We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Photo's does not Justify!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aquamarine Resort & Villa
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Photo's does not Justify!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

There is a few issues at this Hotel, the first and foremost reason why this is a poor rating is because of the fact that we upgraded to a better suite and spent more money for accommodation but was charged for each and every phone call to do so a big no no for a customer. Our 10 Year anniversary celebrated at the Hotel was forgotten. It has to be noted that the photos shown is NOT HOW IT LOOKS, the hotel is not on a beach one can swim and you need to travel by car to get to a beach to swim. The Hotel is OLD the bathroom silicone had mildew , the bath takes more than 30 min to fill and there is a very poor shower head. The furniture and everything is old , the telephone is that of 1980. The staff is not that friendly or helpful. When going to their website one expect to see luxury but it looks very different when you get there. We saved up for our celebration and I wish we stayed in a better hotel most defiantly not a 4 star as they say well not to my standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    225
    108
    45
    29
See reviews for
96
318
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you are looking for an affordable yet luxurious Kamala beach location, then Aquamarine is perfect! The staff were phenomenal, the amenities fantastic and overall a relaxing and an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candizlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were searching for resorts in the Kamala beach area of Phuket, and found that most of the resorts were at least 10,000 Baht per night or more. In the end, we settled for Aquamarine, which was much cheaper than the likes of Andara or even Cape Sienna etc. We stayed there for two nights last weekend and were pleasantly surprised! Pros: The resort assumed a Thai style architecture, which was nice and cosy. Our sea view deluxe room was rather spacious and I loved the Thai deco, I highly recommend paying a little more for this room because it’s really quite pleasant to be able to get a view of the ocean. Given what we paid, the service was incredible! Staff always had a smile on their faces when they greeted us, and the attendants were really forthcoming with the buggies when they spotted us walking back to our rooms! Cons: Honestly the dinner which we ordered to our rooms was not the best Thai food we had (pad thai had a fishy taste which was too strong for our liking); and neither was the breakfast buffet spread. Regardless, we still managed to fill our tummies at breakfast, though I would suggest venturing out for local restaurants for other meals. The resort had two pool areas, and I liked it that when we were there, there weren’t too many people, so we could just laze around comfortably and quietly at the poolside. But if you are looking for massive pools than this won’t be the place for you. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I salute the staff who were always so helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Get the sea view deluxe room! Worth it to pay a little extra for the sea view.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelLynn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Me and my friend stayed in Aquamarine for 3 nights for a getaway from the busy Singapore life. We chose this hotel based on many websites and indeed these reviews recommending it and saying it was great value for money - And they were right!

Our room was beautiful with lovely decoration and very warm feel. The beds were hard but that is how both of us liked them so this wasn't a problem for us. The bathroom was particularly nice with a sunken bath and very nicely decorated also. The room overall was very clean and every day of our stay it was kept up that way too.

One negative i would say about that room is that we payed extra to get a sea view room and although it was a sea view, it was barely a sea view. We had to look past many trees and the pool etc and then you could see the sea. Although this was only a small gripe and from the looks of the rest of the hotel most of the rooms would have a much better view of the sea.

The hotel staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and everyone we met wanted to help and go out of their way to make your stay feel special.

The hotels pools were nice and quiet through the day giving us perfect time to relax and have the poolside to ourselves. There was no fighting for sunbeds like in some hotels either. They have three separate pool areas so you are guaranteed that one of these is going to be a little quieter if you would just like a relaxing, peaceful dip.

The hotel offered shuttle services down to Kammala several times a day which was really handy as the hotel is a little out of walking distance...especially in the heat and with the hills. The shuttle was punctual and very comfortable. They also offer shuttles to Patong but we did not use this service as we were staying in Patong after our stay.

The breakfast was delicious and offered a variety of different types of food to suit all tastes, cultures and nationalities.

I would say that if you are looking for a hotel with a nightlife or an atmosphere at night then when we stayed here there wasn't much of one. This suited us fine as we just wanted to relax in the room and chill out but if you would like some entertainment or a lively bar then go stay down in the resort because you wont get that here.

Overall, we both loved our time in this hotel. It was a peaceful, luxurious environment to escape from everything, whilst being not to far away from the attractions and beaches of Kammala and Patong. Would recommend to a couple, or anyone wanting to escape and relax.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor as i imagine they are the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musicaltj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel .. we stayed as part of our honeymoon in a Thai villa and it was fab . Large room with a large balcony overlooking the sea. Biggest bathroom I have ever seen, with seperate toilet cubicle and shower cubicle. Decor was great and a bottle of bubbly was waiting for us in our room when we arrived ! . Bed was also decorated with swans and petals etc. good breakfast selection and breakfast was taken by side of pool with a lovely view of the sea. Staff were wonderful - all so friendly and helpful ! Courtesy shuttle to Kamala was great, as a good 25 mins walk otherwise which is quite tough when it's so hot ... 3 nice pools. Although very steep paths to get to rooms,there is normally a buggy around to run you up, so no issue for us . Our friends came out in the second week and they were upgraded to a deluxe ocean view room . Although smaller than our villa, it was still a very nice room . Liked the fact that hotel is out of the way a little,as you get those lovely views. Plenty to keep you occupied in Kamala - plenty of shops, bars and restaurants etc for both daytime whilst on the beach and in the evening . Perfect for couples and families.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttynicki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Thanks Tripadvisor,read the reviews on this resort and stayed in total bliss for 9 nights. Wendy...your staff are a credit to you as guide them to provide total customer satisfaction in every avenue of this resort. A bit out of the way,which is why we chose it. This is more than compensated by free shuttles to Kamala (beautiful little town nearest the resort) Patong beach (the hussle bussle part of Phuket) where the larger shopping malls are located. Phuket town is only a short taxi ride away (40 mins 500 baht) if you wish to go there. Mainly for the larger jewellery stores,but most things can be purchased in Patong. I was on crutches because of a hip problem and this trip was booked well before it happened. Stairs,never seen so many, but the staff revised our room booking so as to keep climbing stairs to a minimum, plus no matter where I went in the Resort there was always 3 or 4 willing pairs of hands to help me out, thanks to all their staff, they just couldn't do enough for me. Always judge a resort by the bed, shower surrounds and staff. Bed was firm (as all Asian beds are) but slept very well, shower was unusual in that it was set sideways in the bath, easy to get in and out due to handrails and it was hot and good water flow. Surrounds are a credit to the groundstaff, blaze of colours with variety of ginger flowering, various groundcovers with some beautiful flowering trees topping off the three pool areas. Spa was excellent and was used 4 times by my wife and I much to our enjoyment. All in all, if you are looking for nice quiet, reasonably priced resort in Phuket that is not in the hussle/bussle area of Patong,this maybe just the answer. Only setback is that Koreans use this resort and their custom of banging doors to scare off demons can become annoying. Wendy, the manager, explained this to me and apologised profusely for the noise. Normally they are very careful to keep different cultures/customs in separate wings, but they were trying to give me the most comfortable room with easy access for my disability, that alone was worth putting up with the small disturbance of the "demon chasers"....thanks again Wendy, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Normally office staff will segregate your room from those with noisy customs/cultures...that is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpytraveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were so helpful and would do anything to make your stay an enjoyable one. We like strong tea, so just asked for this on day one at breakfast and everyday thereafter we were served strong tea with a smile too. We enjoyed dinner there one night by the pool. Found the rooms clean and if wanted more water or towels, just ask. Great shuttle bus services too. Away from the busy Patong area but not a problem if you want to visit Patong. Kamala is lovely, quieter and about a 25 minute walk if you miss the shuttle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamala hotels
1.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
1.2 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
1.1 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquamarine Resort & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarine Resort & Villa

Property: Aquamarine Resort & Villa
Address: 17/38 Moo 6, Kamala Beach | Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#11 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamarine Resort & Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aquamarine Resort & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Marine Resort And Villa
Aqua Marine Resort & Villa Hotel Kamala
Aquamarine Hotel Kathu
Aquamarine Resort Kathu
Aquamarine Resort & Villa Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing