle animals form resort itself.

Room Tip: Please carry torch as no room service is avilable. make arrangement for alternate food for children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cra2719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
0.2 mi away
Jungle Hut
Jungle Hut
#2 of 10 in Masinagudi
564 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
312 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
2.6 mi away
The Nest Inn
The Nest Inn
#7 of 10 in Masinagudi
117 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 3 in Bandipur
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Jungle Resort

Address: Bokkapuram Village, Masinagudi, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range: $54 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bear Mountain Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing