We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort, will be back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunprime Kamala Beach
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort, will be back!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed mid June for 8 nights. The location was perfect for us, quiet and still easy to get to patong by taxi for 400 baht. Our room was clean and cleaned very well every day. The food at the resort is fantastic. We loved the buffet breaky and room service was not expensive at all and delivered very quick for those days when you have been out on tours all day. The wifi can be accessed from the pool areas as well so was very happy with that. The pools were fantastic! Make sure you say hello to the lovely lady at the pool bar for us! We are glad we stayed in off peak, it was peaceful and had little to no interruption or noise the entire visit. We stayed in the Garden room which was perfect to jump straight into the pool. The beach area was also lovely, there are some great little places to grab a bite along the beach front.

The actual kamala town district does not have anything interesting its just really everyday business for the locals. You may find the shops closer to the beach area are a little harder to bargin with due to the low season and they arent interested that you can get it cheaper in patong. Kamala is a little way up from chalong so be prepared to be picked up first and dropped off last for your tours. We didnt mind though. Overall we had a fantastic stay here, everyone was friendly and the resort was well looked after especially for off peak time, the food was well priced and drinks also, the mini mart onsite was very helpful. It was child free and fabulous! We will return one day.

Room Tip: In off peak the deluxe ground floor room by the pool was perfect! However in peak time they get up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisfoodie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    453
    140
    56
    21
See reviews for
187
795
68
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Checked in two nights ago after brief flight from BKK. Arrived early afternoon and resort seemed quite as if at normal low season. Reception helpful and got me two adjoining rooms I needed. Walked grounds and looked around beach. My room 2104 was musty and seemed moldy smelling. Repeated airing and air did not improve condition. My adjoining room had wet / sweaty floor. Seemed as freshly mopped. But sweaty floor second day had me wondering if ground floor below was open and not cooled; maybe temp inversion between floors making problem. Most noted problem was cats at end of hall and beyond sliding door in sports room area. They hung out around area and seemed to have free run of place. Smell of cat urine was noticeable on both hallway side side of door and in sports area. Definitely area for correction.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Athene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Very nice pools and rooms -
Great location - very pretty beach
Good food in restaurant and very reasonable prices !! (breakfast was included and it was good)
Location good but beach restaurants were a little disapointing you'll find better food in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ejaneAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

husband and i stayed 7 nights, our friends stayed 14. absolutely the best location, right on the beach. lots of pools to choose from too,(5) i think. food delicious, service, couldn';t fault it. all staff very friendly and helpful, went out of their way.very clean, rooms lovely,good size and comfy bed, a plus.had an absolutely fantastic time. no kids at sunprime our side so also a plus. 20 minute taxi ride to patong for shopping,we went every day, so add the cost of that, was 400 baht , tuk tuk home was 300 .but if you want to stay away from the hustle and bustle but still close enough to go every day this is the place to stay.beach was a bit rough a few days but we did swim there as well. lots of mixed age groups there too. will go back and stay here next year. also off peak is the best time to go anyway.an absolutely beautiful resort with beautiful staff.

Room Tip: if you go off peak its all rather quiet, peak time i would say the pool rooms would be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steincf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there two nights an am glad it was only two nights
Staff are very lazy and seem to be not interested in ur complains I kindly asked the receptionist to help me get the lizard out of my room the guy said he will send someone to help me??? No one came totally ignored me, when we first checked in the guy said that he upgraded us to nice room the room number was 2311 at sunprime honestly I was totally shocked cos I think he downgraded us there was so much filth in the hallways dead cockroaches everywhere, next morning I woke up I went to the lobby to use the wifi the hotel staff are sitting next to me playing angry birds what a joke where is the proffesionalism,lazy staff that won't bother to help me
In the morning I was having my breakfast I asked the waitress to get me fresh milk he just graped from the table next to us when the other guests left??? I paid 214 AUD for tonight's not worth it made a mistake and I will never come back

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed in November 2011 with family members... 6 people with 3 rooms... we had value for money, friendly staff, early check in to our rooms (we arrived around 9 or 10am), huge variety of breakfast buffet, great location across from Phuket Fantasea and stalls and eating places along beach front. We rented scooters and rode to Patong Beach which wasn't far at all... you need to be careful on the scooters as it is hilly and drains are huge... I noticed the traffic was quite aware of scooters however and very patient however in actual Patong Beach the traffic is crazy!! Cars trucks and scooters everywhere we survived however lol! Was an awesome time I would definitely like to stay again and for longer. I think there were about 4 pools as well at the resort

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Great place to stay as long as you dont mind paying to get to downtown Phuket. There are little places to eat along the beach but they are seasonal. Come off peak season they disappear.

Breakfast here are excellent and while I have eaten a few dinners only they have all been nice. I do think down town choices and prices are better. Rooms can be quite dark,beds are pretty firm and there are no lifts if you need to take bags upstairs. The pool is small but nice,good slide for kids and the cocktails are hit and miss. I have had great ones and poor ones,so it depends who the staff person is!

The beach is a bit of a walk,but nothing huge. Avoid Bobby the Tailor if you are a woman. It will end in tears.

Hugely popular for the Russians,I dont know why. Good quiet spot for couples or bussiness people.

Room Tip: you may want to ask for ground floor,away from pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.9 mi away
Keemala
Keemala
#9 of 36 in Kamala
225 reviews
2.1 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunprime Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Kamala Beach

Property: Sunprime Kamala Beach
Address: 96/42-3, Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#6 Family Hotel in Kamala
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunprime Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Kamala Beach is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life and where time for once is on your side. Children probably think that this is a totally boring place. Adults traveling without children describe this as simply wonderful. We have adjusted all our services according to your interests, especially those of you appreciating good food, wine, wellness and a calm relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunprime Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Hotel Kamala
Kamala Beach Hotel
Sunprime Kamala Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing