We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasy Land”
Review of Phuket FantaSea

Phuket FantaSea
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.75*
and up
Phuket Fantasea (Show Only)
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Kamala
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cultural theme park is divided into three sections: shopping in the Festival village, dining in the Golden Kinnaree Buffet Restaurant and Vegas-style entertainment in the Palace of the Elephants.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantasy Land”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is like a Giant Theme park - everything is on a large scale. Elephants, pots, shopping places, etc. Loved every minute of being there.
The Koi had a giant pond whereby to swim and visitors can feed them.
The show itself was Good but not Great. I felt that the pictures with the baby tigers was an exploitation of them. It looked like the baby tigers were starved during the day, and then fed bottles of milk during their photo moment. They drank their milk with gusto. Baby animals should not be used for tourist curiosity.
Otherwise the show itself was well run, the elephant show was excellent. The only down fall was the speaking of Thai which made it difficult to follow a story, especially when the 3 different cultures were performed. One had to go on intuition about the show in certain places

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank GummybearD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,284
    1,860
    1,167
    466
    445
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good nights entertainment”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited over Christmas 2012 and the show is only part of the experience. We must recommend eating a meal in the huge dining room where the selection of food was fantastic.
There are many attractions at the venue before the show starts, so we recommend you get there two hours before the show. The show itself was very professional but as non Thai speaking people we battled to follow the story line a bit. There were some fantastic aerial acrobats that for us were the highlight as well as the well trained animals from chickens to elephants that performed.
The only negative is the fact that they are so strict on taking cameras and cell phones or video equipment into the show, and you have to hand them in before the show starts, so go in early a the queue is long. The problem is at the end of teh show queing to get your camera back. But all in all a very enjoyable experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must see for anyone in Phuket”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have seen the show twice now and it still amazes me. This show has something for everyone. Animals ranging from chickens to tigers to elephants. Dance and song with elaborate costumes and great choreography. A look a the history of Thailand and the different Provences of the nation. A great buffet hall with plenty of great Thai dishes. Many high end stores with different Thai creations.
A great cultural theme park and experience for the whole family.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PWDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
321 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Excellent stage show”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you go to Patong or surrounding areas to stay, this stage show is a must visit. The buffet diner is good & once that is done you have time to look around. It is a great place for the children to go to. A bit on the theme park scene, so bring plenty of that folding stuff ( $$$) The show is always packed so get your tour company to book them or pre book before you leave your home country. Also get transport as the Fantasea complex is a good distance from Patong Beach. The you can ride Elephants outside the stage area & as you walk in you can get your photo taken with a baby tiger & other animals. Phones,cameras, video recorders have to be booked in at security & they are reasonably strict. If you take the 9pm show sitting, it'll be a late night back to your accommodation as the show finishes at 10.30pm & transport is pretty packed on the way back. We got back at Midnight.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 3406E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good fun and colour”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We went to the show only. When we arrived we were ushered to receive our pre booked tickets without a queue. The displays outside the show are mostly pitched at young children but there were things there for everyone. Our family loved the white tigers, snakes and other animal displays.
The show itself was very colourful and at times a bit cheesy which kept us entertained. The elephants were fantastic and definitely the stars of the show. The show went for about an hour and a half which was about the right amount.
We booked online and didn't have to pay until we arrived. We paid 250 baht each extra for the gold seats which was worth it. Our seats were very good in a large theatre with many people. I contacted Fantasea on the day of the show to inquire about transfer from the show. They wanted to charge 300 baht return per person and as we had 6 people this would have been 1800 baht. We found out later if you buy the tickets through an agent they will throw in the transfer fee. We got a tuk tuk from patong return for 800 baht.
I would recommend this show as a good night out for a family at a reasonable price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbugged72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket FantaSea also viewed

 

Been to Phuket FantaSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing