We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel with wonderful food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunprime Kamala Beach
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A good hotel with wonderful food”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I spent two weeks at this hotel with my husband as part of "The contrasts of Thailand " holiday offered by Saga travel. When we arrived at Phuket airport it was a scene of confusion with no Saga rep there to meet us . We kept together and eventually a rather scruffy lady who didn't seem to speak much English arrived to supervise our transfer which is very unusual for Saga as they take pride in their staff both at arrivals and departure being helpful and efficient. We were told to board mini busses and leave our luggage by the side of the road to be picked up by another vehicle. We all refused to leave the airport until our luggage was safely on board and I can't think why a large coach want sent for us. Consequently we were very late arriving at the hotel and were all very disgruntled. Later Tom our rep apologised on behalf of Saga but this should not have happened.At first sight we thought that the hotel resort was very basic and rooms quite sparsely furnished but we soon realised that these negatives were outweighed by the wonderful food and efficient and friendly staff. A special thank you goes to our super Saga rep Tom who was never too busy to answer questions or give us some friendly advice even checking us in on line for our return journey home. His local knowledge was outstanding and he must be one of the most efficient holiday reps that we have ever had. Also thanks to Lerm ,Kob and Aonjai who served us our drinks in the bar not forgetting RJ, Ken,Lee and John (he has great potential as a future hotel manager)
The hotel itself was an adult only resort which was really appreciated by our Saga group. The pools were kept immaculately clean and you could always find a sunbed as they were plentiful and the hotel policy was no reservations before 9.30 .. A very good idea.
The Saga drink selection could have been a little more varied but the food was absolutely wonderful and this is where the hotel really excels. As well as a vast Thai food menu there were always tempting salads, beautiful fish dishes and succulent chicken and steaks. I am sure that you could stay for three months here and never get bored with the food and it was possibly the best food that we have had on this type of holiday. Each Thursday a Cabernet show would be staged with an amazing buffet including fresh seafood, roast and BBQ meat and some great sushi.
The presentation was superb and all the staff worked very hard to ensure that everyone had plenty to eat. The rooms were kept very clean as were the grounds but the only downside was that the porterage was not very well organised as when we arrived at the hotel it took almost an hour for our cases to be brought to the room and on checkout the porters forgot to pick our cases up and luckily we noticed just in time before our coach arrived.
The hotel spa is very reasonable and no appointment required a very relaxing experience with competent staff.
I can thoroughly recommend this hotel and congratulate the management on their efficient and friendly staff.

Room Tip: We requested a room on a lower floor with a walk in shower and that is exactly what we were given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ElainePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    459
    142
    56
    21
See reviews for
190
807
67
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We travelled with Saga on an all inclusive package and upgraded to a larger room. Everything was excellent - especially the Thai food in the restaurants for both lunch and dinner. We tried the buffet dinner a couple of times, but reverted to the a la carte menu as we could choose what we wanted, rather than what the restaurant put out for us. Once a week there is a show with an extensive buffet meal - well worth going to. As others have said this is in a great location and sitting having dinner overlooking the ocean is just bliss. All of the staff are very friendly and want to please you. I would certainly recommend it. Note to hotel - please introduce free wifi in rooms, as having to walk to reception for free wifi access each time is tedious.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

It is a large hotel divided in two, one half for families and the other for adults only. Can only comment on the adult side, but all was peaceful and heard nothing of the young children. The rooms were clean but basic and only hot water in the bath. There are ways around this to get hot water in the sink for a shave. Ample storage and hanging space. Comfortable furniture on balcony. Plenty of pools for the adults with bars nearby. Beach could get quite busy but we did not find it a problem. Food. there are two restaurants on the adults only side. The buffet has advantages and disadvantages i.e. as much food as you want but not always at the right temperature. The food in the Al a carte restaurant was amazing. The staff were brilliant having to deal with a number of different menus and a number of different languages. Could not fault the tireless work rate of the very friendly staff or the quality of the food. We were not disappointed. Now to try and loose a few pounds. WiFi in the lobbies and you could have it in your room for an extra fee. Yes we would go back

Room Tip: The rooms that are upstairs near the entrance are the newest and have lifts, overlook one of the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 244Masc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Travelling with 2 small children and friends with their small children we found the hotel well organised and well thought out. The pool areas were clean and safe. Perfectly located with just a few moments walk to the beach. Good choice of different foods at the buffet breakfast and the family rooms were a perfect size for what we needed. As in a lot of places in Thailand (health and safety is not the same as in Europe!) my one criticism as that there was no upper lock on the sliding door to the balcony which meant that my 2 year old was able to reach and open the door which meant we had to be vigilant in the room.
We bought WIFI access so that we could use this throughout the hotel and it is free in the lobby (which was packed full of teenagers in the evening) so it would be nicer if there was free WIfi throughout the resort.

Room Tip: IF you have young children then I would opt for the ground floor baby rooms if the balcony issue is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali84Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel is located in the middle of Kamala beach, it has direct access to the beach and a good number of pools with many beds perfect for sun tanning. The Hotel itself is great, rooms are big enough and clean and the service is great. The only bad thing I saw is that there is free wifi just in the lobby, this might sound a little dramatic, but when you see how huge the hotel is you will not want to take a walk to the lobby just to check your email... and seriously who charges for wifi in year 2014? Sorry but one point less just for this.

Since this hotel accepts only guests over 15 it is always really calmed, but still the hotel is huge and with so many people that if you are the type of person that do not like to interact a lot with other people, you better book a villa somewhere else. It is also important to tell you that everywhere around Kamala beach everything is pretty expensive. The owners from restaurants, spas, taxi drivers and stores know that there are many wealthy Europeans enjoying their retirement here, so be prepared for prices like if you were in Europe.

If you are celebrating your Honeymoon or Anniversary try writing to the Hotel in advance. They decorated our bed really nice and gave us a free bottle bubbly and a fruit basket.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

It is so nice to go a hotel that is peaceful ...where you can easily find a sun bed ...have an entire pool to yourself and ...a beach out front that is absolutely beautiful ! Kamala beach is beautiful. Over the years we have had an entire restaurant to ourselves we have eaten on the beach and we have been in close proximity to the ocean but never have we had all of these experiences together I had my feet in the sand a beautiful meal in front of me little tea lights on the table and the ocean right in front of us something I will remember for a long time to come!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1960_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the Sunprime Resort for 6 nights, we booked a pool view room as they were good value and offered loads of space. The hotel staff were nice and friendly. The restaurant by the sea is excellent, great quality Thai food for reasonable prices. There is a buffet each night at the poolside restaurant but we didn't try this.
The hotel is on the beach front and is surrounded by caual Thai restaurants that offer great Thai food for little cost. The beach is about 1km long but it is not the best beach, too many sun loungers for our liking. All in all this is one of the best places in Kamala to stay and is a genuine 4star hotel. We would highly recommend it for anyone looking to stay close to Patong. Also hotel is 2minute walk from main streets in Kamala town.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.9 mi away
Keemala
Keemala
#9 of 36 in Kamala
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunprime Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Kamala Beach

Property: Sunprime Kamala Beach
Address: 96/42-3, Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#6 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunprime Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Kamala Beach is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life and where time for once is on your side. Children probably think that this is a totally boring place. Adults traveling without children describe this as simply wonderful. We have adjusted all our services according to your interests, especially those of you appreciating good food, wine, wellness and a calm relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunprime Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Hotel Kamala
Kamala Beach Hotel
Sunprime Kamala Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing