We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mass...ively awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Phuket FantaSea

Phuket FantaSea
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.58*
and up
Phuket Fantasea (Show Only)
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cultural theme park is divided into three sections: shopping in the Festival village, dining in the Golden Kinnaree Buffet Restaurant and Vegas-style entertainment in the Palace of the Elephants.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mass...ively awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

To be honest I hadn't heard about Fantasea in Thailand and certainly didn't do any research prior to going.
In short, the show was really badly choreographed, with hints of pyrotechnics that were far too loud for the young audience that surrounded us (babies were spotted everywhere). Elephants that looked sad and were made to stand on each others backs, others peeing away on stage with their keepers madly running around trying to place buckets under their ample 'spray'.
The one interesting item was the aerial trapeze artists. That was well done.
With the awful buffet food, the hundreds of shops that are hungry for you to buy prior to the show - you could easily spend $150 per person.
They even charge you to hold your camera or mobile while the show is taking place. My reply to that is, why would you take pictures of such a show that is so embarrassingly bad!
And with 5,000 people to get in and get out, the experience was one I could well have done without.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,217
    1,820
    1,134
    443
    435
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
126 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice to visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Everything is very well organised. Transport from/to hotels, tickets, etc. Price is high for the offer. We have also had dinner (buffet) before the show. A very big place, very crowded but very well managed. Food was not good, however kids enjoyed the buffet anyway.
There are two different seats for the show, the regular and the Golden one. This last want is more expensive and they told us that is due to the privilaged location to watch the show. This is not very true. Golden seat is all the middle seats of the auditorium so we got 4 seats at the very back therefore regular seats on one of the sides but closer the stage would have been better so I would recommend to take a normal price seat.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hate is not a strong enough word!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We (6 adults with 5 kids) expected Phuket Fantasea to be a bit tacky and cheesy, however we thought the kids would really enjoy the spectacle so we forked out the ridiculous entry price and even paid extra for the gold seats.  We opted not to do the mass dining experience based on reviews.
On entry we had a laugh at how over the top and tacky the displays and rides were ... Then we rounded a corner and saw 2 pelicans in a small Perspex room with fake images of natural settings on the walls.
Downstairs, our stomachs churned seeing 3 white tigers pacing a small glassed room with marble floors and not a leaf in sight.  Hideous.
The show no better. Seemingly random acts thrown together with some repeated fireworks thrown in for good measure.  Again what made us want to walk out were the elephant tricks.  About 8 elephants performing outdated circus tricks ( sitting on their bottoms, dancing to music etc).
I am not a mad keen animal lover however this show shocked me and I could not wait to leave.  The other 5 adults in our group we equally appalled - the kids, all under 7 years thought it was quite good fun - but they also like The Wiggles.  One of the kids actually fell asleep before all the fanfare began (it's a very late start to the show).
NEVER, EVER AGAIN!

Helpful?
2 Thank Nipadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Was not good as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

The show was not so Good as I expected it to be. It was overall a fun. The Buffet was good with a huge selection. The outdoors games and adventures were fun. But the main Show was not so Good. It is ok for children as it has magic shows but mind it the fireworks in the show might disturb you little children. As I viewed the Siam Niramit in Bangkok the Phuket Fantasea was below Niramit show. Therefore, if you are planning to go bangkok i suggest you to go with Siam Niramit.
Its better if you dont upgrade your sits to gold, I did one and it was all useless. I suggest you to choose the sits in the middle range you will get a nice view. Overall its ok but for me Siam Niramit Bangkok was one of the admirable and amazing show that I ever visited.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank AsisParajuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Have been twice now and would definately recommend it to families however young children may be scared by the loud bangs and fireworks in the show but you can see the animals appear happy and fed unlike some other places the kids just love it with all the dazzling lights and the enormous food buffet with all they can eat even my daughter who's a finicky eater kept going back for more :)

Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket FantaSea also viewed

 

Been to Phuket FantaSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing