We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Aquamarine Resort & Villa
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We went on a 8 night/day package from Getaway and found the value of this to be amazing. Breakfast every morning was good. Plenty of choices in all foods apart from cereals. Always had traditional western breakfast food eg. bacon, eggs, pancakes, toast etc. Then every morning had different varieties of traditional food. Staff in restaurant were always pleasant, happy and helpful, no complaints here. We ordered room service one night and it exceeded our expectations in room service food. It was amazing and excellent value for money. Our couples dinner which came as part of the package was average, as previously noted by another reviewer, the main restaurant was closed due to off season, therefore buffet meal was provided. If full paying customer would have not been happy but as part of voucher who cares.
I can understand how some complaints come through in regard to the age of the rooms and style, but were very clean, well serviced and in good repair. Television may have not been plasma but we were not there to watch television and the view is to die for. Housekeeping staff were fantastic, friendly, accomodating and always pleasant to have a chat in the morning with. Our toilet got blocked and was repaired promptly. Laundry was done twice and although we were aware could get this done cheaper at Kamala we were very happy with the result and again promptness of delivery. WiFi available but a little slow.
Pools were clean and maybe due to the time we went, were not busy, but we enjoyed them immensely for a late night dip or after shopping in Patong. Yes, we agree with previous comments on the barmen not being the friendliest person in Phuket but cocktails were great and this is a very minor issue.
The guys on the concierge desk were a mixed bag and there were a couple that were very helpful and friendly but a couple that were more interested in fishing for tips than service and if not provided were very rude.
Reception staff helpful but aloof, but the spa staff were amazing and would highly recommend a visit there.
Our room was in the first block 4303 therefore we did not have the steep terrian others are commenting on. But there are buggies and I do not think this would have influenced our comments for our stay.
Some comments in regard to the resort location being too far away from the action. Personally we enjoyed this, as only 30 minute stroll to Kamala was enjoyable but there was the free shuttle every hour till 5pm and then tuk tuks if needed. Also 3 trips to Patong daily so we did not find this a problem and actually preferred getting away from the touristy type locations such as Patong, Kata and Karon. We recommend Rockfish as a nice place to have dinner and staff were amazingly efficient and polite. Another little gem we found in Kamala Beach was a restaurant in a side alley called Oiy which served traditional Thai and was excellent value for what you got.
In summary we would definately stay there again, had no complaints and fantastic time all round.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mon0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    227
    110
    45
    29
See reviews for
99
324
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

I'll talk about the negatives first. I guess you could argue that the resort itself is a little out of the way from Kamala beach itself. This wasn't a huge drama for us though; there is a free hourly taxi to Kamala beach, and three free trips to Patong per day. A few other people here have been sooking about the stairs as well. Yes, absolutely, the resort is on the side of the hill and there are a few stairs and steep inclines to traverse at times. Not really a problem if you aren't a slovenly oaf, young or old. Nobody we spoke to was really that fussed about it :) and if you're that desperate, you can get golf cart transfers from anywhere by calling using one of the many phones. For the record, I rolled my ankle two nights before we arrived (whoops!), but even with that I managed just fine.
Next was just an annoying oversight. We bought one of the getaway packages, 8 nights with many inclusions, one being a three course dinner in the nice restaurant. Unfortunately the restaurant wasn't available because we didn't come during high season - which wasn't stated anywhere. Oh well. We ended up getting the buffet dinner with free drinks as a substitute. Not great, and let's face it, with the price of food at the local restaurants, why would you eat at the hotel?
I've noticed a lot of people unhappy with the service too - interesting. Almost all the staff we dealt with were decent, including the reception staff. There was just one guy that worked the bar who seemed to be the most sour guy known to man! Never seemed happy, but at least he made a good long island.
Now the good. Firstly our view - we were on the third floor of the fourth building, and the view was just incredible! Our room was very clean and maintained well daily. Housekeeping staff were nice, and happy to come back later if you were busy with something. Our package included a spa treatment which went for one hour and was great. The breakfast buffet was quite decent also. The 3 pools were well maintained. A small but well-equipped gym was welcome on the couple of days where it didn't seem to stop raining. Overall it was great value for us (2 people, 8 nights, dinner, spa package, bottle of champagne on arrival in our room, a few other things, for just 549).
Just a couple of points of note though. These aren't necessarily bad or good, it just depends on your own point of view/preference.
First off, the bed was quite firm. Not sure what could be done about this, however it wasn't a big problem for myself and my partner as we are both fans. Next, as with any country, pillows. The pillows were pretty hard and lumpy. I know pillows are different everywhere, but they didn't seem to have a variety on hand. finally, the aircon. Despite having a thermostat and three fan speeds, it was either off, or on full blast. We had it on at night and just slept as though it was autumn in our room *shrug*

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua-Info, Manager at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Warmest greetings from The Sunny & Breezy Island – Aquamarine Resort & Villa Phuket….

Thank you for taking the time to fill the questionnaire following your recent stay with us at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, on Kamala Beach.

We very much appreciate your observations regarding the service you received in the Resort. Your comments have been passed to the responsible departments’ personnel. We have valued your support, and it is only through comments such as yours can we enhance the level of services to meet our guests’ satisfaction at all times.

Once again, thank you very much, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Aquamarine Resort on your future visits to Phuket.

Very kind regards,

Mr. Songkiat Intarasaowaphak (POH)
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Brekfast buffet is very nice!
Rooms are nice but have a smell of old furniture. View from the rooms is amaizing.
Territory of the hotel is awesome. Swimming pools are beautiful.
Kamala beach is quite nice especially for holidays with children because you can walk far to the see.

A couple things people might not like:
1. The hotel is on the hill and you always have go up and down.
(We didnt have ploblem with it bucause it was exercise for us and we felt safe from tsunami. :) )
2. Far from the Kamala beach.
There is a small beach near by the hotel but no one swimm there because it's a little wild and dirty after low tide.
Kamala beach is 5 min ride by car which goes there every hour, back and forth. Bad thing is that the last car from the beach is at 5pm. If you want to stay at the beach longer you have to take a "tuktuk" car back (200-300 thai baht) or walk (20-30 min).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua-Info, Manager at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Warmest greetings from The Sunny & Breezy Island – Aquamarine Resort & Villa Phuket….

Thank you for taking the time to fill the questionnaire following your recent stay with us at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, on Kamala Beach.

We very much appreciate your observations regarding the service you received in the Resort. Your comments have been passed to the responsible departments’ personnel. We have valued your support, and it is only through comments such as yours can we enhance the level of services to meet our guests’ satisfaction at all times.

Once again, thank you very much, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Aquamarine Resort on your future visits to Phuket.

Very kind regards,

Mr. Songkiat Intarasaowaphak (POH)
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for seven nights.

The food at this resort was awesome! The pool was also very nice. Sadly this cannot be said about the room. Our room (sea view deluxe) was not clean and the room service was pretty average.

We had numerous issues getting into our room with the swipe card, despite advising reception that it was the card reader itself and not the card. They gave us a new card twice in a row. The third time this happened we got the bell boy to come and fix it - this involved him bringing (yep, you guessed it another card). He got it to work the first time. We educated him that it wasn't fixed and made it fail more than once in front of him, he wasn't interested and said it worked for him and stormed off in a huff. Incidently, the same bell boy the next time we seen him was our best friend and was offering to carry our bags and so forth.

That was our only major vice with the place - all in all it was pretty good for the price of it, however, like someone else mentioned, the food is cheaper elsewhere as is the laundry (head to Kamala Beach township and find a laundry shop - 50 baht for a kilo of dirty clothes vs 100 baht for a t-shirt at the hotel).

P.s. the Phuket Smiles (cocktail) are divine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skippy_from_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua-Info, Manager at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Warmest greetings from The Sunny & Breezy Island – Aquamarine Resort & Villa Phuket….

Thank you for taking the time to fill the questionnaire following your recent stay with us at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, on Kamala Beach.

We very much appreciate your observations regarding the service you received in the Resort. Your comments have been passed to the responsible departments’ personnel. We have valued your support, and it is only through comments such as yours can we enhance the level of services to meet our guests’ satisfaction at all times.

Once again, thank you very much, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Aquamarine Resort on your future visits to Phuket.

Very kind regards,

Mr. Songkiat Intarasaowaphak (POH)
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Alright, where to begin. Thailand - A land of a thousand smiles. I didn't even get one smile out of the staff from Aquamarine. They are always in a hurry, they never stop to help you. The Manager at the desk is very rude, and they have only one thing to say "Sorry, We can't do that for you". The only way you can make them do something for you is by shouting and making a scene.
There are much more beautiful resorts in Kamala and in Phuket so I dont see why would you wanna live at Aquamarine. I am never going there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shah_R82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua-Info, Manager at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Warmest greetings from The Sunny & Breezy Island – Aquamarine Resort & Villa Phuket….

Thank you for taking the time to fill the questionnaire following your recent stay with us at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, on Kamala Beach.

We very much appreciate your observations regarding the service you received in the Resort. Your comments have been passed to the responsible departments’ personnel. We have valued your support, and it is only through comments such as yours can we enhance the level of services to meet our guests’ satisfaction at all times.

Once again, thank you very much, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Aquamarine Resort on your future visits to Phuket.

Very kind regards,

Mr. Songkiat Intarasaowaphak (POH)
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights with friends as part of a package. The hotel was very nice and very clean with gorgeous views of the ocean. We stayed in a deluxe ocean view. The pools were clean and food at the restaurant was really nice.

The rooms are up quite steep hills and there are also no elevators so if you are not on the fit side this may not be the best hotel to stay at. Also you are no where near anything and not in walking distance from Kamala (although there is a shuttle bus - book in advance).

There is a fantastic beach restaurant across the road from the resort that has a wonderful atmosphere and the locals are always ready to play a game of coconut darts with you(trust me its brilliant and provides hours of entertainment). A word of caution - the monkey is not friendly although he is restrained so nothing of concern.

The only down fall was the hotel staff. They were pretty slow to get anything done. We arrived at 2am and the room key did not work - it took them 45 minutes to come and bring us a new one whilst we waited outside. On the day we left it took well over an hour for them to come and collect our bags and then when we didn't tip the bell boy he wrote us a note in Thai - we then had it translated by someone in town and the message was not a very nice one at all. I believe friends of ours who we were travelling with had lodged a complaint with the resort.

Room Tip: Deluxe ocean view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua-Info, Manager at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Warmest greetings from The Sunny & Breezy Island – Aquamarine Resort & Villa Phuket….

Thank you for taking the time to fill the questionnaire following your recent stay with us at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, on Kamala Beach.

We very much appreciate your observations regarding the service you received in the Resort. Your comments have been passed to the responsible departments’ personnel. We have valued your support, and it is only through comments such as yours can we enhance the level of services to meet our guests’ satisfaction at all times.

Once again, thank you very much, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Aquamarine Resort on your future visits to Phuket.

Very kind regards,

Mr. Songkiat Intarasaowaphak (POH)
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed a the resort for 9 days in early May 2012. The resort is totally unsuitable for anyone over 30 years who does not have some sort of mountain climbing experience. This hotel has no lifts and the photos don't show how steep the gradients are. We found the reception staff just short of rude which may be due to there limited understanding of English and on numerous occasions had to walk away in frustration. Our bed in room 4205 was so hard my arms went dead in the night due to lack of blood flow which scared me considering how far we were away from any medical assistance. The location and outlook from the hotel is absolutely fantastic and was the only saving grace. I can still hear the words to the song "MOVE LIKE JAGGER, WHOO HOO, HOO, HOO, HOO HOO YOU CAN MOVE LIKE JAGGER" every time I close my eyes, and I have been back in Perth a week. Please get a new CD for the pool or risk sending your guests insane. Breakfast was very good and the waitress POOKIE was always happy and helpful.

Room Tip: Only stay in rooms located in block 4. Each block of unit have 3 levels with no lifts. Block 4 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua-Info, Manager at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Warmest greetings from The Sunny & Breezy Island – Aquamarine Resort & Villa Phuket….

Thank you for taking the time to fill the questionnaire following your recent stay with us at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, on Kamala Beach.

We very much appreciate your observations regarding the service you received in the Resort. Your comments have been passed to the responsible departments’ personnel. We have valued your support, and it is only through comments such as yours can we enhance the level of services to meet our guests’ satisfaction at all times.

Once again, thank you very much, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Aquamarine Resort on your future visits to Phuket.

Very kind regards,

Mr. Songkiat Intarasaowaphak (POH)
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamala hotels
1.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.2 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Keemala
Keemala
#9 of 36 in Kamala
225 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
0.4 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquamarine Resort & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarine Resort & Villa

Property: Aquamarine Resort & Villa
Address: 17/38 Moo 6, Kamala Beach | Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#11 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamarine Resort & Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aquamarine Resort & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Marine Resort & Villa Hotel Kamala
Aqua Marine Resort And Villa
Aquamarine Hotel Kathu
Aquamarine Resort Kathu
Aquamarine Resort & Villa Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing