We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath of fresh air”
Review of T'Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
T'Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Kuala Besut B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Breath of fresh air”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel was a lovely surprise for us, having been led by our outdated Lonely Planet Guide to believe that there were only 2 major hotels in Kuala Besut, neither of which sounded very appealing. This one, built in Feb 2012 right on the little town square was a delight after roughing it in Ipoh and Penang. We paid 120rm for a huge family room with 2 Queen beds, a good hot shower and wifi. Bedding was lovely white crisp linen and the floors were nice wooden. Only weird thing was the fridge: the plug was too short to connect to the power supply so why bother having it?

Staff were nice and friendly with our kids.

We plan to return there after our trip to Perhentian.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
18
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel is the best you can find in Kuala Besut. This is not the place where you want to stay for two weeks. But if you have to wait for the ferry and want a nice clean room were you can have a good night sleep the T-logde is the best option.
Nice clean rooms for a reasonable price whit a clean bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dnies1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Nice cozy room that is well lit and very clean with 2 large beds. You get hot shower, aircon, and cable TV for 80 Malaysian Ringgit a night. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. As my friends an I werent able to get a taxi to Jerteh town, the owner offered to ferry us in his own car for free. I dont think you can get this kind of customer service elsewhere. Excellent customer service so highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasperSWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I found T'Lodge on Aagoda, and not anywhere else back in March - in fact I think it has only been open since the start of the year. All the reviews of other hotels in Kuala Besut hadn't filled me with great hope, so I thought I'd try this place - despite there being just one review - and I'm glad I did!
It is located about 5 minutes from the jetty at Kuala Besut on the square with the taxi rank. The lady on the desk didn't have great english, but enough to get by (although she had no idea where the nearest cash point is - (it's about a 10 minute walk - don't get a cab like we did, it's not worth it)).
We arrived late on a train and got a cab from Tanah Merah to Kuala Besut and dashed out for something to eat as everywhere was closing. The Chinese place diagonally opposite was great - they'd practically closed by the time we arrived, but made sure we could get some food, by leaving their own meals and serving us - really cheap, very tasty and served beer - just want we needed after 10 hours on a train.
The room had two enormous (unnecessarily so) beds, and a spotless bathroom, as well as a flat screen tv, aircon and fan. For 80 RM it seemed pretty reasonable for it's location and the quality of the room.
The only down side was breakfast in the cafe next door in the morning - don't bother! Although not linked to T'Lodge as far as I can tell, I think all the westerners eat there as it's handy. Go to the jetty, or indeed anywhere else - coffee was horrible, as was the breakfast - and it was pricey too!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuala Besut
3.9 mi away
Tok Aman Bali Beach Resort
Tok Aman Bali Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Pasir Puteh
124 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Manor Beach Resort Besut
The Manor Beach Resort Besut
#1 of 9 in Kuala Besut
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
IZ Budget
IZ Budget
#4 of 6 in Kuala Besut
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
615 reviews
2.3 mi away
Permata Guesthouse
Permata Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Kuala Besut
1 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'Lodge

Property: T'Lodge
Address: No. 1A Perkedaian 2 Tingkat, Kuala Besut 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Besut District > Kuala Besut
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Besut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — T'Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your T'Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing