We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh food”
Review of La Carbonara

La Carbonara
Ranked #26 of 121 Restaurants in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I was surprised at the authenticity of the food given the distance from Italy.
Food lovely and fresh and the handmade pasta (we tried the lasagna and the ravioli) fabulous. Also desserts made on the premises were great (and huge portions). The ravioli portion was not huge but the lasagna was huge. Have to remember that the ravioli would only be a starter in Italy.
Bruschetta good too. The couple next to us had had 2 different pastas and said they were great too. If you feel like a change from Thai, try here. It is down a funny lane and could be tricky to find

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coolaholigah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    35
    9
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Kamala Beach”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Really, really delicious food. Friendly and quick service. We ate there twice during our short stay because the food was fresh, tasty, and authentic.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SumanaNewdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth hunting this place out”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We had terrible trouble finding this place but based on the super reviews we persevered until the last night when we found it. A lovely meal with a relaxed atmosphere - rare in Phuket!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant in Kamala - maybe even Phuket”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had an amazing dinner at La Carbonara. Best Italian food we have had so far in Kamala {and there are many Italian restaurants here}. Especially loved the fresh pasta dishes; we will come back for more!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Writer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food burnt”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband ordered a pizza & I a lasagna, not that hard for a highly rated restaurant on trip advisor,not so my lasagna was burnt & uneatable, my husbands Pizza the same,not good enough when we were the only ones in the restaurant

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina T, Proprietario at La Carbonara, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We apologize for the inconvenient, and we invite you to come and try the food again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Carbonara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing