We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel in quiet walking distance location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sungthong Kamala Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 42 Kamala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent value hotel in quiet walking distance location”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Location:New hotel on the Kamala beach road. As you enter the road from Patong it's the first hotel on your left. 10 minute walk to Kamal beach and many restaurants. 5 minute walk to main road and pubs eating places.

Service was ok with the front desk staff being friendly but pretty clueless. We asked for a taxi an he responded no problem when we came back later there was no taxi just a nervously smiling staff member that looked confused.

Room: we had a road facing room which was still quiet. Room was spacious and new with all basic amenities. Nice firm bed with crisp sheets. Clean room ready for us on arrival. Nice black tea in the room, yum. Only problem was the drain in shower kept blocking.

Breakfast was small and basic but did the job. Good coffee.

Pool was cool and refreshing in nice garden setting.

Value for money is what makes this hotel 4/5 it was backpacker prices with hotel amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
21
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This has to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.
Booked one of their large double rooms, with pool view, when we arrived the staff advised that our room was not ready as someone was already staying in it and that they had no rooms with a double bed available for 3 nights! We were offered a room with two single beds on the noisy road side of the hotel. The beds moved as soon as you sat on them, the air conditioning did not work, there was no water in the room and only one towel. We had to move to the room next door so we could have air conditioning however the room hadn't been cleaned, there were no toiletries, no towels and still only single beds.
After 2 nights we eventually got a double room on the pool side after threatening to leave but it was NOT THE ROOM WE BOOKED. The staff were rude, unhelpful, did not care. They took payment for the room as soon as we arrived after 16 hours travelling by marching us to a jewellers shop as they had no machine to take card payment. Even though we did not get the room we booked we were still charged the full amount for that room.
There were serious problems with the water, on 2 separate occasions there was no water in the hotel for ore than 12 hours, we were filling buckets with water from the swimming pool to flush toilets.
Breakfast was awful, we ended up having breakfast in the village most days even though we had paid for breakfast in the hotel.
This is our 4th stay in kamala and this is by far the worst hotel we have stayed in. The only member of staff who cared about the residents was the bar manager. The location compared to other hotels is poor and if you end up on the road side you will not be getting much sleep

Room Tip: You need to book poolside or you won't get any sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catjlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We spent a few nights here and weren't too sure what to expect. The hotel is really well located of the main road in Kamala and is about 5/10 mins walk away from the beach. The staff were always very friendly and helped with anything we needed. There's a massage parlour next day and some good bars and restaurants. Our booking included breakfast where you had to select between 3 set menus. There's also a large supermarket about 5 mins walk away in case you need anything.

Even though this place is budget friendly you'll still have a great time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DoobyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Overall we can recommend this hotel because of the good location (everything close but still quiet) and the very friendly staff - and of course the great coffee !!

We stayed in Phuket for 2 nights and decided to go to Kamala beach because we read that Patong beach is really crowded. The rate at Sungthong Hotel is 1000 THB for a superior room with breakfast.

We also booked an airport transfer to the hotel which worked really great.

The hotel is nice and new. The room was big and had a very beautiful bathroom. It could have been a little cleaner in the corners but it was ok for us. AC and Wifi worked great but it would have been nice to find some short instructions for the AC. We figured out by trying but we were not sure about some buttoms :))

The pool is really nice but they are still working on the renovation in some corners of the hotel - but there was no noise or anything disturbing by that.

The only thing that got us confused was that the sign and also the describtions in the internet said that they also have a restaurant - well we didnt saw that, maybe they are rebuilding it right now.

The beach is just a short walk away and also a lot of bars and restaurants are in walking distance.

Breakfast was nice and the best thing was the coffee :) After drinking lots of bad coffee in guest houses and restaurants this one was really awesome - we loved it.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They drove us to the bus station in Kamala so we can catch a cheap local bus to Phuket town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1989-niki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We came to Sungthong after finding out about it on Agoda. When we arrived at the ferry terminal, no-one had heard of it, and even in Kamala when we got dropped off and were walking around, we couldn’t find anyone who had heard of it. But, eventually we found it after ringing the owner for a lift. It’s not badly located, just very new, and not well known. We stayed here for a couple of days, in one of the top rooms. It was reasonably good value, very clean and big. The pool fine, but didn’t receive much sun. The great thing about the hotel is it is near some very high end resorts, two of which we spent our days in, and never got asked to leave. Would give it a three star if not for its proximity to these hotels. Also, visit the coffee shop in the middle, the owner is great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megeve9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of May. The hotel is in a decent spot just off the main road and near to the beach. The property actually comprises of 3 hotels that seem to share the same building and rooms. I was staying above coffee2day in a superior room and for the money this was excellent as the entire site is very new and modern. The two members of staff in the coffee2day shop looked after me each day and were very friendly. Hired a scooter from the middle hotel reception (collada inn i think) which is a good idea. Everything you need is close by and i would recommend this hotel for a reasonably priced modern retreat in Kamala.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamala hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
0.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.0 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Keemala
Keemala
#9 of 36 in Kamala
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kamala Beach Estate
Kamala Beach Estate
#20 of 36 in Kamala
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Natacha Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sungthong Kamala Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sungthong Kamala Beach Resort

Property: Sungthong Kamala Beach Resort
Address: 10/66-67 Moo 3 Beach road, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Sungthong Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sungthong Kamala Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sungthong Kamala Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sungthong Kamala Beach Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing