We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place for a fantastic honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquamarine Resort & Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aquamarine Resort & Villa
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“THE place for a fantastic honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

My new wife and I arrived at the Aquamarine Resort and Villa on 24 November 2008 for a 10 night stay and were pleasently surprised from the get go. After reading a few mediocre reviews on this site I was a bit wary of what to expect.

People complaining about hills in the hotel are just lazy as they even have golf carts available to transport you up and down the hill if you don't have basic fitness to climb a few stairs.

Our room (7204) was splendid and spacious and had a nice flower arrangement on the bed, fruit basket and sparkling wine ready when we arrived. I would reccommend this floor to anyone who wants a romantic,quiet setting.

The hotel was in a great condition, with beautiful swimming pools and restaurants and breakfast is awesome. It had a reliable shuttle service to Kamala Beach. In our opinion Patong is overrated and we enjoyed Kamala a lot more. There is enough shopping opportunities in the area and the beach and activities like the Phuket Fantasea is sufficient to keep you busy.

The best part of the hotel is the small independent beach restaurant across the road where one can get great food at very cheap prices. We also rented a longtail boat for snorkeling, scooter and taxi from this friendly family business. All services were reliable and reasonably priced. We were very sad to greet them at the end of our stay.

For a great honeymoon or romantic breakaway you do not need to look any further than the Aquamarine resort and Villa.

  • Liked — The small restaurant across the road
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Randburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    223
    107
    44
    29
See reviews for
95
315
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aldinga Beach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2008

My new wife and I arrived at the resort on the10/11/08 only to be met with a very happy welcome .They took us both over to the lobby to sit in comfy lounges while they checked us both in.
Our stay was for a period of ten days , we both found all staff went out there way to make us feel at home . We made very good friendships with most of the staff .(I will quickly mention that we wanted to take two of the staff home with us ).We both found nothing was too much of a problem for them.
I would fully recommend The Aquamarine Resort to anyone who is looking for a relaxing holiday or Honeymoon.
Tim & Denise.
Adelaide.South Australia.

  • Liked — Great food and fantastic Staff
  • Disliked — Going Home
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TimBobAldingaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Aquamarine Resort and Villa and loved it.
As soon as we arrived our bags where taken up to our room while we checked-in. On entry of our room a basket of fresh fruit was awaiting with cold bottled water.

There is a shuttle bus that goes into Patong. Although we made a deal with a taxi driver 'Sonny" who was always waiting for us outside the motel for when we wanted to go into Patong, it is about a 8min drive into town, but we didnt mind the drive as you get to see the landscape and how some Thai people work and lived. And seeing elephants on the side of the road pulling down trees with what looks as like they where council workers. Taxi was 200bht to go into town.

Most of our time was spent sitting in the pool bar drinking cocktails. The bar staff are great, we taught them how to make some differnt cocktails and they where drinking them with us.

Hotel food was ok. We ordered room service few times - but has anyone really had a fabulous room service meal to rave about?
I dont eat Thai food, but while we there in Thailand my Boyfriend said you cant come to Thailand to and not eat a Thai dish, so we went to the Thai resturant in the resort and I ordered a basic dish, everything was going fine until I found a little catapillar in it!! No more Thai food for me. So I would recommend going into town for dinner. there is a resturant on the same road as the resort called Rock Fish, it is owned and runned by an Australain man, we had a booking but did not end up going as we had a little too much sun that day! So do make a resveration, we had a taxi driver stop in on our way into town to run in and made a booking, you get too pick which table you would like to sit at to.

We where lucky to have a room close to the reception and pool. As the resort is set into a side of a hill there are no lifts or golf buggys to get to the rooms at the back and some are quite steep.

There are three separate pools, great to get away from the kids, but somehow we always made our way back to the pool bar.

The beach across the road is not really suitable for swimming. Good to just sit there and watch the local thai people fish in the shallow water. We did have a full body massage for AUS$12 -HOUR LONG!. That was the only little hut on the beach. As the Tsunami wipped out the markets they used to hold there. But since it has been 2 years since we where there hopefully they have come back. I'll soon find out!

  • Liked — The Pool.
  • Disliked — Food.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Beconay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

Well where do i start......

My husband and I enjoyed our honeymoon at this resort in 2006.... and we loved this place. Ihe staff are the most friendly people we have met in our lives. We found the hotel prices a little steep but were a bit weary of eating outside the hotel. Our holiday was so beutiful we decided to go back in April 08.... and this was even better.

This year there was a new addition to the surrounds of the hotel being "the shack" i cannot recommend this enough to people, as the hotel price for a cocktail was around 200baht.... the shack offered the smae cocktails for around 80 baht. All the guys at the shack were excellant. Eh, Co Co, Mark and Co Co's family were all lovely including the little dog bobby... who i miss so much. We ate here every night & cried when we had to leave them all they really take you in.

I found the shopping in Kamala Bay was great, especially the night market which sold sunnies for 100 baht. Also the staff at the hotel are excellent & even took us to the night market near central festival... this was cheap & the food here is much fresher to eat.

i would also recommend the night market across from Fantasea i think it is there on wed & sun.., but this is local so it's much cheaper.

If your planning to go to thailand for a holiday of a lifetime, i would suggest this hotel.... many of our friends have stayed at this hotel after us & they love it as much as we do.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Price of food & drinks
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank natp84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

Looking at the rave reviews of Aquamarine we decided to spend 3 nights at the property.It is well kept and beautiful to begin with
But a resort needs to be more than just that !
At the onset the staff did not have courtesy and handled us with indifference.
The resort is too far off from the happening Patong beach which means if you stay in the resort , all you will see of Phuket is the resort.There can be no night life to enjoy either because no public transport will agree to drop you so far off into the night
The beach in front is very dirty and rocky so it wont do any good either

If at the time of checking out you happen to have some wet swimwear and get an idea to use the laundary cloth bag to keep it from soiling the rest of your clothes , beware, coz the hotel will charge a good 100 baht for it ( talk of courtesy !)

All in all not a very good experiance !
Avoidable if you are in a mood to explore Phuket

  • Liked — The beauty and the upkeep of the resort
  • Disliked — The discourteous staff and the distance from the main city
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anita7871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

My boyfriend and i both in our late 20s stayed at the Auqamarine resort in feb we arrived on valintines day ( a gift from my dad for my birthday) and had a wonderful time, the staff there are so friendly and helpful although they do not have the best english they are so welcoming and do all they can to help you!

I must admit we spent the magority of our time relaxing by the pool bar with the friendly staff bringing us a stead supply of cocktails to sip whhilts looking out over the ocean in the sun. we didnt leave the hotel a lot.

We where happy with our room over looking the ocean and very greatful that we where located close to the reception and recreational area which i would sugest requesting this as Aquamarine is located on the side of a mountain and you may find yourself walking uphill for a long time every day which would be a hassle and painful on your legs too! I didnt have any issues with the rooms at all we got freh fruit on arrivale and free bottled water which was great!

The food in the hotel was great they had an italian night which was outstanding the food was buffet and fabulas and i am a fussy eater! we didnt really eat out side of the hotel as we wanted a nice relaxing holiday and no shopping.

The pool area was nice there where a few kids there and the crowed was mainly Asians with a few Aussies and english in the mix, less children would have been presferable but they where generally out and about during the day wich was good!

i would suggest Aerogard to protect from mosquitos and a jumper for in the rooms with the a/c!

to some it up we planned to head back next feb 14th but we are getting married on that day! it was a great holiday!

  • Liked — The friendly Staff and relaxation
  • Disliked — the loud children and tourists
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SJHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

Fantasic resort in a Fantastic place. Only problems was the Cat-e-ma-gogs that roamed the grounds at night.
I would stay there again without any question

  • Liked — room size
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank plane_gone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamala hotels
1.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
1.2 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#3 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquamarine Resort & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarine Resort & Villa

Property: Aquamarine Resort & Villa
Address: 17/38 Moo 6, Kamala Beach | Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#11 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamarine Resort & Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Aquamarine Resort & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Marine Resort And Villa
Aqua Marine Resort & Villa Hotel Kamala
Aquamarine Hotel Kathu
Aquamarine Resort Kathu
Aquamarine Resort & Villa Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing