We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL IN THE WORLD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WORST HOTEL IN THE WORLD”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

1. staff dont understand english
2. hotel still incomplete.
3. garden view rooms facing swamp
4. costruction noise
5 rooms not up to standard. headboard falling down. shower head fell on my head, taps in toilet leaking.
we checked out the very day we checked in, after a 12 hour flight, that should tell you how critical this hotel is

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saley312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel Kamala ... P, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Saley312578,

Thank you for taking the time to comment and feedback from your recent visit with us.

Firstly please allow me to sincerely apologise for the dissappointing experience you had with us, this is definitely not the standard expected and for that i am very sorry. I would appreciate the opportunity if you have time to discuss in person with you the issues that occured during your stay. My email is mike.smith@accor.com.

Thank you once again.

Kind Regards

Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    397
    131
    58
    26
See reviews for
344
666
73
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I am enjoying my 106 suite watching the sea from my room, it's beautiful. The hotel is brand new, still in its opening phase but everything works quite well. The room is well decorated and it has two balconies, the inside is spacious, the bed is very comfortable, air conditioning working very well and a superbathroom. It missed a bigger table, the only table I have is a small console where I put my computer. Pool is superb, right on the beach and breakfast is high quality. I read a previous review which said that the pool music is not adequate and I agree, it could be improved a lot. Anyway I found a perfect place to stay in Kamala, where the sea water is clean and the view is beautiful. I will come here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatiraCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel Kamala ... P, Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear SatiraCr
Thank you for writing into TripAdvisor!

Firstly, I really enjoyed reading about your room and our location. These are essential, and we are delighted to read your comments.

I am happy to report that we have taken on your recommendation for improvement of our music at the pool and we are working closely with our music provider to develop this elemental area.
Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you stay with us again your next time here to Kamala Beach!

Kind regards
Tim Sargeant
Events & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

New nice Hotel on the beach. Novotel standard respected. The staff needs more time for training and experience but they friendly, smiling and helpful.
The quality of food at breakfast and dinner was excellent for quiet a good price with our advantage card. Outside, the price is not very cheaper. We did not get lunch. kamala Beach is quiet and very relaxing, much better than patong beach or Karon beach too crowdy. Walking dowtown is few minutes from the beach, don't try to walk by the street, it is far and dangerous.
Take the breakfast early (before 9.00 am) is essential if you want to get something from the buffet. A certain category of clients fill their plates but leave half for the bin ... our room was not sea view and our view on the garden was not good at all, we felt like in a hole.

Room Tip: Prefer Ocean view or garden view at high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo82Hanoi_Vietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel Kamala ... P, Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear jojo82Hanoi_Vietnam,

Thank you for taking the time to write into TripAdvisor.
I am pleased to see you enjoyed Kamala; we love the relaxing and quiet atmosphere here as much as you do!
We are really sorry to read about your garden view room, unfortunately this is not our land, but we are working to improve their land.
Once again, thank you. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Kind regards
Tim Sargeant
Events & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is brand new so we got a deal to stay for one night. The hotel itself was beautiful and locates on the gorgeous beach but the service was not professional…yet. I guess it takes time. The price for food and beverage was affordable but we preferred to walk outside the property. There are so many bars/restaurants outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel Kamala ... P, Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Orjourney.

Thank you for taking the time to write into TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
Thank you for bringing the level of service to our attention, we welcome your and are happy to report we have implanted new systems to bring the standard to a better level.
Again thank you so much for your review, we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Kind regards,
Tim Sargeant
Events & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is brand new, on the side of Kamala beach. Rooms are well decorated and the view is stunning, expecially at sunset. I had a sea view room. Check in was efficient and hostesses were very kind. Good bathroom set, nice balcony and tv. 24 hours room service for everything at reasonable price. Coffee and tea and fridge in room. Good ableit small pool with bar access. The music at the pool is not good, quite boring and pseudo new age, it is the only thing I would ask the Management to look into and change fast. Good gym, new machines. Breakfast was excellent, I recall a superb yoghourt but everything was good, coffee and tea are included, Illy coffee and cappuccino are charged.. Easy beach access. Recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel Kamala ... P, Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Carling G
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments.
It is always very pleasing to read a great review, I especially liked reading you really enjoyed the breakfast, we have been working hard with our team to improve our breakfast selection and it is good to see the hard work paying off.
Thank you for mentioning your thoughts with the music selection at the pool. This is an important part of relaxing around the pool and we are looking into this with our music provider.
Again, thank you for your comments and recommendations; we look forward to having you with us again!
Kind regards
Tim Sargeant
Events & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in the superior bedroom for three nights. We rented a car so being far away from most restaurant and interesting spots wasn't an issue. My husband and I travelled with our 3 yr old boy and the hotel's exterior, design and overall appearance is fantastic and up to date. My boy enjoyed his sessions in the pool as well as the jacuzzi right outside our room.

HOWEVER, when breakfast came, we were beyond disappointed because there were almost no food left when we arrived and he service crews all seemed to be too ignorant to even dress our table, send our coffee or even be bothered to refill the buffet breakfast. This scene repeated itself over the two breakfasts we had there.

As for the gym, a service member Nan (if i remember the spelling correctly) were being absurdly rude to my husband when he decided to run on the treadmill. He insisted the gym was closed when my husband reached there at only 1915, in which the actual closing time is 2000. He very rudely tried to chase my husband out of the gym.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you want to get away from the hustle bustle of Patong and don't mind the limited experience among the service staff. Else, I would suggest other Novotel hotel in Phuket especially Novotel Phuket Resort in Patong as our previous stay were so much better as compared to Novotel Kamala.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel Kamala ... P, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Bearuang,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Firstly please let me apologise for a less than great experience you had whilst staying with us recently, we are certainly striving to deliver a great experience for all our guests and i am only sorry that we have failed on this occasion. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your issues directly with you and would appreciate you contacting me directly on mike.smith@accor.com.

Your experience at Breakfast has been discussed at length with the team to ensure that the situation is not repeated, and lessons have been learnt from the situation.

Once again thank you for your time and i look forward to being in touch.

Kind regards
Mike Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.7 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
2.8 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
13.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach

Property: Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
Address: 118/16 Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers to Phuket now have an exciting new choice of accommodation with the opening of Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach Resort, a newly-built beachfront resort located on idyllic Kamala Beach on the island’s western coast. This upper-midscale resort promises a serene retreat for travellers visiting the Pearl of the Andaman Sea. The resort offers the best of both worlds – guests who want to relax can indulge themselves on the quiet, tranquil stretch of white sand beach and enjoy the resort’s full-service facilities, but when there’s an itch to shop or experience Phuket’s renowned attractions, vibrant Patong Beach is just a 10-minute ride away.The 166 guest rooms, suites, and villas have been designed to present guests with spacious, modern and efficient room functionalities, while maintaining the full sense of relaxation and comfort for which the Novotel brand is globally renowned. The resort features contemporary décor inspired by nature with touches of wood throughout, and each guest room boasts views of either the lush gardens or the Andaman Sea. In the rooms, guests can find top-of-the-line amenities and new features such as a connectivity panel for TV media and free Wi-Fi internet access throughout the resort.The resort’s modern F&B outlets respond perfectly to any traveller’s tastes. The resort’s Soul Kitchen is an all-day dining restaurant that combines innovative international and modern Thai cuisine plus Healthy Food menus featuring fresh organic and locally-produced dishes. The restaurant overlooks the beach with a large outdoor veranda, allowing guests to dine while enjoying the cool sea breeze. On the Roof is a rooftop bar with a 180° amazing view of Kamala Bay’s clear turquoise water surrounded by forested hills and a to-die-for sunset view. The Living Room lobby bar offers light snacks and a variety of beverages to welcome guests with a touch of Thai hospitality. At the swim up Lilo Pool Bar, guests can also relax by the pool and enjoy cocktails and refreshments with a stunning view of the beach. For wellness and full relaxation, the resort has an outdoor infinity swimming pool and a wellness centre, In|Balance, which extends its invitation to all guests to exercise in its well-equipped fitness centre or drift off to heaven with spa and massage treatments. The resort’s Kid’s Club can keep children entertained with educational and fun-filled activities while parents take a dip in the sea, exercise, or indulge themselves with a spa treatment.Meeting at Novotel Phuket Kamala BeachTrue to Novotel’s commitment to successful meetings, the hotel's main function room can accommodate up to 250 delegates and is pillar-less with natural light and a separate spacious pre-function area. The main function room can be divided into 4 multi-purpose meeting rooms for small to medium meetings and events. The meeting rooms offering state-of-the-art equipment and facilities with technical support team on standby to ensure the success of all meeting and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing