We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic homemade pasta”
Review of La Carbonara

La Carbonara
Ranked #27 of 122 Restaurants in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic homemade pasta”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

It is easy to get Italian food in Thailand, but not necessarily great Italian. La Carbonara qualifies as great.

The make their own pasta including amazing gnocchi. I had the gnocchi two nights in a row, one night with their Arribiatta sauce and the second with their pomodoro. Excellent both nights.

We also had a great glass on Italian red wine, best we had in Thailand.

The owner is nice and came over to the table to say hello and also offered us each a complimentary glass of lemoncello at the end of our meal which was perfect.

For desert had passion fruit sorbet and mango sorbet which was also excellent.

This restaurant might seem hard to get to when looking on a map, but it is actually super easy because their is an alley that leads right to it near the south end of the beach. The alley entrance is several meters from Papa Crab's guesthouse. If you look, you will see the sign for La Carbonara.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank where_r_u_at_503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    35
    9
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food, good people!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We visit this restaurant often for its authentic Italian cuisine. The owners are friendly and very knowledgeable. Valentina (the better half of the nice Italian couple that own the place) was able to suggest the perfect wine based on our taste and the food is always superior. Especially nice are their salads, the Italian sausage appetizer, and my favorite is the fettuccine (homemade) with mushrooms. Our friends especially enjoy the Carbonarra sauce. Definitely recommendable for families or anyone that enjoys a taste of Italy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HKT-Islander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvika, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kamalas best restaurant !”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

La Carbonaras exellent chef Francesco and his lovely wife Valentina, always welcome you, so you feel special .Every day they have at least 3 different specialitis in addition to the meny. The vinelist is also very good, especially being in Thailand, and if there are some space left, look at the desserts

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had dinner in this restaurant twice during my visit to Kamala Beach.
Service is like any other restaurant in this area. Also the waiter was not sure what was included in the food and did not ask from the kitchen.
They bring you some bread before main course. If you ask for more, they will charge you for that.
Pasta and pizza are ok. Nothing special, but nothing bad either. Portion is not the biggest, so if you have a big hunger have something small first.
The second time visiting this place two of our group ordered a steak. It was served with smashed potatoes, which was not good. The steak was just average, one of them was quite chewy.
If you fancy some Italian type of food while in Kamala, you can visit this place, but do not expect to get nothing fancy. And the price is little bit too much.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptrajam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Yummy and authentic Italian in Phuket”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Now this time during our vacation in Phuket we found a new gem...super delicious Italian place with real Italian food cooked by an Italian... The owners are a nice Italian couple, he taking care of the kitchen and she taking care of the service... Due to the name of the restaurant I had to try the home made pasta carbonara and it was the second best I have ever had, which is a real compliment :-) ! We actually went there twice because it was so good and also to have a change in between all this yummy thai food....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InternationalBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carbonara also viewed

 

Been to La Carbonara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing