We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing forest experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest Hills Farm & Guest House
Ranked #1 of 20 Masinagudi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing forest experience”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Pros:-
Excellent location, at the foothills. Huge Place
stayed in bamboo cottage and they were spacious & clean
Staff is very courteous. They very well accomodated our special requests with food as we travelled with infant

Cons:-
Food was pretty decent, but for the limited buffet menu, felt it was pricey!

Room Tip: bamboo cottages are pretty good and economical
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manoj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    55
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed there as part of a G adventure tour. As it was late in the season there were only three of us. At first we were given the huts, which are nothing more than shacks and need demolishing. We complained to our guide who got us 'upgraded' to rooms we should have been give in the first place since we were practically the only guests. The food was awful, soup was a mere stock cube, the main course meal was just average but the worst was the awful brown slop served for dessert, which was meant to be a chocolate something, but was literally inedible.
The owner in my opinion has missed the whole ethos of the area, was making ash trays out of tiger pug casts.
Torn sheets and pillow cases.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the shacks..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glamgran56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Tree house and Maachan is so well placed in this resort, if lucky you can see some wild animals wonder around. the best part about this place is the calmness, for a nature lover like me, it a place away from all the traffic and noises. The rooms and bathrooms are clean although cant expect it to be very spacious and cant expect all facilities like a room in any concrete building. If you are willing to compromise for some facilities and experience wild go for this.

Food at the place was delicious and well served. there is badminton and table tennis table for other activities. people at the resort are very friendly.

We did get to visit a place called Mark's place.We could see a wild elephant from less than 5ft away from us.amazing Experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PramodhJayaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Good jungle experience.avg food..but value for money..offer good trekking option..excellent place for birding & photographing forest birds..have been to this place 3rd time..machan house is good experience..decent host..not many options for those who are not wildlife enthusiasts..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naren_raykar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here with a G adventures tour... My husband wanted the tree house. This place is in the centre of the tiger reserve. There are wild animals everywhere - great experience!! We were told that if we stayed in the tree house You MUST NOT leave it during the night (wild animals can eat you) and if you had any problems call and the staff would help. That was explained to us during the day when we arrived. OK.. we dropped off our bags and went out on a safari by jeep!
We got to see wild animals - it was pretty great!
We came back to a feast of amazing Indian food. Best food ever! We all really enjoyed Dinner.
After Dinner we were driven out to the tree house then told to run up the stairs and latch the gate. Which we did. : )
4 of us sat out on the little porch on an old sofa and listened to the wild animals around us. We could tonnes! Even Hyenas - pretty cool!!
BUT Suddenly we heard a large noise in our room..... when I went inside I saw a huge rat climb up the tree and squeeze thru a hole in the roof that the tree went thru. There was rat poop on the bed and on the floor. YUCK. I know.... we are in the middle of a game reserve... so a rat is one of the safer animals to encounter but I don't want to see it in my room. And now there is rat poop on the bed. Where we would put our heads. Yuck. So I went to call for fresh blankets ... AND THE PHONE DIDN'T WORK!! The other couple that were there tried to use their phone - IT DIDN'T work either! So if we were told to call if we had any problems with wild animals.. and our phones don't work.... I was NOT impressed. I don't think that's safe to stick people in a tree in the middle of a wildlife reserve with no way to call for help. (tigers can climb trees)
But it gets better.. Then I went to clean up the poop and found we had no water!! We couldn't shower, brush our teeth or flush the toilet or clean up the poop from the sheets.
Needless to say we weren't happy. We slept with all the lights on... So the rat would hopefully NOT come back. we had to take off the blanket that the rat pooped on and use only a sheet and we slept with our heads to the bottom of the bed. I was not sleeping with my head where the rat pooped. We could not use their pillows either (pooped on).
I was so tired in the morning. I don't know how much I slept. I skipped the morning walk because I was o not in the mood after our night..
When we got back to the main part of the guest house.. everyone else seemed to have had a great nights sleep. People were happy and Breakfast was really good. But I was so tired and miserable that I think I missed out a bit.
We saw a few of the other rooms... we were there with a group of 16 people. Their rooms looked really nice. One of our friends had 2 bathrooms in his room.
So I wouldn't recommend the tree house to stay in... but I will let you decide since there were some good moments listening to the animals. Another cool thing - in the morning monkeys were playing on our roof of the treehouse.. - very cool!
When we told the tour guide about our night he talked with the manager who stated "they didn't tell us" - but how could we tell them when the phones didn't work and we were forbidden to leave the tree house after dark - since we could have run into wild animals. I am just glad that we didn't have something more serious happen with a wild animal and NOT be able to call for help.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

By Far the Worst managed Place I have ever seen and had to stay at.Torn sheets, towel racks falling off in the bathroom, hot water does not last for more than 5 mins. You might be better of camping at one of the nearby resorts than stay at this run down place. Have to admit that some of the staff working there were very courteous but management needs to get their act together, very sly folks.
If anyone decides to stay here anyway make sure you have something in writing about the prices for the rooms and any other incidental charges....if not you could be in for a Big surprise at checkout.

Room Tip: Try Jungle Hut that`s nearby - much better food and service. Place is well managed and management is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pgd77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Superb location and ambiance, away from the concrete jungles, situated in the 'real' jungle! Breathtaking natural beauty of the forests and lots of wild life around. Kids never felt a moment of boredom due to the many games within the premises. Well made rooms with neat beds and linen (but the doors and windows could do with a little maintenance work) with hot water supply in the bath. No room service. All guests assemble at the common outside dining for food. A good social gathering. Home made food (really delicious) to cater to all palates. Above all, the warmth shown by the hostess and the caretaker Mr. Radhakrishnan, who sees to all your needs to keep you comfy.

Keep it up! really worth a visit again.

Room Tip: For a family, the family room near the dining area would be ideal, with a double bed, sofa and a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelvthEase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
0.2 mi away
Jungle Hut
Jungle Hut
#2 of 10 in Masinagudi
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
298 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,015 reviews
8.4 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
996 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jungle Retreat
Jungle Retreat
#1 of 31 in Masinagudi
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hills Farm & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hills Farm & Guest House

Property: Forest Hills Farm & Guest House
Address: Bokkapuram, Mudumalai Tiger Reserve | The Nilgiris, Masinagudi 643223, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Masinagudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Forest Hills Farm & Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Hills Farm & Guesthouse is a family run rustic theme resort tucked in a secluded part of the Nilgiris in south India. With Mudumalai Tiger Reserve and Bandipur Tiger Reserve a hop away, this region offers opportunities to explore the un-spoilt forests and visit the resident wildlife. Time takes a break here in the deep reaches of nature. Accommodation includes double-occupancy rooms, a family cottage, deluxe rooms, bamboo huts, two tree houses and a Machaan, all non-a/c. The rooms are cozily furnished with modern conveniences. The cuisine is delightfully tasty homemade food. It is a charming mix of old-fashioned hospitality and contemporary amenities typical of colonial bungalows. The 'Machaan' or Watchtower, built on stilts at the edge of the property, has Wild Dogs, Asiatic Elephants, Leopards, Gaur, Sloth Bear as visitors. Set in a breathtakingly beautiful valley with the wooded mountains forming a majestic backdrop, the dawn and dusk here is adorned with over a hundred species of birds. Herds of spotted deer are commonly seen grazing in and around the place. True to its name, Forest Hills gives you a combined experience of both the forest and the Nilgiris (blue mountains). Step out of the city and immerse in the sounds and visuals offered by nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Forest Hills Farm & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing