We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunprime Kamala Beach
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were at the Kamala Beach at the begining of Feb.Cannot comment on the regular rooms as we were upgraded to a suite as the hotel was full.It sounds nice to say we had a suite ,but it was too big a room area also it was in block 7 which is quite a walk to/from the beachside resturant and bars .I think a regular room would have been better.The food was average at the buffet resturant and good in the a la carte resturant ,depending on what you order.All staff were nice and helpful.
There are several attractive pools with beds and sunshades ,but as the sun moved it was difficult to move the shade if you did not want full sun.One good thing is that the hotel has a "no towels on sunbeds before 0900" policy unless of course you sit there .The hotel is by a long clean beach ,but it is surrounded by hundreds sunbeds and shades owned by local traders.Which of course are availlable for guests to hire

Room Tip: Not block 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 747Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    459
    142
    56
    21
See reviews for
190
807
67
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed in the Sunprime wing of Kamala Beach resort. Superficially it is a nice-looking hotel, with clean comfortable bedrooms and lots of good pools. So if all you want to do is sleep, swim and sunbathe, you may find it satisfactory (although even sleeping was problematic because the air conditioner pumped dirty air right over the bed, causing us to wake coughing if we slept with it on). I felt that it is a place run on the cheap. The reception, up some steep steps, is a most unwelcoming and unattractive barn of a place, and other public areas are similarly stark. Most of the blocks do not have lifts, and we were shocked to be offered a room on the top floor of a block without a lift, as we needed one. However, after telling us there were no other rooms they did move us to a room in block 7, which has a lift, but which is farthest from the a la carte restaurant and the beach - quite a long trek to get to these. The beach, when you reach it, is very crowded with loungers.
We stayed here on an all-inclusive basis, but this does not cover food and drink from some of the bars. It does, however, allow you to eat either at the buffet or the a la carte restaurant. I only ate one buffet dinner and the food was truly terrible - cold, unappetising and little for vegetarians. The a la carte food was better (also little for vegetarians), particularly the European-style food - the Thai food, however, was not wonderful - for example a green curry with chicken consisted of a generic green curry sauce into which a few slivers of dried-up chicken had been tossed, without them even absorbing the sauce. Much of the food tasted mainly of salt. The breakfast buffet was also poor, fruit juices which were watered down or contained additives, croissants which were just croissant-shaped bread, fruit which was unripe. The waiting staff at breakfast were not well trained or supervised - not their fault, but they seemed to find it difficult to observe or fulfil guests' needs.
There is a massage centre at this hotel - I had what was supposed to be the light massage, but found it quite violent - it was done in an open-air area, men and women in the same area, and anyone in the rooms nearby could have watched - perhaps this is the Thai way, but I have had so much better elsewhere.
This is quite a large hotel, and so bound to be a bit impersonal - but it would have been nice to feel welcomed (not by a drink of orange juice with additives) and that if we had a problem someone was interested in solving it.
This hotel was marketed by our tour company as 4-star, but I do not think it is anything like that.

Room Tip: If you need a room in a block with a lift, make this clear when booking and be prepared for a long w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We are frequent Thailand travelers and have been in different locations every year since 2005. We have previously been to Karon, Bang Tao, Kata, Patong, Krabi, Koh Samui, Pattaya, in different hotels. Staying in Kamala Beach Resort was however the first time all our expectations were full filled.

Location:
Perfect - right on the Beach. The beach is with crystal clear water and fine White sand. If you want a sun chair on the beach you will have to pay from 200 - 400 bath for it but you can walk about 30 meters from the free sun chairs at the pool so no problem.
Kamala is a great alternative to the more busy locations. The town has everything you need. Good restaurants - Taylors - Massage parlors. All within walking distance. Right outside the hotel on the beach there are plenty of restaurants to choose from.
Should you want to join the more busy nightlife Patong is only 15 minutes away for the cost of 400 bath.

Hotel:
One of the best we have stayed in. From the booking till our departure. The staff is fantastic and the service level is very high. Always a smile from house keeping to manager. We had problems with noise from the aircondition and immediatly we were offered to change room.
Breakfast was very good with lots of different choises for any taste. The coffee was very good.
Restaurants are a bit pricy but good. Swimmingpools are big and very well maintained.

Summery:
We have already decided to go to Kamala Beach Resort Again in 2015.

The hotel is adult only and has a very laid back atmosfhere. If you are young people looking for a place to party I would not reccomend this hotel. If you however want a fantastic place to relax - right on the beach - among an extremely friendly staff this is definately the place to stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nollopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Before booking the Kamala Beach Resort, I did my research about lodging in Phuket. This place fit our requirements precisely.

Location: Couldn't be better. Kamala Beach is a quiet Phuket beach area located about 45 minutes south of the airport and about 25 minutes north of the Patong central tourist 'strip.' As far as I know, this hotel is one of the only properties you'll find on Phuket island that is located DIRECTLY on a beautiful beach (and not on the far side of a road or up a mountainside). The fact that this property is not near Patong is a huge PLUS.

Listen carefully folks - avoid the Patong area like the plague! It's truly a hideous over-developed touristic cesspool. Kamala Beach, on the other hand, is a lovely oasis from all that nonsense.

Rooms: We had a huge room overlooking one of the many pools and near the reception building. Whoever says that you're miles away from the beach is just plain lazy. It's a very short walk through the beautiful grounds of this property to reach the quiet and clean public beach just outside the hotel's back gate. The room was clean (though we did find some worms climbing in the toilet and bathtub one night and let reception know the following morning) and decently maintained. It's one knotch down from five-star deluxe and certainly quite adequate.

Facilities: Many pools are scattered around the property. There's a no children policy which keeps the area delightfully quiet. Wonderful Thai massage is offered at THB 300 (same price as on the public beach), but in a much more tranquil setting. They have two restaurants on-site: one buffet near the pools and the other ala carte near the beach. You can have breakfast at either. Loved the Westernized Thai ala carte food at the beach side restaurant and it was reasonably priced as well.

I'd definitely recommend this resort to anyone staying on Phuket island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davetheguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

It is very good hotel, it is a bit far from Patong, but not big problem. A place to relax around pool, we do not need to fight for sunbed like other hotel :-). The most important we like this hotel is not allow for child under 15 years old.

Staff at the pool and breakfast are friendly but not at front desk.

However we don not like Internet which we paid but speed so slow and disconnect many times. But internet at lobby (free) is more faster. They should provide better internet if they decide to charge.

When we ordered something at the pool, they bring us with plastic box. If they do care environment like they put in the bathroom to wash towel, they should no use plastic box.

They even charge when we print boarding pass :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EurasieTravelAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent four nights from our honey moon in this hotel.it was amazing experience.the room was very clean and spacious. The staff was very helpful.the breakfast was good.the pool was clean.there is shuttle bus to transfer u to patong beach.it is only five minutes walk to fantasy show.the hotel is by the sea. I advise the honeymooners to give this hotel a chance.u will never regret it

Room Tip: Try to take a room by the pool
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Radwasalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I loved my 10 nights at this great resort. The location,food and staff all first class. My favourite beverage was the Watermelon Shake. I had many in Phuket. I can definitely say the ones served at Kamala Beach Resort were the best in Phuket. My room on the third floor of the New Section overlooking the pool was stunning. I loved the activities included especially the Yoga and Water Aerobics. If you want a relaxing holiday right on the beach with great food, massages and a choice of pools then the Kamala Beach Resort is a great choice.I like the variety it offers, the tut tut that goes directly to Patong Shopping Centre during the day and evening and the shopping plus restaurants near this resort. I will definitely return here for my next holiday in Thailand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Maycole666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.9 mi away
Keemala
Keemala
#9 of 36 in Kamala
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunprime Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Kamala Beach

Property: Sunprime Kamala Beach
Address: 96/42-3, Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#6 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunprime Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Kamala Beach is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life and where time for once is on your side. Children probably think that this is a totally boring place. Adults traveling without children describe this as simply wonderful. We have adjusted all our services according to your interests, especially those of you appreciating good food, wine, wellness and a calm relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunprime Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Hotel Kamala
Kamala Beach Hotel
Sunprime Kamala Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing