We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach, nice place to stay and very nice staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lemongrass Chalets & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Besut
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lemongrass Chalets & Restaurant
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice beach, nice place to stay and very nice staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We arrived in the morning around 7.30AM, and it was so nice to have a room an hour later. The bungalow itself is very basic: a bed, mosquito net, a small table, and outside you have two chairs and a hammock. Toilets and showers are shared, basic and ok. Breakfast was great: you should try the French toast or the nasi lemak. You have power from 10.00AM till 3.00PM, from 7.00PM till 7.00AM (approximately), which is more than enough. You can watch National Geographic and Discovery during the lunch break, You can rent stuff to go snorkelling.. And the boss takes you to the sharks in the afternoon. We thought the staff was really great, we talked pretty much with them and liked the food and the drinks. We paid 60 during weekdays, and 80 during days in the weekend. There is also a snorkelling trip, which is really nice as well. If you're coming to this spot: this is the best place to stay! Definitely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judithvanderpeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    5
    0
    6
See reviews for
2
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The bungalows are very simple with shards bathroom but clean and cozy. A very good choice for backpackers. Sin, the owner, is so nice and gentle. He took us out snorkeling to se reef sharks without charging us anything. We only paid to rent the gear. He is so happy and helpful, defiantly one of the reasons our stay here was so nice! I'd defiantly stay here if I come back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaOliviia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed in Matahari chalet air cond room for 2 nights and finally moved to Lemon Grass for the 3rd night which make me feel that i should move in earlier! The owner is nice and he offer to check the cabins before decide to stay for a night. There is a shared bathroom and toilet in the garden and basically the environment is clean. The electricity is just available at night, however, you can relax on the hammock outside the cabin. It is cool enough to relax and enjoying the sea breeze in the afternoon. The cabins have a flat rate and it is the cheapest accomodation at Long beach. Currently the chalet's restaurant is out of order but there are restaurants and cafe at the middle of Long beach. There is also a shop outside the chalet, where the mineral water is cheaper compared to others.

Room Tip: The chalet located at the corner of Long beach which is quieter and more peaceful. The price is a al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShiewHoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

When we arrived, we only intended to stay for a few days, but ended up there for nearly two weeks. Lemon Grass is a relatively rustic place to stay, but is perfect for the budget conscious backpacker. The cabins are basic, not much more than a bed with a mosquito net, but they are very clean and have fans & electricity during the evening hours. They also have good sized patios with a hammock and chairs for chilling outside. The bathrooms are shared and only have cold water, but in the Perhentians cold water is all you need! The location is nice, it is located right on the beach is far enough away from the bars that the noise at night is manageable (you can still hear the music till about 5:00am, but on Long Beach, there is no way to avoid that). The restaurant is also a good option for breakfast or lunch - great roti canai and french fries.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamborres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed there for three night and even though the bungalow are very basic, I found the staff very nice, the owner offered me to show me the baby sharks and kindly told me where to go snorkeling, he also keeps the garden very clean for you to enjoy a better view on the beach.

Shared bathroom are also basic but kept clean.
For the price, on this island, I think it is totally worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gawelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Not sure if it was laying on my hammock on the front porch of my bungalow with a sea view, the king size bed, the afternoon snorkeling trips with the owner, the great roti canai for breakfast, the perfect location tucked into the quiet side of Long Beach, the amazing other travelers I met, or the proximity to the candle light beach bars, but this was one of the best places I stayed in all of Asia. I have been traveling for the 3 years around the world and this was the best place to rest before my long journey home.

Room Tip: Book early because this place fills up and the rest of the budget choices on the island can't to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TannerPuckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

So dirty, unconfortable and the staff (owner) unfriendly,rude and just cares about money!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ConxiPoveda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Besut hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuala Besut
1.1 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#5 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#4 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alunan Resort
Alunan Resort
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
Ombak Resort Perhentian Island
#4 of 15 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemongrass Chalets & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemongrass Chalets & Restaurant

Property: Lemongrass Chalets & Restaurant
Address: Lot 41 Pasir Panjang, Pulau Perhentian Kecil, Kuala Besut 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Besut District > Kuala Besut
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Besut
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing