We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, lush surroundings, why go anywhere else?”
Review of Ambassador Bistro

Ambassador Bistro
Ranked #33 of 124 Restaurants in Kamala
Cuisines: American, European, Thai, International, Canadian, New Zealand
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lush surroundings, why go anywhere else?”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Embassy Resort & Spa and ate every day at their restaurant, the Ambassador Bistro.

The food was always delicious, whether western or Thai, and beautifully presented with vegetable carvings. Our pineapple rice came in a whole pineapple with an intricately carved swan - it was so impressive looking that other guests passing by came to take a picture of it.

The fruit shakes, especially the watermelon shake, deserve a special mention - totally icy, refreshing and in a mammoth sized glass. YUM!

We also had pizza, burgers, club sandwich, tom yum goong and green curry - all of it was excellent, freshly made, good sized portions and really delicious. Although not on the menu, you can ask for a kid-friendly portion if you have a child dining with you.

Service was also very prompt and friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petitcherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing food”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were staying at the resort and so ate breakfast there every day. There was a very comprehensive menu, including local and international, the food was always delicious and the portions large. The prices are very reasonable. Unfortunately, we left having dinner there until our last day - this was a huge mistake as it was far better than any of the other restaurants we had tried and we should have eaten there far more often. The dinner I chose was amazing for the exquisite presentation and the combination of flavours on one plate: barbecued tiger prawns, 2 dips, grilled vegetables and steamed rice but all amazingly fresh and succulent. We shared their last creme caramel - perfectly cooked and beautiful - a great rarity these days! The relaxed atmosphere, the table overlooking the subtly lit pools and grounds were perfect. Nothing was too much trouble from the attentive and friendly staff, and the proprietors are always on hand, in this case with a variety of ways to ensure that it was a mosquito free zone. The indoor restaurant is also very comfortable and tastefully decorated.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickyHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best i Kamala”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a hidden gem on Kamala..you are servered in a beautiful garden ,very quite ,few tables ,wonderful staf and owner.the food is the best in Kamala.we stayed in the city for moret han 3 weeks, tasten out a lot of restaurants but came back for more.try the seafood platter and the shrimp cocktail ,our best ever

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 566Jensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning food and setting!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We recently stayed at The Royal Embassy Resort and upon ordering our first meal we were blown away by the standard of the food. On our first night we decided to have our dinner at the Ambassador Bistro as we couldn't resist because the setting was just too beautiful to walk away from. The whole garden is lit up with gorgeous fairy lights and the pool area too. It is very romantic and rivals many other beautiful settings we have eaten at in different parts of the world. The chef is an absolute gem...he goes the extra mile with his presentation and your plate is never without a carefully carved out vegetable in the shape of a butterfly or swan. The flavors were beautiful and the quality of the food was very high. We would have in fact quite happily eaten there for every meal but felt we should probably venture out into the area to try other places too! Interestingly enough none were a patch on Ambassador Bistro and we would come back after being out and sit in the garden area to have a nightcap just to take in the scenery.
Thank you to the gorgeous and talented chef, Phil the manager and to the wonderful staff all of whom looked after us so well...we hope to be back some day soon!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, loved by all the family”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We recently had a wonderful holiday at the Royal Embassy Resort. Our first meal was at this restaurant and all five members loved it. There was a wide variety on the menu, Asian and Western style. The food was presented beautifully, carved vegetables in the shape of butterflies, leaves, flowers. We choose to eat at the restaurant as much as we could. It was very well priced, the staff are exceptional. We could not give all the staff at the resort enough praise. Well worth a visit, even if you are not fortunate enough to stay at the resort.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xynl260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing