We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Must Place To Stay”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just had 10 nights staying here.
Love that there is no children under the age of 15years in this hotel so nice to lay by the pool in quite.
Very clean rooms and very larger we had a grand deluxe pool view.
Great that is it on the beach ,lots of places to eat on the beach ,breakfast there was so much to choice from great way to start the day looking at the ocean.
Found all the staff to be very friendly.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a grand deluxe pool view we had ground floor only a few steps from little balcony to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AussieAnn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    444
    135
    55
    17
See reviews for
178
762
61
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
P:erth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Kamala, what an awesome place after craziness of Patong. We arrived and had been upgraded, I think our original rooms had all been closed off for low season, we ended up in a ground floor pool view room, walked off our little balcony and over to the pool.

Great brekkie spot overlooking beach, friendly staff, always quick with a coffee refill.

Absolutely no complaints with the room, huge bed, comfy pillows, large fridge, massive pool/beach towels - and our cleaner was lovely.

You had to pay for your wifi if you wanted to use it anywhere other than the lobby where it is free.

Nice beach, great little restaurants and bars along the sand, a really quaint little fishing town and we still managed to shop - they have the best Friday night market in a field next to the hotel, you could easily do all your shopping here in one hit, luckily for our suitcases we were flying out later that night so had to reign in the urge to buy up large - and patong is only a 20 minute tuk tuk ride away if this shopping spot isn't big enough for you.

Would definitely return here, relaxation and friendliness, what more do you need.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqui N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala, Thailand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Probably the nicest restaurant on the beach in Kamala, nice open air and right on the edge of the sand. Prices are a little steep, but you expect that at a nice beach-side eatery. I love their club sandwich, which is always pretty consistent, and the fries are good. I see some complaints about service, but I have always found it decent, although Thai employees, in general, spend lots of time standing around grab-assing with each other, chatting and laughing. They probably couldn't care less if you come back or not. One of the best praises I have for this place is that they have a "No Smoking" section...unlike practically everywhere else in Thailand. I think there is nothing worse than enjoying a nice meal, then having some inconsiderate smoker fire one up and share their stinking poison air with everyone around them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonMacLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as a solo female traveller. The room was nice (I got upgraded) and I enjoyed the balcony. The room was however, extremely noisy (loud banging/scraping/slamming noises ALL NIGHT) even with ear plugs in!!
The restaurant food is not bad, it gets delivered to your table fast. But after that, staff do not come near you again. No offer to refill glasses EVER. One lunch time I was the ONLY person in there and counted 7 staff standing around chatting and folding napkins. Not ONCE was my drink offered to be refilled - my plate was not even cleared and in the end I flagged them down for the bill. I walked up the road and bought 3 Singha Beers for 100baht and enjoyed them on my balcony! (1 beer 130baht in the resort.) I've never had such poor restaurant service.
The swim up bars are nice enough, but staff need to be more interactive. It would also be nice if they actually walked around the pool offering drinks to lounging guests.
The restaurant by the sea was closed due to renovation, which I wasn't told until I wandered in there!
The "spa" is a gazebo-type hut crammed with about 20 tables - zero privacy and limited choice. BUT a great massage for only 300baht. I went three times.
Overall, the hotel is nice but seriously lacking in the fiber details and service that could make it so much better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hachaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Kamala is a small mainly Muslim village north of Patong. The hotel is crying out for mayor renovations and has no direct walkway to the town center / shopping and restaurants.
Tuk-Tuk transport is available but to the same price private a Taxi is recommended.
The beach pathway is partly paved and though the sand littered with rubbish & in a sorry state.
Dining in the Hotel is good and the service is brilliant but please do not order a Pizza.
Extensive well kept swimming pools but no atmosphere at the pool bars. The staff at the reception is friendly but better spoken English is wanted. The general appearance of the holiday destination Phuket was disapointing and Patong is the the place where you get
diddled out of money quite quickly. Compere prices where ever you go eat and drink .
Finely the highest complement has to go to the Irish Pub in Jung Celong / Patong. Just spot on with Food drinks and service was making up for all. Thank you so much. Kathy & Harry

Room Tip: Please make sure, to get a room in the renovated part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Had an absolutely wonderful holiday in what can only be described as a piece of paradise. Loved the staff, the accommodation, the gardens, the pool, the swim up bar, and most of all I thoroughly enjoyed being able to sleep in after late nights out and not be woken up by screaming children running around (because of the no under 15 policy). Breakfast was great and once that was done (literally 10m outside the breakfast area) we had a full body massage on the beach EVERY morning for an hour which cost me 600 Baht ....for 3 of us!!! Although some people said that Kamala was quite remote in relation to Patong, I found it ideal - it's only 9 km's away and we used the hotel as a base and caught Tuc Tuc 's around in the day and night. We even caught a Tuc Tuc who pimped his ride and drove from Patong to Kamala with flashing disco lights and Pitbull blaring from the speakers - totally cool! Patong is extremely busy, smelly and it was good to go there, but leave again to the peace of Kamala. The only regret I had on this holiday was wasting time and money seeing Fanta Sea - perhaps it would be nice for people with small kids but I didn't rate it. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Ingrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

So this hotel is beautiful and the beach is RIGHT there, so that part is wonderful. Unfortunately, the hotel staff is not nice or helpful. In fact, when I asked for an extra towel, they argued with me!! I do think the worst part was that everything was extra, phone calls, beach chairs, laundry was super expensive, wifi in your room, etc. So while the property is beautiful, the experience left something to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamala hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
2.1 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
528 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
0.3 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sunwing Kamala Beach
Sunwing Kamala Beach
#10 of 36 in Kamala
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)

Property: Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Address: 96/42-3, Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#6 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Kamala Beach is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life and where time for once is on your side. Children probably think that this is a totally boring place. Adults traveling without children describe this as simply wonderful. We have adjusted all our services according to your interests, especially those of you appreciating good food, wine, wellness and a calm relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Hotel Kamala
Kamala Beach Hotel
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing