We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay in Masinagudi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest Hills Farm & Guest House
Ranked #1 of 20 Masinagudi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Average stay in Masinagudi”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Forest Hills farm and Guest House is an average option for stay in Masinagudi. It is within the forest and tuskers tend to walk in and out at will and that perhaps makes it a bit unsafe.
The rooms looked a bit run down too. The family running the place were most accommodative and helpful and the food was excellent but on the whole an average experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    55
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place is truly a home in the jungle! The rooms are nice and neat, the folks there are very helpful. The food is simple and homelike. The prices are affordable. They have a common eating place and have a bonfire very evening, don't miss this part.
For kids there is a nice play area and they will for sure enjoy this!

Room Tip: please book in advance if you wnat to stay in the tree house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were a group of 10 ( Family, friends and a kid) and since we all wanted to stay together so we were looking forward for a nice-clean-dormetry. Called Mr Radhakrishna a day before our trip (24th evening) and checked if rooms were available. He said it was and asked us to drop in directly - dint really have to make any prior booking or pay any advance (best part I must say).
we did have some other places in mind so visited a couple of other resorts.. but narrowed down to this one : this place was lot more greener, the dorm was perfect - had 10 clean beds and 2 personal bathrooms, very close to the dining area and the play area as well as the bon-fire.. was a perfect combination of home in the woods..
The food was prepared fresh.. just for us.. and was DELICIOUS! all the 3 meals were relished by every single person!
Mr.Radhakrishna was very hospitable and is a great artist too!
Though it was off season - we spotted hundreds of birds - was a bird paradise indeed.. a small water spot for birds and animals is a good thought.. there was a machan - which is accessible to all and has bean bags and some nice benches to sit and enjoy the view!
To summarize.. we had a ball... we not only were close to nature but had the best food and played baddy,volley ball, TT and lots of place for group games as well.. :)
Perfect for couples.. family or friends... coz we had a mixture of all when we stayed..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PallaviMahapatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Experience was great in the tree house. It was like childhood dream of having a tree house but with all home like comfort. Food was also excellent but equally pricey as our stay. As in the jungle there is no other way out than eating where you stay, one has to spend whatever the resort can provide. So be prepared to spend twice the amount you might have planned for your food expenditures. Thought April was not a good time to go, our stay was good.

Room Tip: Tree house or Manchan is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madhumita19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

A weekend trip with friends to masinagudi and we booked this place after a feedback from my wife's cousin's who are a regular here. The tree house was not available, so we setteled for the standard rooms in the main building. On the day of travel we informed Mr Radhakrishnan in the morning that we would be late for lunch and wouldnt opt for it. By the time we reached it was 3PM and we didnt get a chance to grab any lunch enroute. This were Mr Radhakrishnan our cordial host was accomoditave enough to provide us lunch at the nth minute. We checked into our rooms in the main building. The rooms were big enough and the bathrooms even bigger. We were kind of comfortable with the accomodation. We lazed around for a while, took a stroll in the resort and visited the tree house and Machaan. The Machaan is a splendid option with closed room in the 1st level and an open watch tower in the upper level with bedding options. We had our handsful with the estate dogs Zoo Zoo (Lab) and Nuttu (Pug) the latter being very agile and naughty. The dinner was a huge affair with lot of things on the menu, we being strict veggies stuck to the basics. At about 1 AM in the night we had a good sighting of Chital deers right in front our rooms. Early morning next day at around 6 AM, I along with a friend, decided to take a stroll. As we reached the tree house again, to our amazement, a leapord hopped, skipped and jumped in to the jungle. It was a matter of few seconds, but what a sighting. We were glad that we took the stroll. We teased the others who were still lazing around in the bed to have missed that sight. So after a stumptuous breakfast (which was the best serving of the three meals ) we had to bid adieu to the place and embarked on our return journey to bangalore. The only downside during our trip - A large group of travellers who were very noisy after being sloshed.Overall a very nice place for those who love to be closeer to nature.

Room Tip: For the adventurous ones Machaan and Tree house are the best options. You are at the edge of the jun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfreakarvind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We (my hubby and myself) had a sudden plan of visiting Masinagudi. I had read good reviews about this resort. But, I must mention that the experience was much better than I expected it to be (from the reviews)! To start with, the resort is situated in the core jungle area, just in the foothills of the beautiful Nilgiris. The approach road to the resort is not a tar road and it’s muddy & you would have a bumpy ride. But, I would say that makes the experience more real & interesting :-) We could spot a herd of Deer just around the entrance of the resort. As soon as we reached, we met the Manager Mr. Radhakrishnan. We were really impressed by his hospitality. Even the other staffs were so sweet & eager to help and serve us with anything we needed, even though we had language issues for communicating with them. The place looked beautiful, huge open area, so green, so calm and peaceful…untouched nature....It’s a treat to the eyes & ears! We were the only guest as it was a weekday. We had booked a Tree House. One of the staffs showed us the way to our tree house, which was in a secluded place, away from the main Reception/Dining/Other rooms. I just loved the look of it. So rustic, cozy and simple yet has all that you require and very neat & clean (most imp). It has a common sit out for both tree houses. The view was good…almost bordering the jungle. We were advised by Mr. Radha not to loaf around on foot after dark as the animals come out in that area frequently (specially elephants). The experience in the tree house at night was awesome (and a bit scary too!). Pitch dark outside from our window...we could only see the white cloud near the hills and it was so silent that we could hear each and every sound so clearly…..diff animals, birds, trees/leaves moving in the wind and even a single drop of rain falling on the roof of our tree house. Lit’ late at night, there was an elephant near out tree house, trumpeting for sometime! We maintained silence and after a while, he did the same....thankfully!! :-) Machan next to the tree house also has a great view & more elevated for animal sighting. So, staying at Tree House or Machan is highly recommended. Coming to the food, we loved it. Good quality, non oily food and very tasty, felt like home made food. They also made tea/coffee/pakodas whenever we asked for it. Sat night campfire & barbecue was fun. We also met Zuzu, a golden Labrador who is the owner's dog. Very friendly and cute. We had a great time playing with him. Mr. radha arranged for the Jeep Safari as well as the Govt Van Safari. We had a great time listening to the interesting incidents about his wild life experiences & attacks and how he escaped! He's very helpful, friendly and made our stay very comfortable. In all, a excellent accomodation in Masinagudi and we would definitely love to come back.

Room Tip: Tree House & Machan - for wildlife lovers The Double Bed Room (1st Floor, Main Reception area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debrupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We did this trip on 30Jun12 wknd.. about 16 of us + 4 kids.. and what good time.. must totally admit.. the "good" part was because of the Forest Hills resort and the hospitality shown by the manager Mr Radhakrishnan and support team - Mahadevan and Veeranna..
Location and reach to the resort:
The location of the resort by itself is soo beautiful, its right in the forest at the foothills of Niligiris, infact few of their cottages are right by the jungle entrance where you can spot deers, elephants, bison and if your lucky.. some wild animals too. The path to the entrance of the reosrt is rocky, shaky, adventurous.. but what the heck.. werent we going to a jungle anyways.. its probably about 1 or 1.5 kms only for this rocky stretch.. which one can do in any car.. doesnt have to be a SUV or a MUV.. and once you arrive at the resort gate.. the road does get a little better. Overall, you wouldnt be disappointed once you digress away from the regular tar road to a shake yourself on a rocky road right upto entering the resort. And yes.. watch for animals.. we spotted atleast about 50 deers between the tar road to the entrance of the resort.
Accommodation and food:
We had taken a mix of all the rooms they had.. standard rooms, bamboo huts, tree house and the machaan. Standard rooms are more like our regular hotel rooms which are in the main building itself. These rooms are really large and have attached private balconies by the entrance. Bamboo Huts are spread across the property but close to the main building. These huts too have private spaces by their entrance doors and the interiors are basic and comfortable.One can spot deers and bears from few of the bamboo huts. Tree Houses and Machaan are literally by the forest entrance and a "must-stay" cottages. At night times, its recommended to drive to these cottages rather than walk as there will be deers, elephants or bisons around. We were lucky enough to spot only deers and a bison. Both these category of cottages are good for 2adults + 1 child accommodation but not 3 adults as it could be a little congested. The interiors are again basic, rustic and comfortable. The Machaan has a watchtower by the top.. and what a place to spend there.. calm, serene & beautiful. The girls were a bit scared to spend the nite there but we were on the watch tower at about 12:30am and felt good with the experience there. Carry some drinks and spend the nite on the watch tower.. worth the experience. We dint find any reason to complain about any of the cottages we took. All cottages had clean pillows, bedsheets and blankets.We infact had 4 kids less than 5 yrs age and we had no problems in using what they've provided. And now to the bathrooms of all the cottages.. they were clean, dry and well maintained. We were provided complimentary soaps and clean towels (which I dint expect from a resort at that price).
Food - we hogged.. call it tasty or hunger.. we hogged! On a serious note though, there was a good spread, food was tasty, served hot. They have timings they stick to but are flexible based on request. Oveall food was good.. no disappointed there either. There is mineral water available in the resort and in the cottages.. so you dont need to end up carrying bottles n bottles of water.
Activities:
There are a lot of things you can do in the resort itself, play volleyball, throwball, tennis, cricket, cards, etc. And for kids, the are the usual swings, slide, see-saw, etc. And for the adventorous ones, I recommend the early morning trek with the guide they provide. This is a charged service. We started our trek at 6:30am and returned at 9am. We werent as lucky to spot wild animals, but spotted foot prints of a leopard & bear. There is no specific trail on the trek, but the guides are well versed with the path and can direct you well enough. And yes, before I forget, we spotted a bison skull which Im told was killed by a leopard/tiger few months back. The saddistic guys we are, ended up taking pics with the bison skull..
Final Verdict:
Nice place, good resort, awesome location, there werent any power cuts, no mosquitoes, helpful and warm people, clean and neat accommodation, tasty food, good amount of activities, free visit of wild animals.. and some adventurous times.. what more can you ask. I totally recommend Forest Hills resort.

Room Tip: Choose the Machaan or the Treehouses
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VishalSrirama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
0.2 mi away
Jungle Hut
Jungle Hut
#2 of 10 in Masinagudi
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
300 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,015 reviews
8.4 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
996 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jungle Retreat
Jungle Retreat
#1 of 31 in Masinagudi
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hills Farm & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hills Farm & Guest House

Property: Forest Hills Farm & Guest House
Address: Bokkapuram, Mudumalai Tiger Reserve | The Nilgiris, Masinagudi 643223, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Masinagudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Forest Hills Farm & Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Hills Farm & Guesthouse is a family run rustic theme resort tucked in a secluded part of the Nilgiris in south India. With Mudumalai Tiger Reserve and Bandipur Tiger Reserve a hop away, this region offers opportunities to explore the un-spoilt forests and visit the resident wildlife. Time takes a break here in the deep reaches of nature. Accommodation includes double-occupancy rooms, a family cottage, deluxe rooms, bamboo huts, two tree houses and a Machaan, all non-a/c. The rooms are cozily furnished with modern conveniences. The cuisine is delightfully tasty homemade food. It is a charming mix of old-fashioned hospitality and contemporary amenities typical of colonial bungalows. The 'Machaan' or Watchtower, built on stilts at the edge of the property, has Wild Dogs, Asiatic Elephants, Leopards, Gaur, Sloth Bear as visitors. Set in a breathtakingly beautiful valley with the wooded mountains forming a majestic backdrop, the dawn and dusk here is adorned with over a hundred species of birds. Herds of spotted deer are commonly seen grazing in and around the place. True to its name, Forest Hills gives you a combined experience of both the forest and the Nilgiris (blue mountains). Step out of the city and immerse in the sounds and visuals offered by nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Forest Hills Farm & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing