We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easily the best place in Masinagudi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Hills Farm & Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest Hills Farm & Guest House
Ranked #1 of 17 Masinagudi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easily the best place in Masinagudi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Being an avid photographer, I've been to Masinagudi way too many times and stayed at every place that I can think of. Stumbled on this resort after a friend suggested this place. After that first experience, I've never thought of staying at any other place since then in that belt. A true Jungle experience which is right at the foothills of Nilgiri hills. The view from the Machaan is simply breath taking. Loads of wildlife around the resort itself.. The staff is extremely courteous and so are the owners. Food is something to look forward to that that place. 5/5

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sridhar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    53
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
44
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

if you love wild life then this might be a place..There is nothing much to do in maseenagudi except jungle safari..resort has got everything from TT table to lawn tennis court but when in a jungle why to invest time in games...I am not that adventurist else they provide support for trekking..I would prefer going there again but with 6-10 people so that I can have trekking / safari / games and enjoy the resort and maseenagudi to fullest..

We didn't like the food else it was good stay.
More over this place is in jungle with no boundaries so you might spot some wild life in the compound though that is rare scene.

In the safari we spotted herd of elephants , bison and deer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SameerSingh_BNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

It was my first trip with my friends, one of whom has been to Masinagudi atleast twice before. I couldn't have chosen a better weather than this. Cloudy weather, green forest and beautiful peacocks invited us at Mudhumalai, along the road to Masinagudi. We had to take second right after the Essar Petrol Bunk, directions are pretty clear. Just remember 'Forest Hills' is near to 'Jungle Hut' and supposedly the last resort in that direction on the edge of the Jungle. Just a stretch of road from Jungle Hut to Forest Hills is not tarred, however any car can pass thru' this rugged road that stretches for like 300 mts. We spotted some deers on this road.
History behind choosing 'Forest Hills' was that 'Jungle Hut' do not entertain group of boys, even though i tried convincing them that we were a decent bunch :-). Anyways it turned out to be a blessing in disguise as we found this rustic & serene place with Nilgiris Mountain in its backdrop, all for ourself. Yes, we had been there on 7th, Friday as Saturday was full and found that the we were the only one. So this resort, all its facilities were for us alone for a day. Awesome isn't it.
We stayed in Family cottage as its a 4 bedded room with 2 toilets. The room was clean. We were asked wen we would like to have our lunch, and were served at that time in the dining area. The lunch was ok, with hot chapathi, rice, sambar, some veg curry, chicken gravy and curd. No desert though, lil disappointed for the price we paid for lunch. However, after lunch since we were the only guest, the manager Mr. Radhakrishnan spent some time with us talking to us about the place, his experience and some history. Guess that was complementary :-). On a serious note that was some information, he has stayed n worked there for 17 years now, and he sure knows the place and its happenings. Spotted giant Malabar Squirrel there, seems its a resident there.
After our lunch, we played some games. They have a TT table, Badminton court, volleyball court, which can be used for cricket as well. After that had our tea and decided to go on safari on our own car. The reason being they do not have permission for a safari into the forest. Their safari is to take u on their jeep toward the Masinagudi-Theppakadu road, which i thought could be done on my car itself. Infact Mr Radhakrishnan suggested that if we drive to this place and we should be able spot few animals. So at 5 we drove back on the same direction we took to come to this resort. It started drizzling a bit and surprise surprise the beautiful Peacocks came visiting us all along the stretch of the road. We spotted a gang of bold Bisons. Wow these arent intimidated by anything and are one tough looking animal. Then there was an encounter with a young Elephant which was all ready to shoo us away wen we stopped to take a picture. It was worth a drive in the end. Also the beautiful mountains wearing a cloud hat was picturesque in itself.
At dinner, we had special menu as requested, since we were the only guests there. It was delicious and wholesome unlike lunch and we did eat really well that night. We ate special egg dish, compliments to the chef, it was nothing like what i had eaten before. He was generous enough to share the recipe with us, which i tested yesterday and impressed my wifey ;-). After dinner we heard from the guys working there that an elephant had walked inside the property the previous night. And they warned us against walking outside our room at night as they were expecting the Jumbo to come visiting that night. One person walked out with his high beam torch to check if they were any outside. He asked me to join him in the search and I happily accepted and walked with him. He first lit up fire outside and explained that the smoke would chase the jumbo back into the forest. He shared wild animal behaviors and his encounters with the wild ones with me during our walk. Then we walked to some room outside the property fence to check for any elephant as it was spotted at that very place 2 nights before. While searching, he showed me some deers that were sleeping. He also showed few wild rabbits during this jumbo hunt. It was an awesome experience to be in the wild at night. As we found no elephant around we returned and I went to sleep with the thrill and excitement of being out in the forest at night and having seen some animals on our way.
Next morning me n friends went walking inside the forest, not too deep though. We didn't find any animals but the chirping of the birds, the beautiful mountains, the green trees and the air had captured my heart. Hey, did I say I didn't see animals, sorry since its a common site here I might have missed to mention it. Yes i spotted an herd of omnipresent deers, just outside the resort gate.
All in all, a true jungle experience here at Forest Hills. Great location, good food, wonderful service, clean rooms in a good managers hand. This place is indeed a nature lovers paradise. But i have to warn you, this isn't for fainthearted. Have to say living at such a close proximity to the jungle was an experience in itself, will be back soon and yes on a weekday :-)

Room Tip: - Choose the tree house and machaan if ur not fainthearted. - Visit on a weekday when there are les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanardhanRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Visited the Forest Hills Farm and Guest House with my family in the month of May 2013. A good resort to relax in, enjoy the forces of nature. A morning trek yielded no sighting of wild life but the walk and climb uphill in itself was invigorating. The customary trip in a van through the Mudumalai jungle and we saw plenty of elephants, deer, some bison and peacocks. Alas, no tigers were sighted.
Food at the resort was steeply priced but tasted excellent. Kids did get a bit restive after a day, there is a small play area with a slide, swing and see-saw and a TT table, with an outdoor badminton court. Planned an impromptu day trip to Ooty to keep them interested. Rooms were basic but clean. Does tend to get warm during the afternoon in May, no A/C but fans help a bit.
Excitement on the 2nd night of our stay, a tusker came by within 10 feet of our room and started tearing down a tree!

Room Tip: The Panther hut is good , so is the tree house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I frequently do hiking and trekking to the jungles in the Southern part of India,
since about three decades. Had been to almost the whole stretch of Western Ghats
starting from it's southern end at Tamilnadu, Kerala and up to the jungles in Karnataka
further north. Have stayed in caves, in tribal hutments and have slept on bare planar rocks
at night, roofed by the star-studded sky. Most of those places are accessible only by foot
and it takes about two days walk to reach, and another two days to return; not to mention the days in between for rest. A rare sighting or a risky encounter is worth the strains, efforts and pains that you undergo. It also depends on your luck, and of course bad luck if you run into danger. The compromises so demands that you have to sacrifice the much needed items like cameras, lenses and related accessories and just care about your own protection and basic necessities.

Basic necessities itself is a luxury in the jungles. Pure drinking water, a roof and bed is
great luxury. It doesn't make sense if you expect five star facilities for shelter and obstinately expect wild animals whenever you wish you could see them.
Don't expect a tiger to ring your door bell and visit you, even if you are staying in core tiger area.'Unusual' is precious and an unexpected lucky spotting is what that makes a sighting so valuable. Else, it is like visiting a zoo or circus.

From my experience, Forest Hills is one of the the best places in South India, to try your luck in wild life sightings. It provides you all the luxuries that you really can have in the wild, and the people who run it are all keen to help and cater to your needs. Be patient and quiet; you don't need a safari, animals will come right where you are.
Herds of elephants roam around the premises and stroll right through the property day and night.I saw a couple of sloth bears very close. Spotted deer, wild boars, jungle fowl, peafowl are regular visitors to the property. With abundant, varied bird activity all around, it is also a birdwatcher's paradise. All you have to do is to remain calm and quiet and observe everything around with patience. A slight sound can spoil your chances of a rare sighting, not to mention loud talk, laughter and music.
I request you not to visit this place if your kind of fun means noise, loud music, boozing
and dance. With wild animals on the prowl around, keen observation is what that counts. If your
senses are dull your chances of sightings are dim.

I stayed at the machaan which is not meant to accommodate more than two people. It is cozy
and tidy and has a small attached bathroom. Water is aplenty and even hot water is available.
The rooftop acts as a watch tower from where you can have a wonderful view of the surroundings and afar. The two tree houses have a common porch and is ideal for two pair of couples or a family of five members. The rooms named "Tusker' and 'Panther' are large , is well located and offers a wonderful view from the porch.
The food served as buffet is sumptuous and excellent. The management and staff are keen to help and hell bent on making you comfortable. It is not safe to move around at dusk and dawn and don't even think about it at night. Though intercom is provided in the room, better have the
manager's mobile phone number as an alternative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnujNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Pros:-
Excellent location, at the foothills. Huge Place
stayed in bamboo cottage and they were spacious & clean
Staff is very courteous. They very well accomodated our special requests with food as we travelled with infant

Cons:-
Food was pretty decent, but for the limited buffet menu, felt it was pricey!

Room Tip: bamboo cottages are pretty good and economical
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manoj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed there as part of a G adventure tour. As it was late in the season there were only three of us. At first we were given the huts, which are nothing more than shacks and need demolishing. We complained to our guide who got us 'upgraded' to rooms we should have been give in the first place since we were practically the only guests. The food was awful, soup was a mere stock cube, the main course meal was just average but the worst was the awful brown slop served for dessert, which was meant to be a chocolate something, but was literally inedible.
The owner in my opinion has missed the whole ethos of the area, was making ash trays out of tiger pug casts.
Torn sheets and pillow cases.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the shacks..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glamgran56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
0.5 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
7.4 mi away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 2 in Bandipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Jungle Retreat
Jungle Retreat
#1 of 30 in Masinagudi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jungle Trailz
Jungle Trailz
#2 of 17 in Masinagudi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Rock Jungle Living
De Rock Jungle Living
#8 of 10 in Masinagudi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hills Farm & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hills Farm & Guest House

Property: Forest Hills Farm & Guest House
Address: Bokkapuram, Mudumalai Tiger Reserve | The Nilgiris, Masinagudi 643223, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Masinagudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Forest Hills Farm & Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Hills Farm & Guesthouse is a family run rustic theme resort tucked in a secluded part of the Nilgiris in south India. With Mudumalai Tiger Reserve and Bandipur Tiger Reserve a hop away, this region offers opportunities to explore the un-spoilt forests and visit the resident wildlife. Time takes a break here in the deep reaches of nature. Accommodation includes double-occupancy rooms, a family cottage, deluxe rooms, bamboo huts, two tree houses and a Machaan, all non-a/c. The rooms are cozily furnished with modern conveniences. The cuisine is delightfully tasty homemade food. It is a charming mix of old-fashioned hospitality and contemporary amenities typical of colonial bungalows. The 'Machaan' or Watchtower, built on stilts at the edge of the property, has Wild Dogs, Asiatic Elephants, Leopards, Gaur, Sloth Bear as visitors. Set in a breathtakingly beautiful valley with the wooded mountains forming a majestic backdrop, the dawn and dusk here is adorned with over a hundred species of birds. Herds of spotted deer are commonly seen grazing in and around the place. True to its name, Forest Hills gives you a combined experience of both the forest and the Nilgiris (blue mountains). Step out of the city and immerse in the sounds and visuals offered by nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Forest Hills Farm & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing