We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel but too isolated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aquamarine Resort & Villa
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but too isolated”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We chose to stay at Aqua Marine because of a cheap coupon deal we found online ($25 pp/night) and were slightly disappointed upon arrival. Although the hotel grounds, pools and rooms were beautiful, there were a few annoyances:
1. Our hotel room was located a fair distance up a steep hill after which you then needed to walk up a few more flights of stairs to gt to the room (quite tiring, eapecially in the heat and humidity) - there was a buggy that could take us up but for half of our stay it wasn't working
2. We were travelling in a group of 8 but the hotel was only contracted to 5-seater taxis so our fare in/out of the hotel was always doubled because we couldnt get a larger taxi (there were shuttle buses to kamala beach and patong but sometimes they were all booked out, and they only ran certain times of the day)
3. The location of the hotel was quite isolated, there wasnt really anywhere you could walk to from the hotel
4. The staff, especially the receptionists didn't speak english very well, it was tremendously difficult to organise our bookingssince we had bought coupons from an external sight
5. There were lizards in our room
So overall, if you're looking for a secluded romantic getaway this hotel would be ideal for you (a great place to lounge by the pool), but otherwise I would advise that you stay in a more central area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eatingthecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua-Info, General Manager at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I sincerely apologize for a few annoyances you experienced during your stay here. It's my pleasure to inform you of the following actions:
1. Two buggies are now in good order. Guests can enjoy great sea-view on top of the hill's rooms
2. Mini-bus to accommodate 8-10 persons can be now booked with outsource car rent
3. Considering our peaceful and quiet location, honeymooners and families enjoyed secluded getaway from busy areas.
4. English class in now included in our training plan
5. Pest control service is being notified about the lizards in guestrooms and public areas.

Again thank you for taking the time to write. We're looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Surasak Tharapatn
Geneal Manager
gm@aquamarineresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    226
    109
    45
    29
See reviews for
96
321
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We recently stayed here for our wedding booking a total of 12 rooms, the potential for this hotel to be great is there if not for the staff.
Beatiful views & rooms, amazing pool & restaurant but thats were it ends, the staff are lazy & rude, room service is non existant bar staff are more interested in their phones than serving guests.
Would never stay here again.

Room Tip: we had room 5202 on the top of the hill, great views but a HUGE walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank txnkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua-Info, General Manager at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Thank you for your comments which I take the liberty to copy to all departments' head concerned for their immediate improvement.
I apologize for the lapse of services you experienced while staying here.
Please I can assure that staff training will be conducted more often to offer a better level of services.
We're looking forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back to see the improvement.
kind regards,
Surasak Tharapatn
General Manager
gm@aquamarineresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Amazing facilitirs in this resort with 2 pools. one of the pools has a bar in it and view on the beach and surrounding mountains !!! really amazing. so you just order your coconut or other cocktail and sip it at the bar or on the pool's edge admiring the view.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Connecticut
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent 3 nights here last week. The property is nice, positioned beautifully on the hill. The rooms are good, not great...plenty adequate but as mentioned a bit dated.
The pool area was fine with an incredible view and plenty of space.
The breakfast buffet, included, was very good. There was plenty of selection and pretty fresh, too.The lunch and dinners were too expensive considering what can be had down the street, just 200 baht away by cab.
The staff works very hard to please, but there is a HUGE communication barrier, like none I have ever encountered anywhere else in the world, including many areas of Thailand. I know it sounds selfish but....
To do again I would stay in Karon over Kamala. There just isn't enough to do and was much too quite, which might be good for some. The beach is also not very accessible, as it is in Karon.
I would strongly recommend the beach side restaurant about 50 meters down the street from the hotel. Great food and great service!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We have been 4 nights in AquaMarine and paid BHT ~14k for SeaVieDeLuxe-Room booked on phuket.com, which was bad value for money.
If you're not going to Thailand for the first time you'll probably disappointed.

We were naive enough to believe management's replys on posted comments (e.g. see byebyebird, oct 3), but in fact -as far as we became aware of premises and services- nothing much has changed.
Facilities need maintenance (towel holder came down on left side, after it was fixed it came down on right side), the rooms are dark and rundown, the aircon is quite loud.

Staff has been friendly most of the time but overchallenged. It took'em almost an hour to check us in, though we did not see too many people waiting.
Housekeeping did make the beds but did not clean the room. We're quite certain, the screw lying next to the toilet is still there ...
The poolchairs look quite old and dirty, the cushions have not been cleaned while we there, so some of the chairs we did not want to use.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chaoyanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqua-Info, General Manager at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment followiing your recent stay at Aquamarine Resort & Villa, Phuket.

At the outset, may I apologize for the lapse of services you experienced while staying with us.
We very much appreciate your observations regarding the services and facilites in the Resort. Your comments have been passed to the responsible departments' personnel for immediate improvement. We have valued your support, and it is only through comments such as yours can we enhance the level of services and to maintain good standard of all facilities to meet our guests’ satisfaction at all times.

Hospitality yours,
Surasak Tharapatn
General Manager
gm@aquamarineresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I had read some mixed reviews, so was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. Arrived late evening, and were immediately greeted and relieved of our bags. Reception staff made sure the weary travellers were checked in quickly, and we were then taken to our room by golf cart. This standard of service was upheld the entire stay. Woke the next morning and pulled back the blinds to a gorgeous view. Now this resort is on a hill, and we were pretty much at the top and up two flights of stairs. In the heat you do not want to be running back to your room too often. I've seen people complain the breakfast is boring, but we found it to be a great selection, and you could have something different every day if you wished. The view from the main building was lovely, and I never tired of looking at it. All the staff were attentive and friendly, and any small issues were rectified immediately. Not the best location for walking into town, but the hourly shuttle service was awesome - likewise the three times daily trip in to Patong. The room was tidy and had a balcony, and room service did a great job each day. Awesome pools and plenty of places to read a book. I can't wait to go back and stay again. The onsite Tailor did a fabulous job on our suits and shirts, and for a very reasonable price too.

Room Tip: If you want to build your quads up, take a room up the hill with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Lovely room overlooking the sea was a great start to an authentic Thai vacation. Perched on top of a hill, Aquamarine provides a leisurely walk to Kamala Beach and back. And if the sun gets a tad too scorching, you can always hop onto their hourly shuttle bus. Huge beds, airy toilets and incredible generosity with amenities are great magnets to visit them again. That said, their room service every noontime was top-notch. And if you miss the beat of pulsating Patong Beach, they've got a shuttle bus heading there in the evenings and at night. Overall, Aquamarine further justifies my insatiable need to visit Phuket every year.

Room Tip: Hotel with signature Thai feel and service
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamala hotels
1.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
1.2 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
1.1 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquamarine Resort & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarine Resort & Villa

Property: Aquamarine Resort & Villa
Address: 17/38 Moo 6, Kamala Beach | Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#11 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamarine Resort & Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Aquamarine Resort & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Marine Resort And Villa
Aqua Marine Resort & Villa Hotel Kamala
Aquamarine Hotel Kathu
Aquamarine Resort Kathu
Aquamarine Resort & Villa Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing