We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best located hotels in Kamala.”
Review of Kamala Dreams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kamala Dreams
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Dymchurch, Kent, UK.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best located hotels in Kamala.”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Mine hosts Jan & Duan helped make our stay most enjoyable.
My wife uses a wheelchair and there are not very many places which are wheelchair-friendly. We occupied a ground floor room with direct access to the pool and, apart from a small bridge, direct access to the beach as well. There were two steps to navigate from the restaurant area to our room ( one more to access the room) and two steps from the pool area to get to the beach. As an able-bodied person, this provided me with no problem in manoeuvring my wife, in the wheelchair, throughout the premises. This hotel cannot be described as disabled accessible. However, as long as there is an able-bodied person to assist, it should present no trouble at all, and by no means marred the enjoyment of our stay which, incidentally was in excess of 7 weeks!
The room was very spacious,as was the bed (bigger than a king-size), Very clean with maid service daily and bed linen frequently changed.
The beach is about a mile or so long and much quieter than Patong.
There is no shortage of eateries and bars etc. I can highly recommend "Oh-La-La" on the main road.
On the down side, I suppose some might think Kamala Dreams is an expensive place to stay, bearing in mind that it is not a 5 star hotel. However, I think it is fairly priced, we negotiated a very good rate for our long stay, and it is in an extremely convenient location. One does not get that for free!
All-in-all it is a very pleasant and conveniently located place to stay which I would not hesitate to recommend to fellow-travellers. The hotel only has about 18 rooms, was not occupied with noisy guests during our stay, and is in a very nice village, a far cry from the hustle and bustle of Patong.

Room Tip: Ground floor if disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    54
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
46
68
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

I spent 12 days at this delightful little hotel. Big clean rooms, great location, and one of the best restaurants in the area.
The owners, Jan and Dua, are friendly and helpful. Nothing was a problem. It felt like a home away from home, even at the height of the tourist season. I need rest and relaxation, and that's exactly what I got. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dantheman1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I stayed in Kamala dreams in Feb2011. It was an enjoyable experience. Small, clean, quite, un-intrusive, unpretentious and lovely place where you feel quite at home. Good restaurant with excellent sea food. They were able to offer me an early check in and a very late checkout. I enjoyed my stay. And I would he happy to recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NarayananManoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed in Kamala Dreams for 2 nights. The rooms are spacious and clean, but also very expensive for what you get for Thailand principles. We stayed in much nicer accomodation in Phuket for almost half ot this money (same holiday). The room price was even higher than the very fancy and luxury resorts we stayed in during this holiday. Plus the supervisor of the staff was extremely grumpy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoanaEnJohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We only spent a few nights here but really enjoyed the hotel - the rooms are spacious, clean and have balconies that overlook the pool and the ocean. the balconies are all a bit close and in view of each other but the nice thing was that the front of the room that goes on to the balcony are all huge sliding doors with tinted glass and done very well to provide privacy without always having to close the curtains.
The breakfasts were okay - not a huge choice but perfectly adequate and the lunches which can be served in the hotel restaurant or on the beach restaurant were very good. We didnt eat dinner at the hotel but it seems popular and the food looked really good.

We didnt swim directly in front of the resort as there is a pretty disgusting litte river flowing in there so we walked further up the beach to cleaner water but it is a good price for a sea view and close proximity and access to the beach.
Great little hotel - and I say little as there are only about 18 rooms - nice and personal.

We found the pool to be quite adequate but then we didnt have kids with us - it could be small if you have a bunch of kids - but we loved a dip in the pooll in the afternoons.

It has free internet but you have to sit in the dining area to get it and have your own computer.
The room had a little kitchenette but strangely, no kettle to make tea or coffee but we found most of the hotels we stayed in while in thailand did not provide kettles...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buzzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandal, Norway
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2011

we are an familly of five persons. (kids: boy 7, girl 10, girl 11)
we traveled whit a big familly. my sisters familly (kids boy 11, girl 12)
and our parents.

after trolling the nett in february 2010, we came ower this nice familly owned hotel in kamala beach.
short to the beach, ( exelent service and good food as well).
good rewies from other travlers was imoportant, near shooping and restaurants also
swimmingpool. whit 5 kids it also needed to be safe.

normaly when we are reading about hotels we ar going to, the text on home pages are cuite difrent from our experience. on this hotel, we got what we expexted and more!
good clean roms and a helpfull staf. we stayed for 23 days, the kids was happy.

the only thing i did not like, was the earlier rewiew from " simply not god enough"
i was afraid that we may be had ordered a bad hotel! may be that travler was an world champion? i dont know, but i mostly think he have ben on an other hotel and mistaken the name. We had an exelent hollyday, and have no problems to recomend this hotel for
any travlers, old, young, singel or big family like ours!
we hope to come back next year!

sorry about my english, i am not abel to writhe like the rewiew of 18. desember 2010,
that family must have stayed in our room. and i agree in all his good writing.
NB! new year evning on the beach was great!!

Rune from Norway, whit big family

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rune123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Kent
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We stayed at Kamala Dreams for 3 nights but wished that we could have stayed longer. After a little research before booking we reserved room 201 which costs slightly more than the standard rooms but is worth every penny as it is the biggest and has a wrap around balcony. This gives you the choice of looking over the pool or having an amazing sea view from the more secluded side of the balcony.

The studio style room is very spacious and equipped with king sized bed, TV, DVD, air con and a kitchenette with a full size fridge. The only thing that we didn't have was a kettle to be able to make our own tea & coffee. Not a big problem anyway. More importantly, everything was spotlessly clean and the daily maid service was very efficient. The bathroom was a little basic but served the purpose and was clean. Some previous reviews have mentioned a problem with the drainage but we didn't experience this although there was an occasional waft of "eau de drain".

On arrival we were met by smiling staff who offered us a cool drink on the house while they insisted on taking our luggage up to our room. The breakfast that was included in the room rate consisted of a choice of various juices, tea or coffee followed by a small selection of hot or cold food. Not exactly a full english but more than adequate. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and had a lovely meal while watching a torrential downpour. My Wife ordered a fish dish while I went for the red chicken curry. Both were substantial and delicious.

Kamala suited us fine as it is a pleasant, fairly quiet place but still has enough to see and do. We found Patong to be like a cross between Blackpool & Benidorm and far too busy for our liking. Each to their own I guess. Kamala Dreams is situated right next to the south end of the beach and also gives easy access to a number of bars and restaurants to choose from within easy walking distance. The beach is about a mile long and lined with beach-type bars which also serve cheap and delicious food. We enjoyed swimming in the sea which was nice and warm and had waves which were big enough to be interesting without being dangerous.

We would love to go back to Phuket and I wouldn't hesitate to return to room 201 at Kamala Dreams.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricky_Dicky69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamala hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.3 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
0.3 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Keemala
Keemala
#11 of 36 in Kamala
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wabi Sabi Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kamala Beach Estate
Kamala Beach Estate
#21 of 36 in Kamala
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala Dreams

Property: Kamala Dreams
Address: 74/1 Moo 3 | Tambon Kamala, Katu District, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamala Dreams 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kamala Dreams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Dreams Hotel Kamala
Dreams Hotel Kamala
Dreams Resort Kamala
Kamala Dreams Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing